Hey there! Anyone home?

First off, let me apologize for my lack of postings lately.  We decided to open the restaurant every day for the month of June and we have been a little busy and it’s hard to find the time to sit and write at my leisure like I used to.  I have found that I truly am missing my blogging world and my bloggy friends.  I will try to post as much as I can but I know already it will be erratic and haphazard so I apologize in advance.

May was a very busy month for us.  As most of you know we opened our restaurant on May 1st and it has been such a blessing and adventure.  We’ve made many new friends and reconnected with many old ones.  We are really finding out who has our backs!  We are so blessed to have and be surrounded by such wonderful people.

May was also month to many loved one’s birthdays.  I have a brother in law born in May, two nephews born in May and TWO DAUGHTERS born in May.  May is a very special month.  Sara, our middle born, had her 27th birthday on May 4th.  I always tell her she’s my almost Cinco de Mayo baby.  She was born at 11 p.m. and we lived in New Orleans at the time and since we live in GA now I tell her she technically was born at midnight so that would make her “technically” born on the 5th!  That’s my story anyway.

And last week my baby turned 21 which makes me feel positively ancient!  Now all my babies are legal and can buy their own drinks.  I feel really bad because I at least had intended to take her out for her first legal drink but since we were working I couldn’t.  I guess we have to wait until July when I get a day off.  Unless she wants to go with me for a margarita after we close this evening. I have been looking forward to a margarita all week.

I have found one thing.  We go through a lot less tea in our household lately.  I used to have to make a big old batch of tea almost every day.  If hubby were off work it WOULD be every day.  Now that we are at the restaurant every day I make tea there and at the end of the day if there is any left I will take home a pitcher but we get home so late and leave so early the next morning that lately we have ended up throwing it out because we are never there to drink it!  We pretty much go home and pour a glass of wine and fall asleep before we finish drinking it.  Even the last month when we were closed on Sundays and Mondays we would still end up going in to the restaurant to clean and stuff so we were hardly ever at home.  Now that we are going to be open EVERY day in the month of June I can’t imagine how little will get done at the house.  It’s only the 3rd and I’m already tired!  But, don’t get me wrong, it’s a good tired.

I have enjoyed meeting so many new people and for the most part, everyone has been nice and pleasant.  The few who have not been, I always take as a personal challenge.  I try every day to brighten someone’s day who seems to not be happy.  Even if it’s just a hug and a smile.  I will try to do better with posting but know already that it won’t be every day.  I miss you all though.

About pegbur7

South of the Mason/Dixon Line
This entry was posted in Just Life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Hey there! Anyone home?

  1. Ron says:

    No apologies needed, Peg :). You’ve been swamped for time with the opening of your restaurant, that’s TOTALLY understandable. And I’m soooooooooooooooo glad, happy, and excited that it’s been so successful (I knew it would!).

    When I go visit my family at the end of the month, it’s gonna be the same for me. I will be posting and visiting blogs, but not on my normal schedule.

    HAPPY BELATED BIRTHDAY to daughter!!!

    Hope you’re able to take today and relax a bit, you deserve it! We’re having a gorgeous weekend here in Philly. And thank god, because last week we had temps. up to 94 degrees – 😦

    Enjoy your Sunday, dear friend…..X

    (((( YOU ))))))

    • pegbur7 says:

      It’s been chilly here the last couple of days too (relatively speaking). There won’t be much relaxing today because we are opening from noon to 6. I am hoping that at least after we close and clean (maybe 7 or 8) that we can go out and relax! Tomorrow we have a class during the day for the employees so it will only be one server and myself to handle the restaurant! But it’s our first Monday open so I’m not sure if we will be busy or not.

  2. suzicate says:

    It’s time consuming to “LIVE” and write! Enjoy life…do what you want and write when you can! That’s my new philosophy, so it might as well be a family mantra! So proud of you guys. I’ll make sure I finish each glass of wine I partake and think of you…I’ll send good vibes to you so you can benefit those times you don’t finish yours! Love ya!

  3. Yay! I’m so happy to hear everything is going well even if it’s exhausting!

  4. Stacey says:

    I’m so excited that you guys got to open your own restaurant!! It’s awesome to see someone make their dreams a reality. And I will come there to eat someday. Unfortunately, dreams require a lot of effort. LOL.

    Congratulations, to you both!!

    ♥Spot

  5. Carol says:

    You have a very busy life and you can only do what you can do. We’ll wait patiently, you know. As to feeling old, it’s when your youngest hits 40 and you weren’t 17 when she was born that you should feel old!

  6. terrepruitt says:

    :-). I miss you too!

  7. eof737 says:

    Wishing you all the best on your new venture … I can relate. With two teens at home and other demands on my time, it’s been hard to keep up… That’s life! We do the best we can.

Leave a Reply

