My Compliments….

 

Compliments

Spin Cycle – Compliments

This week’s spin is on compliments.  I have to admit that is an area that sometimes makes me uncomfortable.  Don’t get me wrong. I LOVE to compliment other people… I just don’t always feel comfortable receiving compliments. 

I love getting them but at the same time I feel uncomfortable because I’m not sure how to respond.  I get embarrassed and then I usually make a big joke which may make the person think I’m not appreciative, which I am, but it sounds like I’m not!  See?  Just right there, even THINKING about getting compliments I get all flustered and feel weird. 

I wonder why that is?  I know I’d much rather give compliments and I do appreciate being appreciated I’m just never certain how to respond when people take the time to compliment me.  I have no problem gushing right along with the compliment-or if they are singing the praises of my husband or kids or parents or siblings.  I’ll join right in and agree with them and even egg them on a bit but if the attention turns to me?  I turn red and get all flustered and start stumbling over my words.  Heck… I might even cry!  Depending on what the compliment is!

I don’t know what is wrong in my psyche that I react that way. I’ve always been that way.  I’ve never liked being the center of attention period, good or bad but when its effusive compliments I just kind of shut down.  Sometimes I make sarcastic comments which really seems inappropriate (and it is) but I can’t seem to help myself.  It’s almost like somehow I feel like I don’t deserve to be complimented? How’s that for self-prescribed psychoanalysis? 

All I know is I like giving compliment and otherwise I have a love/hate relationship with the getting part.  So, now that I’m good and uncomfortable just writing about it, nuff said!

About pegbur7

South of the Mason/Dixon Line
This entry was posted in Spin Cycle and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to My Compliments….

  1. Very well said. Ooops.

  2. gretchen says:

    Well, I think you’re a wonderful blogger, and a lovely human being. I’m assuming you’re blushing and tongue-tied about now, but I don’t care. And thank you for spinning!! You are linked!

  3. Ron says:

    “It’s almost like somehow I feel like I don’t deserve to be complimented? How’s that for self-prescribed psychoanalysis? ”

    Peg, you are soooooooooo right because I think MANY feel the same way. I know I do. I’m getting better at receiving compliments, but I still get flustered at what to say. I believe a lot of that has to do with being brought up to not praise yourself because it means being egotistical.

    Strange how we humans are, aren’t we? It’s okay to praise someone else, but if we GET praise, we feel shy.

    Great post, my friend! Happy weekend……X

  4. vandylj says:

    This is why I want to teach my boys to not only give compliments, but to get them as well. We should all be comfortable on either side of the complimenting game.

    • pegbur7 says:

      Humility is a great trait and teaching your children to be able to both give and receive compliments humbly is a wonderful gift to bestow upon them.

Leave a Reply

