Week 4 at Burke’s Grill

I think he's happy to see his name on a building!

This week – I can’t believe it’s been 4 weeks already –  seemed like it was just as busy as every other week but sitting down and thinking about things it’s hard to remember what we did without everything kind of melding together.  I think it’s that we had so much other stuff going on too, besides the restaurant, that it just seemed like we never stopped all week long!

Besides the “work” stuff we also snuck in our daughter’s best friend’s 21st birthday celebration so that kind of took up a whole evening (not that I minded… mention margaritas and I am THERE).  Plus I got to throw in a nice girl’s day out lunch with some friends whom I hadn’t seen in a while. It was much needed and very much enjoyed and then I got to give them a tour of the restaurant.

At Erinn's friends party. That's my baby!

I think the other reason it seemed so hectic is that we are down to one car since hubby’s car is in the process of getting a new engine put in, but, that’s a whole ‘nother blog post!  So, I have been having to take hubby and drop him at the restaurant and come back home and get the things done here that we need to and then going back up there.

Some of the things that got accomplished this week were that the survey was completed and we went and picked it up and went by the county health department to make sure it was exactly what they needed.  She said she thought it was correct and would call back to make sure it was (it was) and we arranged for their health inspector to come by the restaurant and give her inspection and approval so that we could start hooking up the equipment.  She came by Wednesday and said she was impressed because most of the people she deals with are people who know nothing about running a restaurant and just decide to open one without really knowing the correct way to do things.  She told us that we could go ahead and hook up all the equipment and call her and she will come back out and give us the official inspection and health score and then we should be able to open in a couple of weeks!  Best visit so far!

We got Dwight signed up for the RASS class he has to take.  I guess eventually Erinn and I will both have to take it too but for now since the alcohol license will be in his name he’s the only one that has to take it right now.  It’s a class given by our county and one of the adjoining counties showing that you aware of “Responsible Alcohol Serving” something or other else that starts with an S!

We got the paperwork filled out to get our credit card machine in so that we can accept major credit cards and debit cards so we can get PAID.  VERY IMPORTANT.  We got Dwight’s SERV safe certificate in the mail (or was that last week… time kind of runs together).  We ordered and got in the fire extinguishers and I ordered the menu holders. Now we just have to finish getting together our permanent menu.  We got our TV hooked up and mounted and met with our insurance agent about getting health insurance for us and our employees.

We got the fire exit lighting all repaired and in working order and got in the track lighting and picked up the light bulbs and got all those mounted and installed.  We had gone to a lighting company here in town and they wanted $1,800 for the fixtures and bulbs so I had hubby look on the tracks and we searched around and I ordered the lights and fixtures off the internet and less than $300 TOTAL. BIG DIFFERENCE.  Dwight says after all this is over we need to write a book on how to open a restaurant on the cheap in like half the time!

Oh, we got our diaper changing station for a fraction of the cost and two of those sling things that you put baby carriers in?  I’d never seen them before but they sort of look like those folding tray holders only you put car seat carriers on them!  Who knew? They didn’t have any of that fancy stuff when our kids were little!

The biggest thing I guess that happened all week was that we got our sign put up!  YAY!  They delivered it Friday and Friday evening we went out to eat with friends and then went home and got a bottle of champagne and went back to the parking lot and toasted our lit sign!  The champagne we had picked up was AWFUL so we each took like a sip or two and poured the rest on the ground! It was the thought that counted… right?  I will leave you with a few pictures from this week. Mainly the sign going up and how wonderful it looks all lit up… even in the rain!

Just checking!

I'll help you!

There it goes!

Putting up the track llights

Yep, I think that's what it's supposed to look llike!

Dat me!

Ok..they drilled the hole in the wrong place... no biggie.

Almost there.

Just a couple more screws!

I think that's it, by jove!

Voila!

We had to come back after dark just to see it all lit up!

And from the parking lot.

Our toast to our new venture!

About pegbur7

South of the Mason/Dixon Line
This entry was posted in Just Life, Restaurants & Reviews and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Week 4 at Burke’s Grill

  1. terrepruitt says:

    So exciting. And it is so evident that you guys know what you are doing because you are doing like, snap, snap, snap—getting it done. You are doing this so fast. I am really enjoying seeing and reading about the process. Fascinating to me! So close! Yay!

  2. suzicate says:

    Congrats! I love the expression of pure joy on Dwight’s face. I wish you guys much success…but with all that good cooking and southern hospitality, we know it will be more than successful. Can’t wait to get out there and see you guys and check it out!

    • pegbur7 says:

      Suzi, he was like a kid in a candy store… or one who woke up Christmas morning to EVERYTHING on their wish list! It almost made me cry seeing how happy he was! I can’t wait for you guys to come either! Maybe this time y’all can bring Mama and Daddy to us! 🙂

  3. Carol says:

    Good things come to those who wait. And work hard. I’m looking forward to the grand opening!

  4. Ron says:

    *clapping*

    OMG Peg, this post was sooooo exciting! Like seeing your name in lights on BROADWAY!!!!!!!

    Yaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay!

    You can literally see the excitement, pride, and joy on Dwights face 🙂

    And I bet you were just as excited as he was 🙂

    Ever since you told me of your decision to open a restaurant, I had a wonderful feeling that it’s going to be VERY successful!

    I am so happy for you guys!

    (((( Peg + Dwight ))))

    Cheers!

    Have a wonderful Sunday, dear friend!

    X to you both!

    • pegbur7 says:

      Thanks so much my dear friend! I am so proud of him (and us) and everything we have accomplished in the last month! It has surely been a whirlwind!

  5. jen says:

    You guys are amazing! Thing are coming together so fast it’s hard to believe! And that sign is just gorgeous, I anticipate passing by that area for an appointment some time in mid July. If you’re open by then hubby and I would love to stop and visit if you don’t consider your readers stalkers 🙂

    • pegbur7 says:

      Jen, we would absoluteluu LOVE to have you! I’d be honored! I am hoping we will be open in the next two weeks! If we aren’t open by July we won’t be able to open at all… we need to open so we can have some moolah coming in! I look forward to meeting you in person!

  6. pegbur7 says:

    Reblogged this on Burke's Grill Blog and commented:

    week 4

Leave a Reply

