Friendships

This week’s spin is on friends.  I have always been blessed with wonderful friends.  I think we have friends who would do pretty much anything for us and vice versa.

My very first friend and still one of my best friends was and is my cousin Cheryl.  Of course growing up we were always around each other for family stuff off and on through the years.  We went to the same school for the first year or two of school and then her parents snatched her up and moved her into “town” so we didn’t see each other very much after that and we kind of lost touch with one another.  Then about a dozen or so years ago we ended up reconnecting and have been pretty much two peas in a pod since then.  She has helped me through some rough patches and vice versa.  I don’t know what I would do without my sidekick.  Since we live in different states about 500 miles from each other we don’t get to see each other nearly as much as I’d like but we do try to make the most of it when we do see each other.

During elementary school I had other girls I’d consider friends but none that I would have considered “best’ friends.  Then in middle school all that changed.  I know I’ve written about it many times before.  Sylvia (aka Sam) moved to our little town from the big city of Petersburg, VA.  Well, it seemed like the big city to me since I came from a town that was populated by less than 500….WAY less than 500.  We met when I saved her from getting her butt whipped by a couple of mean girls and we became fast friends and pretty much inseparable.  It seemed like I was either always at her house or she was at mine.

The last couple of years of high school we went through a few love/hate periods where we fought over the same boys but decided finally that no boy was worth losing our friendship over.  Then I moved halfway across the country and then a few states away and we rarely saw each other anymore.  When we did, we picked up right where we had left off.  Then I got married and had kids and she didn’t so our lives kind of drifted even further apart.  Then she ended up getting really sick and I felt really badly because I lived in GA and couldn’t be there for her. I only got to visit her once from the time of her diagnosis until she passed away about 6 months later. I’ve always kind of regretted that I didn’t get to spend those last little bits of time with her.

Since then I had met some wonderful women throughout the years that have become even closer than sisters to me.  We through the years sometimes seem to drift in and out of each other’s lives but still seem to always find our way back to each other and I know they always have my back and no matter what I need, I know they’d be there for me.  Like the song says… you find out who your friends are.  I know I have wonderful friends and I know I never want to lose them.

About pegbur7

South of the Mason/Dixon Line
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Friendships

  1. Ron says:

    ” We through the years sometimes seem to drift in and out of each other’s lives but still seem to always find our way back to each other and I know they always have my back and no matter what I need, I know they’d be there for me.”

    That to me is a sign of TRUE friendship, Peg. It doesn’t matter how much or how little true friends see each other, but rather ‘any time’ they see each other it’s like no time has ever passed.

    And thank YOU for being a TRUE friend!

    ((((( Peg )))))

    Have a terrific Tuesday!

    X

    • pegbur7 says:

      Aww Ron! You brought a tear to my eye. I feel the same way. No matter how long or little we’ve known some people it’s like an instant connection to the heart! Love you my friend!

  2. Gretchen says:

    This is beautiful Peg! My two best friends are much like yours – one I’ve known since we were born, and the other since middle school. And they really are as close as sisters. It’s amazing that the family we make can be so strong.

    You will be linked by tonight!

  3. I have a few friends like that as well, while most of my friends are stuck in the Facebook realm, there are a few I will move heaven and earth to see on a regular basis.

    • pegbur7 says:

      I agree. And I agree with what Ron said. There are those friends that we may not see very often but when we do we pick up just where we left off like no time had passed!

  4. Ginny Marie says:

    I’m so sorry your friend passed away. She sounds like a wonderful friend!

    • pegbur7 says:

      She was a great friend. It makes me sad sometimes to think how we used to sit around and talk about how when our kids would grow up they’d be best friends just like we were. Alas she never got to know the joys of motherhood but you know, sometimes things happen for a reason. Had she had children, they would have been left motherless. 😦

  5. The friends that you haven’t seen in a while but pick up where you left off are the awesome kind of friends. Especially those that feel like sisters (or brothers, don’t want to leave the male friends out of the equation). 😉 Love this, Peg! 🙂

    Spinning Up Some Friendly Friendships

Leave a Reply

