Don’t Make Me Bleu

Let me set the record straight.  I hate blue cheese.  Or more correctly, should I say bleu cheese?  I don’t like the lumpiness of it, I don’t like the look of it, I don’t like the smell of it and I especially don’t like the taste of it.   Heavens to murgatroy! The very thought of tasting it makes me throw up a little in my mouth.

I blame it all on my fourth grade teacher and her efforts to force refinement and class upon a very country school, 99% of whom had NEVER even heard of bleu cheese.  When Mrs. Krauss mentioned it to us we all wondered why in the world anyone would eat cheese that was blue?  Didn’t that just mean it was moldy?  That was my take on it… Why in the world would anyone want to eat moldy cheese?

She had told us she was going to broaden our tastes and horizons.  All she did was make me detest bleu cheese.  I think it was the way it was presented that made it so bad.  If we had been given a tiny bit in salad or something it might have been different but she had brought several different cheeses, mostly ones none of us had ever heard of.  As far as most of us were concerned there were Kraft singles and there was Cheez Whiz and that was about it!  Most of us had never heard of any other kind of cheese.

She brought them in and left them out in the room all day so that by the time we got around to actually eating them they were pretty ripe.  The bleu cheese smelled to high heaven, even before you ever got it close to your nose.  You could smell it as soon as we walked back in the door from lunch and it was in a container but it couldn’t contain that smell!

She had brought some of those dinner wafers that tasted like they were made from flour and water ONLY.  No salt, no butter, no taste.  It was like eating a hard piece of cardboard.  That was bad enough but then add that stinky bleu cheese and it was almost more than my stomach could handle.  I literally gagged trying to get it down and she threatened us within an inch of our lives if we spit it out.  She had glopped a huge chunk of bleu cheese on top of the tasteless cracker and forced us each to eat the entire cracker and cheese.  I was gagging and choking trying to get it down.  I’m pretty sure I had my eyes filled with tears from the sheer force of trying to keep from projectile vomiting the entire atrocious mess on the back of the head of the person sitting in front of me.

Yes, Mrs. Krausse, you totally ruined bleu cheese for me for life.  I can’t even stand the thought of eating, no, not even SMELLING it.  So, don’t tell me that things that happen in fourth grade don’t stick with you.  This has been a lifelong aversion that I don’t think I will ever get over and it happened in fourth grade.

This post was brought to you by Mama Kat’s Almost World Famous Writer’s Workshop and prompt #1.)  Share a story from fourth grade. (inspired by Wild Life in the Woods).

About pegbur7

South of the Mason/Dixon Line
This entry was posted in Mama Kat's Writer's Workshop, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Don’t Make Me Bleu

  1. Alaina says:

    Ha, too funny…I don’t think I’d like blue cheese either (bleu cheese, oops!) but I’ve never had it…oh, the beauty of being lactose intolerant!

  2. Ron says:

    Even though I’m a cheeseaholic, I have to agree with you, Peg, about BLEU cheese….it’s HORRIBLE! I know that cheese is a mold, but the fact that bleu cheese is BLUE, grosses me out because it LOOKS like mold. I’m also not crazy about the taste and texture.

    My favorite cheeses are hard and sharp cheeses like romano and parmesan. But my all-time favorite is ASIAGO. To die for!!!!

    Have a faaaaaaaabulous Thursday, dear friend!

    X

  3. spriteskeeper says:

    I have never like bleu cheese, and I think you just captured why. 🙂

  4. suzicate says:

    Fortunately, I did not have that experience. Still, I think bleu cheese is disgusting!

  5. Carol says:

    It is so sad that you miss out on bleu (blue works for me) cheese on a salad – how about Feta? Can you do that? Twenty lashes for the teacher that stunted your growth in the blue cheese arena!

  6. lindamedrano says:

    I adore bleu cheese! And gorgonzola. And Petit Agor. But as a kid, I wanted Kraft too,. There’s nothing I like better than bleu or gorgonzola salad dressing. Try it again, Peggy.

    • pegbur7 says:

      I think I have an aversion to all really strong cheeses. I wonder if I’d have felt differently if I’d been introduced to them differently.

  7. jen says:

    When I was a kid I used to think it tasted like the smell of crayons, now that I’m an adult I actually love it, It’s one of my favorites. Especially paired with fruit like pears or beets on a salad, yum!

  8. hilljean says:

    How utterly sad! I LOVE blue cheese–but if I had been initiated into it that way I’m sure I would not. Sounds like a mean teacher, to me. This was before the days of worrying about food allergies, I take it?

  9. Oh. I remember a few teachers like that. Too bad she ruined the taste for you. Admittedly, it’s a little strong, but in the right foods (in the right amount) I love it.

    I just noticed you’re from South Central Virginia. Not too far from my hometown. I grew up in Franklin County, Va. right at the foot of the Blue RIdge Mountains.

    • pegbur7 says:

      I might have liked it had I been introduced to it in a different way.

      Yes, I’m from Nelson County but have lived in Georgia for the last 25 years. I miss the Blue Ridge!

  10. Jennifer Worrell says:

    Bleu cheese is pretty awesome, and I’m so sorry a teacher ruined it for you:(

  11. How funny! It sounds like her intentions were good, but she went about it in the wrong way.

    • pegbur7 says:

      I’m sure she meant well, her plans were just not well thought out since she was trying to teach refinement to a bunch of kids who had no idea what the word even meant!

Leave a Reply

