Tricky Dicky

It’s Thursday so it must be time for Mama Kat’s Almost World Famous Writer’s Workshop.  This week I chose prompt # 2.) A time you were tricked.

I’ve been tricked many many times in my life.  I grew up in a family of  tricksters and practical jokers.  Everybody loved to “pull one over” on someone else.  The biggest culprits were usually my two older brothers.  My brothers were 5 & 6 years older than me respectively so I adored them and worshipped them because they were like Gods to me and whatever they said had to be gospel because they were my older brothers!  Never EVER would they try to deceive me! Right??? WRONG!!!

My brothers would trick anyone they could and since I was so much younger and so gullible I fell victim to their wily ways more than once.  The one time that sticks out the most in my mind was one winter day that happened to be a Saturday that they convinced me that I had overslept and was going to miss the school bus.

I don’t know why I so readily believed them or how they convinced me that it really was a school day,  I knew even theoretically that it was a Saturday but somehow they convinced me that we had to “make up” a day on a Saturday because we had missed too many days due to snow.  All I know is I was sound asleep in my nice warm bed, probably dreaming a nice warm dream, when they both crept into my bedroom and one stood at the end of my bed and the other stood beside my bed and they started “whispering” REALLY loudly “Wake up! Wake up! You are gonna be late for school!!!”

I remember even now thinking that I couldn’t have overslept THAT much.  I remember looking out the window and seeing that it was still dark outside.  I was confused.  I even said…”It’s still dark outside!”  And they said “But we already heard the bus go by! Hurry… you know it will be back soon!”

The bus always came by our house and made a loop and came back by in about 20 or 30 minutes.  They convinced me that the bus had gone by.  I told them I hadn’t heard it but they were SO convincing.  They told me it was too late to eat breakfast or anything. I just had to throw on my pants and a semi clean shirt and throw on my winter coat and run out the door with my books.  I remember standing at the end of our driveway (which was fairly long) clutching my books to my chest….for a LONG time….. I think I probably fell asleep standing up holding onto those books. I must have stood out there for at least an hour… at least until my mom got up and noticed I wasn’t in my bed or happened to look out the window and demanded to know why the heck I was standing at the end of the driveway on a Saturday morning clutching my school books.

Then they tried to convince her that I must have been sleep walking and walked out there of my own volition while I was asleep.  I think they probably had her pretty much convinced that I was just a whack job until they finally called me back into the house where I promptly ratted them out.  They both took off to their room laughing hysterically.  For weeks later every time I’d turn around one of them would look at me and say “Hey, Peggy… I think I hear the school bus!”  I wasn’t going to fall for that one again… but I did fall for many others. But that’s part of the joy of having two tricksters for brothers.

About pegbur7

South of the Mason/Dixon Line
This entry was posted in Mama Kat's Writer's Workshop, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Tricky Dicky

  1. terrepruitt says:

    Ha. I think every kid has suffered being told they had to go to school when it was Saturday. I think most of the time though the kid doesn’t realize it was Saturday. I think you just trusted your brothers too much. 😉

  2. Yvonne says:

    Don’t you just love older brothers. Your story made me laugh and also feel sorry for that young girl out on the driveway in the cold.

  3. Wow, how funny! I can picture your brothers laughing histerically at that!

    I was gullible too and my younger brother convinced me that a spaceman visited our house and left his white gloves–for days I believed him. and even wrote about the “spaceman” in my diary! Maybe I should do a post about this, huh?

    Stopping by from Writer’s Workshop.

  4. Ron says:

    “Then they tried to convince her that I must have been sleep walking and walked out there of my own volition while I was asleep. ”

    Bwhahahhahahahaha! OMG, Peg….I HOWLED when I read that!!!!

    What little tricksters they were!

    However, I shouldn’t talk because I did such horrible things to my poor younger brother. I’m surprised he even still talks to me – HA!

    Hilarious post, dear friend!!!!

    Have a terrific Thursday!

    X ya!

  5. Katie says:

    Older siblings can be such tricksters. I am only finding out lately what my oldest daughter did to the younger one. She feels somewhat bad as her younger sister idolized her too when they were little.

  6. Nothing like an older sibling. I giggled all the way through this b/c it is so typical of a loving, older brother. :o)

    • pegbur7 says:

      Thanks Arnebya! Yes, kids may treat each other terribly but they still usually love each other and take up for each other and I know my brothers would have my back in a heart beat.

  7. Carol says:

    No wonder girls grow up to be women with a strong distrust of men! As a mother of one each (boy and girl) listening to them talk about what they did as kids makes me laugh. And cringe sometimes.

  8. eof737 says:

    I thought about that one but went with #4… Lovely.

  9. Gretchen says:

    Hysterical! I knew I was missing out being an only child!

  10. mj monaghan says:

    Hmm, I have two brothers and four sisters. We are ALL one year apart. I’m the second oldest. We MIGHT have done some things like this as brothers, but I can’t confirm or deny … 🙂

    • pegbur7 says:

      I’m sure you did! The first 4 in our family are all less than a year apart each. Then 4 years and me and then 5 years and my little sister. We had one less altogether I guess. I was next to the youngest!

Leave a Reply

