The Emperor’s NON Clothes

 It’s Thursday again and this week for Mama Kat’s Almost World Famous Writer’s Workshop I chose prompt #1.) Happy almost Mother’s Day! Share a parenting moment where you really began to realize what this mothering thing is all about.

The time was long, long ago in a galaxy far, far away.  Imagine two young intrepid world explorers cut loose for their first intergalactic journey since the hatching of their pod.  Ok, it was the first time we went away out of state after the birth of our first child.  Novices we were.  I can honestly say we were very green around the gills when it came to our parenting skills.

First off this was in the days before the mandatory rear facing car seats.  We had one of those HUGE custom built Ram vans.  We were cool, man!  It had captain’s chairs in front and in the middle.  The only problem was that our little angel HATED riding in the back by herself and would throw a royal hissy fit as royals are wont to do if they don’t get their way!  Anywhere we went she had to sit in the front and either I was relegated to the backseat by MYSELF or I had the distinct pleasure of travelling seated on a portable cooler between the two front seats.  VERY comfortable for those longer drives.  My behind would usually be asleep by the time we got wherever we went!

On this particular trip we were travelling to see friends out of state that we hadn’t seen in a few years.  I was so frantic to make sure I had remembered EVERYTHING for our little princess.  I must have had two weeks worth of outfits for her and probably a whole case of diapers.  She was probably about 3 or 4  months old at the time. 

Our friends still had children living at home so we opted to stay in a hotel.  We checked in and hubby brought in all the bags.  It was pretty late because we had visited with our friends before we went to the hotel.  I mean, it’s probably close to midnight.  We got all the bags in and hubby decided to take a shower.  He pulled out one suitcase and opened it and it was full of baby clothes.  Not a problem.  He opened case number 2 and it was also full of baby stuff.  Case #3 had our toiletries in it.  He looked at me and said “Do we have another bag?” “Uummmmmm NO… why?”  “Well, where are OUR clothes?”  OOPS!

I had been so single minded on making sure that our little princess was taken care of that I completely forgot to bring anything for ourselves!  I did bring us sleeping clothes so poor hubby had to go down to the laundry room of the hotel, AFTER MIDNIGHT, in his sleeping shorts and wash all the clothes we had worn that day, WITH SHAMPOO… so that we’d have something to wear the next day.  This was before the advent of 24 hour stores so we couldn’t even go to a Kmart or Walmart to buy anything.

At that moment, I KNEW I was a parent first and foremost because I forgot about our own welfare but I sure made sure that our baby was taken care of!  Being a mother means putting your child and their welfare above your own and even though it was just clothes… I still made sure she was provided for.

About pegbur7

South of the Mason/Dixon Line
This entry was posted in Just Stupid Stuff We've Done, Mama Kat's Writer's Workshop and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to The Emperor’s NON Clothes

  1. Alaina says:

    ha, so true! Thanks for sharing this 🙂 I could totally see myself doing this, too!

  2. suzicate says:

    That’s funny! When we’re focused, we’re focused…we see nothing else!

  3. Ron says:

    Hilarious post, Peg!
    And I LOVED your opening….
    “The time was long, long ago in a galaxy far, far away. Imagine two young intrepid world explorers cut loose for their first intergalactic journey since the hatching of their pod.”
    Brilliant!

    Have a great Thursday, dear friend….X

  4. Myrna says:

    Ha. This could be funny, though I’m sure you didn’t think so then. What you say is so true – our children always come first.

    • pegbur7 says:

      My husband didn’t think it was so funny when he had to go to the laundry room in the wee hours of the morning in his shorts to do our laundry!

  5. mamaslosinit says:

    This is hilarious. I can totally see myself doing something like that!

Leave a Reply

