Hunger for Reading

Book review

For this week’s Mama Kat’s Almost World Famous Writer’s Workshop I chose prompt #1.)   Book review time! Some people STILL read books…share one of your more recent reads and tell us what you thought!

I do still read but not nearly as much as I want to.  I simply haven’t had the time lately to read a lot and it has to be something that really holds my interest lately or you can forget it!  If I’m gonna spend what precious time I have to sleep now reading instead, it better be good.

With all the hoopla lately over The Hunger Games movie, hubby and I gave in on our rare day “off” and went to see it last week.  We weren’t disappointed in the movie at all but then, I hadn’t read the book.  Usually when I see a movie based on a book I’m a little disappointed, especially if I’ve read the book already.  But since I hadn’t read the book yet I thoroughly enjoyed the movie.

Our oldest had read them last year and told me I needed to read them and I just hadn’t taken the time to do it yet.  I had actually forgotten that I had downloaded it onto my Kindle right after she told me about it and then forgot about it.  I was reading another book , an autobiography written by Augusten Burroughs mom, and wasn’t absorbed in it like I like to be with books so I got bored with it and decided to go to another book.  I was searching through my downloads and saw The Hunger Games.

I am only a few chapters in but I am thoroughly enjoying it.  I find that it brings a lot of richness to the movie version.  So far it very closely follows the book but of course just adds lots of detail.  I’ve been stopping every once in a while to fill hubby in on the details that we missed by just watching the movie.  My youngest keeps reminding me that it’s a “scholastic” book for like middle school kids but I don’t even really care.  I am enjoying it and that’s all that matters to me.

If you haven’t taken the time to read The Hunger Games I would highly recommend it.  It’s absorbing and gripping and fun.  I don’t think you will be disappointed.

About pegbur7

South of the Mason/Dixon Line
This entry was posted in Mama Kat's Writer's Workshop, Restaurants & Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Hunger for Reading

  1. Angelia Sims says:

    I’m reading it next. LOVED the movie!

  2. Ron says:

    Great book review, Peg!

    I not read the book OR seen the movie, but so far, all I keep hearing is great things about both.

    Happy Thursday, dear friend!

    X

  3. suzicate says:

    Loved all three of The Hunger Games; can’t wait to see the movie!

  4. I love that series. And I love reading YA book more than “grown-up” books. 🙂 I haven’t seen the movie yet, but I hope to soon!

  5. Pingback: GoMovies

  6. NikNik says:

    When you get done with those books read Divergent by Veronica Roth. It has a similar reading style and it is fabulous!

Leave a comment