Lucky Me!

Luck

“Don’t stand behind that rocker and rock it with nobody in it!  It’s bad luck!”  I can still hear my Big Mama saying that when I was little.  Or… “Don’t  you dare open that umbrella in the house! Don’t you know what kind of bad luck you’ll bring in here with that thing?”  That one was usually from my mom. Or… Don’t walk under a ladder.  Or Careful not to break that mirror unless you want 7 years bad luck!  Of course if that were true, I’d have to live to be as old as Methusalah to live out all the bad luck from all the mirrors I’ve broken over the years.  And you also need to watch out for those black cats crossing your path and don’t put hats on the bed because you’ll cause someone to die (I never understood that one).

I grew up hearing all about bad luck all the time.  Even though they were supposedly NOT superstitious they surely acted like they were! And once I felt myself freed from the slavery and bonds of superstitions I turned around and married a man whom it turns out… is extremely superstitious!  I know well his feelings about “the number 13” and how freaky he is about it.  In fact, the other day we were putting together the tables for our restaurant and after a long hard day I just happened to count the tables.  I turned to Dwight and said “I guess we are going to have to buy some more chairs and figure out a way to put another table in here.”

He smirked at me and said “We don’t have ROOM for another table… what are you talking about?”  I calmly said “We have 13 tables.”  His eyes grew wide and I could see the panic start to build behind them.  He said “We don’t have room for another table! What are we going to do?”  Then I kind of smiled to myself because I know how he is and I told him we’d have to rearrange some things and then I kind of forgot about it.  A few minutes later he comes out of the kitchen wheeling this big chiller so he could make room for a storage rack in the kitchen and create enough space to put another table in the dining room.  All because there are 13 tables!  I really think it’s kind of comical but I know we will figure a way to put another table in there because he will simply NOT allow there to be 13 tables.

I find myself thinking in terms of superstition because I know how he is even though I don’t really believe in luck.  I do say “Good Luck” to people, I guess more out of habit than anything. I have tried to change that to “best wishes” but still find myself saying it anyway! I guess I should say I more believe that people create their own luck.  And I don’t even think “luck” is the correct word.

I do believe there are greater forces at work in the universe.  I don’t know if it’s luck, or fortune, or fate, or serendipity, or kismet or God’s Grace or the fact that some people seize opportunity when others don’t.  I do believe if we put good vibes or feelings or love out there in the universe then we are going to get back more positive energy and vibes than if we put out negative energy and vibes.  I think we attract more of what we put out there so if we put out negative vibes we get negative results and if we put out positive and cheerful vibes then we get back better things.

Life is what we make it and I don’t think we make ourselves unlucky or lucky. I do however think that we can make ourselves more open to the good and positive things that the universe puts out there for us. It’s up to us what we do with it.

About pegbur7

South of the Mason/Dixon Line
This entry was posted in Spin Cycle and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Lucky Me!

  1. suzicate says:

    Your last paragraph says it all! Life is what we make of it…
    I can’t believe you messed with Dwight like that! He’s probably up at night trying to figure out how he’s going to get the 14th table in there…

    • pegbur7 says:

      He’s still working on it. It would have been worse if I HADN’T told him and then he found out later that there were 13…I actually hated to tell him because I KNEW how he’d react!

  2. I love that you messed with Dwight about the 13 tables – that’s something I’d totally do to my hubby. 😉 I love how you summed it all up – especially your last paragraph. Brilliantly put! 🙂

    Luck and Fender Benders

  3. Gretchen says:

    I agree 100% that life is what we make of it. That said…I have been known to stop the car in the middle of traffic and spit over my left shoulder when black cat ran in front of me!

    You’re linked!

    • pegbur7 says:

      Isn’t it funny how we continue to do stuff like that even when we don’t really believe it? I find myself scraping spilled salt off the table and throwing it over my left shoulder. And what is it about the left shoulder??? LOL

  4. Patty says:

    I totally agree! Life IS what we make of it. Great spin.

  5. Katie says:

    I like Karma, as you get back what you give.

  6. Ron says:

    “Life is what we make it and I don’t think we make ourselves unlucky or lucky. I do however think that we can make ourselves more open to the good and positive things that the universe puts out there for us. It’s up to us what we do with it.”

    Bingo! That’s how feel about luck (whether good or bad) too, Peg.

    And it’s funny because theater actors are notorious for being very superstitious. God forbid you say ‘good luck’ before a performance instead of ‘break a leg.’ Or, god forbid you say the name “Macbeth” in a dressing room before a performance. That’s a no-no in the theater world, however, I never believed it, so I would walk around the dressing room, shouting, “MACBETH! MACBETH! MACBETH!

    HA!

    Hope you had a FAB day, dear friend!

    X to you and Dwight!

    P.S. Hope all is going well with the restaurant.

  7. terrepruitt says:

    Hmm. It’s odd to me that the number 13 bothers him so much YET he didn’t notice there was only 13 tables. I wonder if it would have went unnoticed if you would not have pointed it out and then by the time he noticed he would have seen that it really didn’t matter? Hmmmm, I wonder.

    I say “Good luck.” too, but I believe more in the positive energy of it than in actually “luck” per se.

    Tricky subject.

    • pegbur7 says:

      He didn’t notice because he was concentrating on putting them together and he wasn’t counting them. We had 17 table tops and bases. We still had several left to put together but had run out of chairs. We just hadn’t paid attention to the chair booth combinations and how that all played out. Trust me. It would have been worse to wait and let him figure it out for himself.

Leave a Reply

