Spinning Cocktails

Cocktails

This Spin Cycle was a hard one for me. We were supposed to share our favorite cocktail recipe, but,  I usually drink wine, preferably red, at home and the only mixing that entails is finding a glass and pouring it without spilling. Unless I happen to have to open a new bottle and that’s sometimes a little more dicey since I am SO graceful.  Me + wine keys + unopened bottles of wine = some type of spillage!  Not good when we are fixing to open our own restaurant. I guess that means I need to open LOTS of bottles of wine in the next couple of weeks so that I can be proficient at opening the wine without spilling it on our patrons.  Which also means if I have all those open bottle of wine, then surely I am going to need to DRINK them!  Are you with me?  Can I hear an AMEN?

My new favorite red is Apothic Red.  It’s a nice blend of several different grapes.  Here’s how their website describes it:

A captivating blend of three distinct grapes, with the dark fruit flavors of Syrah, brambly spice of Zinfandel, and a smooth elegance of Merlot.

Apothic Red reveals intense fruit aromas and flavors of rhubarb and black cherry that are complemented by hints of mocha, chocolate, brown spice and vanilla. The plush, velvety mouthfeel and smooth finish round out this intriguing, full-bodied red blend.

Here’s what the bottle looks like in case you decide to try it yourself at least you know what you are looking for:

Apothic Red

My next poison of choice is margeritas.  My recipe of choice for margaritas is:  find a good Mexican restaurant, pick your favorite table, smile sweetly at the waiter and order a margarita on the rocks with salt.  Wait…… when he brings your margarita, squeeze your lime into the margarita, then take one of hubby’s lemon wedges from his tea and squeeze a lemon wedge into the margarita.  Move the straw so you can get a big ole’ lick of salt and take a nice big swig!  YUMMY!

My other choice (not necessarily second) is when we are at home I yell to hubby, “Honey, can you fix me a margarita?”  And usually a few minutes later a margarita magically appears on the end table!  End of story on my abilities as a mixologist.  Good thing we will only be serving beer and wine!

I do however, have a drink I plan to try the next time we go to the restaurant our daughter works at.  It’s called a Margarita Julius and here’s how their menu describes it: “partida blanco, orchard apricot liquer, fresh sour mix, clementine cream foam”…. Sounds yummy, no?

If you are really in the mood for some much better cocktail ideas than what I gave you head on over to Gretchen’s at Second Blooming and spin your own cocktail!

About pegbur7

South of the Mason/Dixon Line
This entry was posted in Spin Cycle, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Spinning Cocktails

  1. suzicate says:

    Ha, the wine now explains why you haven’t been making any sense when I talk to you at night or on the weekends, lol!

  2. Nadine says:

    That is exactly what I do when my margarita comes… take all the citrus! Then a good sexy lick of salt and a good swig and wink at the hub!
    To which he replies: “Stop that! People are watching.”
    That’s whole point! Geez!

    • pegbur7 says:

      I’m going to have to add that last part next time. I think we area actually going to go eat Mexican tonight so I can be dragged outta there!

  3. Carol says:

    I’m with you – a red wine. Margarita when we go to the Mexican restaurant down the road. Your Apothic Red sounds interesting, but the zinfandel reference bothers me a bit – zin is just too sweet for me.

    • pegbur7 says:

      I like this blend because it’s NOT too sweet. I think it’s pretty much the perfect blend! And it’s not too expensive so if you buy it and don’t like it you haven’t spent an arm and a leg!

  4. Ron says:

    “but, I usually drink wine, preferably red”

    Me too, Peg! In fact, I can only drink red because white makes me sick – too sweet.

    And hey, I just checked out the site link you left for this wine. WOW…is sounds and looks delicious. And I love the bottle! I will definitely check it out the next time I’m in the state store!

    Have a super weekend, dear friend……X

  5. AMEN! Oh, sorry, I didn’t mean to shout. 😉 And swiping all the citrus – including your hubby’s lemon wedges – sounds like something I would do. 🙂 I prefer red, too – I’ll have to check and see if that wine is available locally, sounds delicious! 🙂

    Random Cocktails

Leave a Reply

