Fear of….

Phobias

Do you have any phobias?  It’s an interesting question.  I had to really sit and think about it for a while.  This week’s Spin Cycle topic is phobias and I really had to think hard to think about what actual phobias I have.  I know that there are LOTS of things I’m afraid of but I’m not sure if they would actually be considered a phobia.  It’s not like I’m deathly afraid of the fears.  They bother me but not enough that I’d leave sleep over it.

Let’s see.  I’m slightly afraid of spiders and snakes but not enough that I’ll scream like a little girl and jump on the furniture. I have actually held several snakes and spiders as large as a tarantula but not ones out in the wild. That would be a different story.  I’d be afraid to go out in the woods and find a snake or tarantula and pick it up but I wouldn’t run the other way as soon as I saw it either.

I do have a little bit of a phobia of heights.  I don’t even know how to explain the feeling I get. It differs on the circumstance.  I know when we go in big arenas or stadiums I do NOT like to go up in what they call the “nose bleed” section.  The steeper the stairs the more agitated I feel. It’s like I am afraid I am going to fall down the stairs or over the edge.  As long as I’m sitting I’m okay and while I’m walking UP the stairs and can’t see what’s behind me I’m okay…but when it comes to going back DOWN the stairs…. It kind of freaks me out.

I remember years ago we’d go to the Sugar Bowl at the SuperDome in New Orleans, LA when we lived there.  I remember once I had out oldest with us and she was only a few months old and that really really freaked me out and I don’t know if it was because I had her with us and I was more afraid for her safety or if it was just that it hit me at that time.  Another time we went to the circus there and there were parts of the dome that you walked across where you could see the floors underneath you over the edge of the floor you were walking on and that almost gave me a panic attack.  I guess it’s some kind of spatial awareness thing.

As long as I can’t tell how far up I am, it doesn’t bother me. I could be on the 100th floor of a building and it wouldn’t bother me unless I was looking like over the edge of a balcony or something and then my palms start getting sweaty and I start feeling my breathing getting a little more shallow and then my hands start shaking.  I don’t know why looking out the window doesn’t bother me.  Maybe it’s because there is something between me and the outside.  I guess I feel safe and secure as long as there is something preventing me from falling but if part of it is open I get that uneasy queasy feeling.  It’s the opposite of the Eagles and their Peaceful, Easy Feeling.

The other fear I have is of being alone.  Not in the sense of being in the room or house when no one else is home. That doesn’t bother me. It’s that feeling of being completely alone as in everyone has abandoned me.  I guess that technically would be more of a fear of abandonment rather than a fear of being alone.   I fear losing my loved ones and family.  It isn’t an irrational can’t breathe kind of fear but more of a gnawing at the pit of your stomach when you think about it fear.

How about YOU?  Do you have any phobias?  Or are you afraid to tell me?

About pegbur7

South of the Mason/Dixon Line
This entry was posted in Spin Cycle and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Fear of….

  1. I have a completely irrational fear of dolls, well plastic body parts and anything that is made to look human when it shouldn’t be. There is a name for it, pediophobia which in itself sounds nasty. (shudders thinking about it) 🙂 xx

  2. terrepruitt says:

    I don’t know that I have any phobias or I can’t think of any. I don’t like spiders but I don’t go way out of my way to avoid them. If the definition of phobia is “usually defined as a persistent fear of an object or situation in which the sufferer commits to great lengths in avoiding,” maybe I could say traffic. I fear being stuck in it and wasting my time and I go out of my way to avoid it!

    • pegbur7 says:

      I don’t like traffic either. When I worked in Atlanta I knew EVERY single exit could take me to work and home so I figured them all out so I wouldn’t have to sit in it!

  3. Ron says:

    Like you, I have a fear of heights. Although I think it’s hysterical that I live on the 21st floor of a high-rise apartment building – HA!

    My fear of heights is only paralyzing when I’m up high and in an open space. I’m okay being high up, as long as I’m enclosed in something. Which is why the height of flying doesn’t bother me. But put me on a high mountain with nothing surrounding me. OMG….I FREAK!!!

    I also have a fear of those big black roaches (Palmetto bugs), OMG…if one of them gets into my apartment, I can’t sleep until I know that thing is DEAD – HA!

    Have a fab Tuesday, dear friend……X

  4. Katie says:

    Bats creep me out. I found out we had them in our basement in Michigan, when one hovered over me one night, after I went to bed alone. I was summer. I could hear his wings flap, I thought it was a large butterfly. I turned on the light and it flew into the open closet. I rushed to the girls room and slept with them. I couldn’t find it in the morning.

  5. I have been arrested twice on computer glitch saying there was warrant out for my arrest. I still don’t trust that it has been straightened out. I stay home unless necessary. Plus I am sole caretaker of my 88 yer old parents and they don’t answer the phone.

  6. Phobias? I have too many to list but have to fight them off to stay alive. 🙂

  7. eof737 says:

    Too many to name. 😆

Leave a Reply

