Week 2 At Burke’s Grill

This week has been almost a blur.  We got so much stuff done but I seem to forget what we actually did the week before and what we did this past week!  I know we got our FaceBook page set up so please go and like us now.  Now, please!  Here’s the link:  https://www.facebook.com/pages/Burkes-Grill/389345751095273   I’ll wait until you get back.  . . . . . . . . . .

 

Oh, are you back?  See that wasn’t hard, was it?  We are going to try to update pictures of the progress as we go along.  Once we get open we will use the page to inform our customers of the menu as it will change daily!  We will have a small set menu but since we will do a meat and 2 or 3 veggies for lunch every day we will post what the meat choices and veggie choices will be so when you check it in the morning you can salivate over your selection until lunch time!  Then every evening we will have different chef’s specials depending on what Dwight feels like cooking that day. We may do a different “theme” every night, like one night the specials will be Italian, one night Cajun…we haven’t worked out all those details yet.  Whatever we decide, I guarantee it will be delicious.

 

This week was busy with checking on county licenses and sign permits, etc.  Our sign is being worked on and this is what it will look like when it’s done:

 

How cool is THAT?

A couple of days we had to spend most of the day at home because we had to have our A/C unit replaced form when it got hit by lightening.  We also finally got the roof repairs done.  Yay!  Two major things done.

 

We knew we still had to run down a stainless steel cooler.  We also knew we didn’t want to pay full price for a brand new one.  We had priced them at one equipment store and the ones we were looking at were almost $5,000.  We rode out to Stone Mountain one day to look at used coolers and found one for about $1,750.  It was pretty much what we needed but it was about 10 years old and even though it was in good running condition we knew if anything happened to it we might not be able to find parts to fix it so we continued on to another equipment store.   We also knew we needed two small hand washing stations for the kitchen.

 

We got to the next store and were directed to the used equipment section.  We found another nice used cooler for $1,750 and this one was only about 5 years old which meant it would be easier to find parts for it if it were to break down. Score!  The salesman came by and told us he could probably let us have it for $1,450. Score again!  THEN he said they had some brand new ones for $1,950.  WTH??? BRAND NEW?  That is really a good score because then they have a 5 year warranty on the compressor! 

 

We walked over and looked at the new ones and it was the exact same cooler just new instead of used.  There was only the one on the floor.  I kept walking back and forth looking from one to the other.  When I came back to the new one for like the third time I noticed a small sticker on the unit that said $1,875 so I called the salesman over.  “Um, I thought you said a brand new one was $1,950?”  He said ‘It is” as he pointed to the sheet taped to the front of the unit.  “Then why does this sticker say $1,875?” I asked.  He did a double take and then said “I’m sorry… that’s a mistake.”  To which I replied “Yes, a mistake that just cost you another $75 because I want it for the price on the sticker.” 

 

He agreed to let us have it at that price and then said “You know this company is offering free shipping right now so we can have it drop shipped from the factory in California straight to your restaurant, free of charge!”  WTH??? We don’t have to rent a truck to come pick it up or pay exorbitant shipping charges?  SCORE AGAIN!!!  We walk over and start on the paperwork.  He’s on one side of the counter and I’m standing on the other.  He’s staring intently at the screen and I see his brow furrow and then he says “Dang!”  Uh, oh…. Dang what?  The he says “I’m sorry…. the company stopped the free shipping.  It’s going to be $275 in shipping.”  Um…. I don’t think so… I looked at him with a confused look on my face and said “Um, I’m pretty sure I heard you say FREE SHIPPING and I am pretty sure that I have a witness (pointing to Dwight) that heard you say the same thing!” 

 

He looked at me and said “You’re gonna make me eat that $275 shipping charge aren’t you?”  I smiled sweetly and said ‘Yeah, I’m sorry but I am.  Nothing personal but we need to save wherever we can.”  We ended up getting a brand new cooler for less than half of what we thought we’d have to pay for a new one and we got free shipping to boot.  Then we went to Restaurant Depot (which sells food, equipment, just about everything a restaurant would need super cheap) and they had the EXACT same cooler ON SALE for $2,799.  I walked around with a big smile on my face for the rest of the day!

 

We found the 2 sinks at another store and they should be in on Monday.  We got our sound system put in and all the tables put together.  We had bought the table tops and bases used so we (well, Dwight and Erinn did) spent the better part of a day scraping gum off the bottoms of the tables and scraping and cleaning them.  Why do people put gum under restaurant tables?  It is SO nasty!  Or under the bottoms of chairs or anywhere other than the trash for that matter?  We also got that God awful hideously putrid green paint covered.  YAY!  All the walls (above the tile) are now a nice camel color and the bathroom doors are no longer pink and blue, just a nice clean white!   

 

We also have our phones and internet connected and I’m working on our web page.  We had our dumpster delivered and had the Fire Marshall come by to inspect the building and we had the Water Company come by to inspect the grease trap. We had the electrician come by and the plumber and the A/C guy and got everything lined up to be fixed, cut on, whatever it needs.   Dwight got most of the equipment scraped and cleaned and we got our 3 compartment sink that we’d been searching for delivered and installed! We also got the freezer and slicer delivered and when we got the table bases, he’d generously given us new ones instead of used ones for the same price.  I think we pretty much have all of our equipment now except for a microwave (for sauces, etc) and maybe a warm air oven.  And now we need to find high chairs and 4 more dining chairs since we have to put together another table so we will have 14 and NOT 13.  I guess I’ll catch you up next week but in the meantime enjoy the pics:

Getting rid of the hideous green

Our tables and chairs and booths all lined up and put together!

Getting it all ready to paint.

Our new speakers!

Tables and chairs.

The new camel colored paint

The entrance area now camel colored

The hideous green is GONE!

Our tables for our booths. Should we paint/stain the table tops or use table cloths?

About pegbur7

South of the Mason/Dixon Line
This entry was posted in Just Life, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Week 2 At Burke’s Grill

  1. terrepruitt says:

    WOW! It looks fabulous. That green was a tad bit bright wasn’t it? Sounds liks things are just falling into place and even though you are all working hard it is getting done.

    So exciting!!!!!

    Yay!

  2. suzicate says:

    I LOVE how everything is falling in place. Burke’s Grill is looking good, sign included. And I like the tables just as they are..no paint, no cloth.

  3. I’m with Suzicate on this one. Nothing for the tables. They look fine! Everything looks great!

  4. Ron says:

    *thunderous applause*

    Peg….I am sooooooooooooo excited for you and Dwight!!!!

    As soon as I saw your new sign, I clapped! Which btw, looks faaaaaaabulous!

    I love your idea about having a different ‘theme’ every night.

    And I have to agree with Suzi…leave the tables as it. I like the light color of the wood. They’ll be easier to clean instead of having to wash the table cloths; saving you time and money.

    Can’t wait to see more!

    You guys have done an EXCELLENT job!

    Happy Monday, dear friend!

    X to you and D!

  5. gretchen says:

    How exciting! The place is looking GREAT! And you are some negotiator, woman! Man, I want you to come out here and be my agent!

  6. Katie says:

    This is all so exciting, I went to facebook and liked you. Hope someday I can come to Burkes grill to eat.

  7. pegbur7 says:

    Reblogged this on Burke's Grill Blog and commented:

    Week 2

Leave a Reply

