Life Lessons From Pete

My second choice from Mama Kat’s Almost World Famous Writer’s Workshop was prompt #2.) Share a lesson you learned from your Father that still sticks with you to this day.

Me and my dad when I was about 19 (with my cat Smokey)

The biggest lesson my dad taught me in life was integrity.  He taught me to always say what you mean and mean what you say and to live up to what you promise.  He taught me that the one thing in life that is so fleeting and easy to lose is your reputation and once lost, it is extremely hard to get it back, therefore, don’t do anything to jeopardize losing it to begin with!

My mom and dad at their 60th anniversary party

My father is a man of his word and he doesn’t mince words.  He can be very direct which can sometimes come across as being harsh or mean.  He doesn’t mean it that way he just tells it like he sees it.  I think above anyone else I’ve ever known I trust my father.  I know that whether good or bad or whether I actually want to hear the truth or not, he will tell it to you straight.  He is honest in his dealings with people and I know he’d never take a dime from anyone that he thought he didn’t earn.  He has never wanted or taken a hand out and even finds it hard to ask for help if he needs it. He’d rather do it himself.  I tend to think a lot of that part of him wore off on me.  He taught me to be pretty much self-reliant and either do it yourself or hire someone you think is competent to do the job and pay them for it.

Me and my strong daddy – showing me how to treat animals…

He is stingy with his praise (or he was when we were growing up) so you know when he tells you that you did a good job and he’s proud of you (something he seldom says) then you KNOW you’ve accomplished something. He doesn’t mind telling other people when they’ve done something wrong and though it might seem callous, it’s just his way of letting you know to do it right the next time.  He did teach me to treat others with respect.  Even the poor and down trodden have their good points and we should take the time to find those gems.  We shouldn’t judge other people by what they have or what they look like but for the person they are inside.

My daddy

My father can also be ebullient and charismatic.  He is quite the character and quite the story teller.  I think I inherited my way with words from him.  He enjoys nothing better than to hold an audience captive with his words and his tales and has a way of weaving a tale like no one I’ve ever met.  I (and many others) love to sit around and just listen to him spin his web and lure you in.  I could listen to him for hours.  Give him a glass or two of wine and he not only tells you a tale but becomes dangerous with his hand gestures.  I’m that way even when I’m sober!

Daddy – during a playful poker game – his game face. LOL

He also taught me to love and respect nature.  To take care of animals, big and small and to appreciate the great outdoors and all it has to offer us.  To be mindful of what we nature provides us and not to be disrespectful by littering or abusing the things we are provided with.

My dad as a teen in front of my grandparent’s house

My dad is gregarious and big hearted and a wonderful man.  I like to think that I have the best parts of him running through my veins and if I can be even a little like him then I think I’ve accomplished a lot.  Happy Father’s Day!

My dad as a young man

About pegbur7

South of the Mason/Dixon Line
This entry was posted in Mama Kat's Writer's Workshop and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Life Lessons From Pete

  1. Ron says:

    Peg, what a BEAUTIFUL tribute to your father!
    And after reading your words, I can tell he’s a man of truth and integrity….

    “My father is a man of his word and he doesn’t mince words. He can be very direct which can sometimes come across as being harsh or mean. He doesn’t mean it that way he just tells it like he sees it. I think above anyone else I’ve ever known I trust my father.”

    I love and respect that quality in the a person, because I would rather someone be open and direct, than hide how they feel.

    “say what you mean and mean what you say and to live up to what you promise. ”

    Amen!

    Yes my friend, I can see why you’re so proud of him!

    Happy Father’s Day to your dad!

    X

    P.S. great photos!

  2. suzicate says:

    He talk us many wonderful things. Looks like we’re just as proud of him as he is of us!

  3. Jerri says:

    Great tribute to your dad. I love the photo of your mom and dad on their 60th anniversary. What a cute couple!

  4. Great pictures. How wonderful that you had such a great relationship. Unfortunately, that is not the case for everyone. Thank goodness it was the same for me.

  5. hilljean says:

    Those pictures are priceless! He sounds like an incredible guy.

  6. Hey Peg! What a beautiful tribute to what must be an amazing man. Sounds a lot like my father actually, when it comes to integrity and trustworthiness. Great post!

  7. Your dad sounds like the perfect dad. Kind, fun, hard-working, but still be able to tune you into reality when needed. That he made it a point to teach you to not look down on people in need makes him stand out in my book. If I was a father and my kids ever wrote a tribute like this to me I think it’d make me the happiest person in the world and I could grow old knowing I did ok by my kids.
    good post 🙂

  8. Angelia Sims says:

    He is just a big softie, isn’t he? His girls must have a special place in his heart. You definitely got some great gifts from
    him. 🙂

    • pegbur7 says:

      He’s gotten a lot softer as he’s gotten older. He used to put on a tough man facade but we sometimes saw through it! We did get great gifts from him. 🙂

Leave a Reply

