Week 8 at Burke’s Grill and Ready For GO!

I am writing this a couple of days in advance because I know the next couple of days we will probably be SLAMMED.  (I hope)  We officially open on Tuesday, May 1st (which is the day this will post) so I wanted to fill you guys in first on how our last unopened week went.

First and foremost, I think, is that I officially have our Burke’s Grill Blog up and running.  Feel free to visit us there to catch up on what’s new and what our specials and daily menus are!  The URL is: http://burkesgrill.wordpress.com/  This and our Burke’s Grill Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Burkes-Grill/389345751095273/  will be our main forms of advertising and communication until I can get our website up and running.  This was just an easier place for me to be a starting point.

So, last week was our PRE opening party which in my opinion was a smashing success!  Here’s a picture taken by Ken Abhalter from Leigh and Christopher (who did our awesome sign on the building!):

This was about midway through the pre opening party. Thanks Ken for taking this picture!

We lost track of counting around 6:30 and at that point we had already counted 271 people and we estimate that we turned the tables over at least two or three more times and a couple of times after that we had people waiting for tables.  We have 54 seats so we estimate we probably served around 400 people. I know we went through a LOT of free food!

I’m glad we had the pre-opening party to kind of work the kinks out because during the middle of the party BOTH bathrooms broke.  The men’s had water coming up from the base of the toilet…. YUCK and the women’s just had the water to the rim threatening to overflow but it never did.  I called and emailed the building maintenance manager but of course didn’t hear back so we had to shut down the bathrooms!  AND this was all happening while one of the ladies from the county offices was here eating so it was super embarrassing and scary!

We got the plumber out on Monday (and he was exceptionally rude, acting like we did something wrong) and found out that they had never capped the exhaust pipe that goes from our restaurant out to the sewer so for the last who knows how many years garbage has been falling down into and backing up that pipe but since there wasn’t any occupant using as much water as we have been it hasn’t been an issue.  They had to snake out the drain for about 20 yards.

The rest of the week consisted of running and doing last minute errands and going to pick up small wares and food and last minute license requirements.  Then on Friday we had our first real catering job out of our new place.  A long time friend’s daughter was getting married so we let them use the restaurant to have their rehearsal dinner since we weren’t open yet. It turned out to be a good training exercise for our crew.  We had a great time and I think they had a great time too and really enjoyed the food but I was exhausted by the time we left.

On Saturday morning I had to admit defeat and tell hubby he was right…. I think I am better suited to sit up front and take the money than do all that running serving tables.  Trust me, 54 years old is NOT the time to start serving tables unless you’ve done it for a LONG time or are in GREAT physical shape… neither of which is the case for me!  To my chagrin I had to admit defeat and tell him that YES, he was correct…we WERE going to need to hire more servers and I’d be just as happy as a little clam to sit my big fat tookus and handle the money and greet the customers and help out serving if we got slammed.  I am just smart enough to know when to yell “Uncle”!

We have several employees hired (10 right now including us) and have all their paperwork filled out and ready to go.  We had our first official employee meeting today and got our blinds put up so no one will be blinded by the setting sun in the evening.  The things that still haven’t been done are really more aesthetic than anything.  We haven’t gotten our pictures back from being framed yet so as soon as that happens we will get those hung but for now we are a go.

I got the menus typed  up and printed and it’s nearing midnight and we have to be up at the crack of dawn tomorrow so even though there is lots more I want to tell you all I guess I should try to get some sleep for the big day tomorrow.  Enjoy the photos from the opening and our catering job the other night.

The cream puff shells waiting to be filled

Finished product

Dwight chatting with guests at the party

Our full dining room

Our toast to a successful pre opening party!

Baked ziti for the rehearsal dinner

chuckwagon steak

laying out the bread for the bruschetta

Finished product - shrimp bruschetta

Zucchini soup

meatballs

garlic bread

About pegbur7

South of the Mason/Dixon Line
This entry was posted in Just Life, Restaurants & Reviews, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Week 8 at Burke’s Grill and Ready For GO!

  1. suzicate says:

    Yay! And can I hear a big YUM YUM?!

  2. I am so excited for you! Today is going to be a wonderful day, Mazel Tov!

  3. Carol says:

    It all looks so delicious! I will be there for dinner tonight – at least in spirit, since it’s a bit far to drive. Good luck on your venture!

  4. Ron says:

    Just wanted to stop by and say……HAVE A GREAT OPENING TODAY!!!!!
    I’m so dang excited and happy for you guys!
    OMG…all that food looks BEYOND delicious, Peg! Especially those meatballs – YUM-MY!

    The BEST to you and Dwight….cheers!

    X

  5. If I lived up there you’d see me at least twice a week. Good stuff.

  6. terrepruitt says:

    Everythink looks wonderful. The place, the people, the food! I am so happy for you. I am so amazed at how fast you two did this. I would have thought it would all take a lot longer.

    I hope your opening day was spectacular!!!!

    • pegbur7 says:

      It was really great. A lot better than we thought. We had several people come in for both lunch and dinner!

      • terrepruitt says:

        REALLY? That is saying A LOT. That is coooooool! Dwight said he wanted people to be able to eat there everyday. Might turn into everyday every meal! 🙂 Hiphiphooraaaay!

        I posted the FB page on my FB. Maybe some people I know will saunter in!

      • pegbur7 says:

        I sure hope so! Thanks, I appreciate it.

  7. jen says:

    I am so hungry after looking at all that food Peg. Way to go on the opening!

Leave a Reply

