Share Your World – Weeks 25 & 26

I was so wrapped up in everything last week that I missed the Share Your World and everything else I think!  Here are the last two weeks!

Week 25

  1. What’s my favorite holiday and why?

Having grown up in a household where we didn’t really celebrate holidays on a consistent basis and given my background, we never really put a lot of stock in traditional holidays.  But if I have to pick one I’d say Thanksgiving because we did always seem to be off and together as a family for Thanksgiving and any time you can be together with your family it is a good day.  I love the smells of Thanksgiving and I love being around my family and just sitting around the table taking and enjoying each other’s company.

  1. 2.    Do you prefer your food separated or mixed together?

It really depends on the food and my mood.  Some foods naturally gravitate together and others I want separate.  If I am eating foods with a lot of “juice” with foods that are NOT juicy I prefer them separate.  As an example… I don’t like the juice from my turnip greens spilling over into my mashed potatoes.  I want my potatoes creamy but not runny with the juice of other foods.  I guess I am particular.

  1. Before making a phone call, do you ever rehearse what you are going to say?

No, not normally.  Unless it’s a business call and there are certain points I absolutely need to get across and then I might make notes of what I want to bring up but I don’t write it out and rehearse it. I usually just wing it and if it’s just a call to a friend? Absolutely not… I just call and let whatever is in my heart and mind spill right on out.

  1. When you are with your friends. Do your interactions include much touching—for example, hugging, kissing, rough housing, rubbing backs?   Would you like to have more of this?

Again it depends on the friends, but most definitely there is a lot of hugging.  I am a very touchy feely type of person and I naturally in the course of talking tend to put my hand on your arm or touch your shoulder and I live to give hugs!  As evidenced by the fact that I hug almost every person that comes in our restaurant.  There are no strangers for long!  My friends I most definitely make a point of hugging and as I said, if I’m sitting close enough to touch you, when I talk with you I will most likely at some point in the conversation reach over and touch your arm or hand or something similar.

  Week 26
What made you smile today?
Being alive!  I woke up with a positive attitude and just thinking about how fortunate I am to have the people I have in my life brings a smile to my face.  I am very blessed and very aware of how blessed I am and when you are this happy with life you can’t help but smile!

  Have any hidden talents? I always say that when they were giving out talents, I missed the train, the boat and every other form of transportation that was delivering the talent!  But I do think I have a pretty good ability to read people and hopefully to make them feel better. I’m not sure if that’s a talent or not but I consider it one.

  Are you usually late, early, or right on time? As much as I try to be early or on time, a lot of the time I am late.  I hate being late and it always puts me in a bad mood, especially if I am going somewhere for the first time.  When I was working outside the home I always tried (and usually succeeded) in being early. It’s usually when OTHER people are involved that I end up being late and I truly dislike being late.

  What is the difference between being alive and truly living? The difference between being alive and truly living are like night and day, in my opinion.  Being alive is simply the act of not being dead!  But being ALIVE and truly living I think involves actually enjoying life and embracing all that it presents to you.

I try to immerse myself with experience and with truly feeling emotion.  Sometimes, okay, MOST times, that means that I tend to take on the feelings of those around me.   That isn’t always a good thing, but, I truly feel what others feel. I was just thinking about that this morning on the way to the restaurant.  Hubby was in a really bad mood and I found myself starting to feel really negative and starting to really get in a bad mood and angry.  I had to mentally force myself to shut out what he was saying so that I didn’t start crying because I was feeling that negative from feeding off his anger and negativity.

I guess it kind of goes hand in hand with the question about the hidden talent.  I’m not sure if it’s a talent, a hindrance or a gift but I tend to absorb the vibes of the people around me.  I think that’s why I try to surround myself with positive people because negative people truly bring me down, in every sense of the word.

If I am around people who are negative and depressed I tend to withdraw into myself and start feeling that way too.  If I am around angry and volatile people I can feel myself starting to let the emotions boil up inside and I have to try to physically remove myself from their presence so that their emotions don’t poison me because I will start getting angry myself. I like being around sunny, happy positive people because by doing that, I stay that way myself.  People always tell me “Don’t let it get to you” but I can’t help it, if I’m around it, I absorb it. That’s why I would much rather be around upbeat people because I don’t like being unhappy or down or negative.  I don’t like being influenced by negativity or drama queens!

About pegbur7

South of the Mason/Dixon Line
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Share Your World – Weeks 25 & 26

  1. Ron says:

    “Being alive is simply the act of not being dead! But being ALIVE and truly living I think involves actually enjoying life and embracing all that it presents to you.”

    AMEN, Peg! I agree!

    “I try to immerse myself with experience and with truly feeling emotion. Sometimes, okay, MOST times, that means that I tend to take on the feelings of those around me.”

    I’m the same way, and I really have to watch myself. Sometimes I’ll go into work in a totally happy mood, but the second I feel all the negativity around me, I start to let it affect me. I’ve gotten to a point where I can start to ignore it, but sometimes not. I think there are people in this world (like you and I) who are so sensitive, that we take on other people’s problems.

    Have a maaaaaavelous Monday, dear friend!

    And here’s a HUG for ya…..

    ((((((( You )))))))

    X

    • pegbur7 says:

      Thanks Ron! I need to do something because lately, I’m not sure if it’s because I’m more tired or what, I seem to be affected by it a lot more than usual.
      {{{{{Ron}}}}}

  2. 1. Thanksgiving. ‘Cause I love to eat. And eat. And eat. And eat…

    2. Separate. Unless you’re talking about barbecue and potatoes. Then mix away! Love it when my wife barbecues and throws potatoes in the sauce.

    3. All. The. Time. I even have to rehearse the conversations I have with myself.

    4. Okay, I’m a guy, and as a rule we don’t get touchy-feely with each other. Now as far as kids go, particularly my own and nieces and nephew, that’s a different story. I tend to become a kid like them.

    5. My little guy AJ, who came into the bedroom and acted like he wanted a hug and kiss, only to blow a raspberry on my neck.

    6. I don’t know about talents, but I do like to help people when I’m able to.

    7. Usually 5-15 minutes early. My wife likes to stretch that even farther.

    8. It’s much easier to enjoy life if you’re truly living as opposed to just being alive.

    And I too tend to mimic the emotions of those around me, and try to remove myself from negative or angry surrounding.

  3. Cee Neuner says:

    You need to learn how to do a hook up when you are getting to my emotions from other people. Here is a video from Donna Eden. This is great for empaths like you.

Leave a Reply

