Mama’s Famous Charlie Bread

Ok, due to several people asking me for the recipe I am sharing my mama’s cornbread recipe.  Mine never turns out as good tasting as hers.  Probably because I try to be a little healthier and cut down on the oil but it’s still good!

Charlie Bread

2 cups of self rising corn meal,

1 cup creamed corn,

1 cup of sour cream,

1 cup veg oil (I always cut that in half though),

2 eggs

spoon of sugar.

Combine all ingredients. Pour in 9 inch round cast iron skillet. Bake at 450 about 25 or 30 minutes until it looks done. .  It’s better in a cast iron skillet and if you have shortening, I grease the pan with shortening and put it in the oven while it’s preheating.

Can be doubled and baked in a 9 x 13 glass Pyrex dish for larger gathering

About pegbur7

South of the Mason/Dixon Line
This entry was posted in Just Life, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Mama’s Famous Charlie Bread

  1. Cee Neuner says:

    Sounds delicious!

  2. terrepruitt says:

    I used Calorie Count and entered it as 8 servings, I don’t know how many this actually serves, but it was 453 calories. 🙂 If you get 10 out of this, it is 363.

    But at least it is not 1000.

  3. Ron says:

    Yummy!

    I adore cornbread, Peg!

    X

  4. gretchen says:

    Ooo…creamed corn AND sour cream! Excellent. I don’t think I’ve ever seen self-rising corn meal. You think I’d find it next to the regular corn meal?

Leave a Reply

