Share Your World – Week 14

1. Who was your favorite Teacher – what grade and why?

I think my favorite teachers were in high school and both of them were English teachers… go figure.  My favorites were my 9th grade English teacher, Ethel Reiter and David Dodd who I think was my 10th or 11th grade teacher. They were the first teachers who treated me more like an equal than a kid. Ethel was young, I think it was her first year of teaching and she became more a friend than teacher but she taught me a lot of “life lessons” on how to handle people and taught me that I had more worth than I thought and that I should be proud of who I was and not be so timid and shy.  David Dodd was sort of the same way. They both took an interest in me and made me feel that I really was worth more than I gave myself credit for and that I was smarter than I gave myself credit for.

 

 

2. What do you like most about your home?

I love our home.  I like the fact that it’s on ONE floor.  The only stairs are the step down into the “sunken” living room and the step down off the back door to the patio.  I also love our kitchen (hubby loves it even more).  The fact that we have a commercial stove and two ovens comes in very handy!  I love the Spanish tile in the main living area of the house.  The only thing I’d change (and will one day) is the fact that the guest bathroom has carpet (I think it should be all tile) and I’d change out the carpets in the bedrooms for hardwood or carpet eventually.

3. If you were forced to change the name of your blog what would you change it to?

Well, since my sister is the Water Witches Daughter I think I’d change it to The Moonshiner’s Daughter! Off the top of my head that’s all I can come up with … or maybe “John boy’s neighbor”?

4. If a movie was made based on your life, what actor/actress would play you?

I think that Kathy Bates would be well suited to play me.  She’s not a skinny girl just like me!) and she can be funny or fierce and I think that’s me too AND she has dark hair and can do the southern thing very well.

About pegbur7

South of the Mason/Dixon Line
This entry was posted in Share Your World and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Share Your World – Week 14

  1. suzicate says:

    HMMM…Kathy Bates? You’re much prettier, but I think she could play your personality well. Loved her in Fried Green Tomatoes. She did well in Misery, too…but that’s one I can’t bring myself to watch again!

    • pegbur7 says:

      Thank you but I think she’s pretty. I guess I could get a heavier what’s her name that used to be on Cheers and then did Fat Actress? Can’t remember now.

  2. I love Kathy Bates too, but you are so pretty and she’s not nearly as good looking.

    I hate carpet in bathrooms too. I’d love to change out my linoleum in the kitchen for hardwood, (which may even be underneath). I love hardwood floors and they are all I have on the lower level of the house.

    • pegbur7 says:

      Thanks Linda. I don’t think I’m any more attractive than she is.

      I hate the carpet too. The only complaint I have for the hardwood in the kitchen (which our old house had) is that with so much water in there it can get warped and it’s a lot more unforgiving if you drop something it’s more likely to break!

  3. Ron says:

    LOVE Kathy Bates! To me, she’s one of our finest actress!

    And I can SO see her playing YOU! PERFECT choice, Peg!

    I like your other choice for you blog name, but I think the one you have is FLAWLESS!

    Hope you had a FAB day, dear friend……X

    ((((( You )))))

  4. Cee Neuner says:

    Such wonderful answers. I like John Boy’s neighbor! I’m glad you had your teachers!

  5. Carol says:

    I think Kathy Bates would be perfect! You strike me as a feisty, funny lady and Kathy can look pretty darn good when she wants to.

Leave a Reply

