Share Your World – Week 21

If you were having difficulty on an important test and could safely cheat by looking at someone else’s paper, would you do so?

That is a tough question… if I were in a classroom setting and taking a test, no.  I have never considered myself a cheater.  There were times in school that I would have had the chance and motivation to cheat but wouldn’t because my conscience would not allow me to.  On the other hand…. And I’m not exactly proud to admit this, but, I have recently been taking online classes and that’s a whole different breed of “learning” since it’s an open classroom (does sitting in front of your computer in your pj’s constitute a classroom?) and you have access to everything you need right there at your fingertips so if you didn’t know the answer off the top of your head, it was much too easy to just look on the computer or ask someone else for help in finding the answer.  I’m not sure if that constitutes “cheating” or not since they never specify exactly how you are supposed or not supposed to answer these questions.  So….all that said, asking for help with online stuff yes, I’d ask… cheating by looking on another person’s paper…no, I wouldn’t but there’s a lot of gray area in between the two.

Since adolescence, in what three-year period do you feel you experienced the most personal growth and change?  I would say between 1981 and 1983.  From the ages of  23 to 26 because this is the time where I went from being a single independent young woman, carefree and unattached, to meeting the man I fell in love with, married and started a family.  There was a tremendous amount of growth emotionally, mentally, physically and well as in maturity.  I learned how to go from being a single young woman unconcerned with anything other than myself to learning how to blend a household and family with another person (my husband) to how to handle my pregnant body and then my newborn child.  Wouldn’t have traded it for anything.

If you could change one thing about your home, what would you like to change?  I would take out all the carpets and replace them with either tile or wood floors.  I know it sounds easy to just say “Well, why don’t you just do it?”  MONEY…. That’s the simple answer.  One day it will happen.

If you were given a yacht today, what would you name it? Living the GREAT life!

About pegbur7

South of the Mason/Dixon Line
This entry was posted in Share Your World and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Share Your World – Week 21

  1. I always read your posts but seldom comment but today is not the case. I have struggled with this cheating matter. My BA is double major history and religion and my MA is religion so ethics and Christian morality have been my compass. Scene: Florida Southern College 1967-1971. At freshman assembly they told us one of three would flunk out. They were right. In some classes the curve was set so high below 86% was an F. With some professors no matter how artful were my papers I could never get beyond a C or D. In a linguistics class the pre test and the final were the same test. I got an 8% on the pretest and a 64% on the final but got the F because I did not make 70%. Fair ? In world history I got the second highest grade on the final out of 400 students, a 92 % but got the B instead of the A because it was not 93% Fair? I did get hooked up with half a dozen fellows that were able to get copies of mid-terms and finals in several courses but with several days to research we could never find more than 80% of the answers. IS SOMETHING WRONG HERE OR IS IT ME ? The mid term and final for Shakespeare was 40 quotes from plays – identify speaker, to whom spoken and context. If you did not know that would be the nature of the test how could you possibly study properly and even if you did who but a Shakespearean actor could pass ? This was serious because not only were the life savings of your parents at stake, falling below a 2.0 meant you lost your scholarship and your student deferment and off to Vietnam you went. I had no moral conflict under these circumstances. The end justified the means as I became a high school history teacher in inner city, minority, crime, drug, poverty, dysfunctional family neighborhoods. Except for college bound most were 2-5 years below reading grade level. I failed the no shows and ones that did nothing. As deficient as were the rest I always designed something that they could do and at which they could succeed to enable them to earn C’s and B’s and in some cases A’s even though the performance may have been unsatisfactory according to mandatory grade guideline. Most were very good at drawing historical scenes, designing charts and graphs and at map making. They got A’s and B’s in these non test assessments in my classes. The wisdom of my approach was in that they graduated instead of dropping out and did grow in adulthood and were functional enough for employment. Too many teachers do not enable kids to pass and are content with the “well they did not make it” philosophy.

    • pegbur7 says:

      Carl, thanks so much for stopping by and giving me your opinions on this. I can truly understand how you feel. I think a lot of kids nowadays are set up to fail and aren’t given a fair shake. Some teachers don’t have any qiggle room and don’t see some students who may be truly brilliant in some areas but not in hardcore academic areas therefore they are abruptly dismissed as stupid when really they just haven’t been given a fair chance.

  2. Ron says:

    Well, I have to admit, I HAVE cheated on tests while in a classroom when I was in grammar school.
    *hangs head low*
    But as far as online courses go, I think they know that the Internet is available for those taking the test. They’re more like taking an open-book test.

    For me, I think these past 3 years have been the most personal growth and change. It seems like the older I get, the more open I am to change.

    Happy Monday, dear friend! Wishing you and D the best for your opening tomorrow!!!!

    X to you both!

    • pegbur7 says:

      Ron, thanks so much for your thoughts on this. It is quite a touchy subject, isn’t it? Hope your Monday was wonderful and I hope the rest of your week is also!

  3. Cee Neuner says:

    You have created quite a stir. Good for you!!! I so enjoyed reading your answers….

Leave a Reply

