Pay It Forward 2012

At the beginning of the year I saw a post on Facebook where one of my friends was participating in something called “Pay It Forward 2012” and you were supposed to “like” the status and recopy to your status.  I confess that a lot of times when somebody’s status says to “like” and then copy I will like but am reluctant to copy it to my status. Sometimes I like it enough to “like” it but not enough to anoy my friends by reposting. I hope that made sense.

Anywho, this one intrigued me because the instructions were that you “like” the status, comment on it and then paste it to your status.  IF you were one of the first five people to comment then the person had to send you a surprise.  The kicker was the surprise had to be something they made themselves.  I loved the idea.  I always like getting surprises in the mail and this one would have to be mailed because my friend lives in North Carolina.

Then after you pasted to your status, the first five people to comment on it were to be given a gift made by you. And you had all of 2012 to complete your gift giving but knowing myself, I knew if I didn’t do it right away then I’d forget about it.  My original plan was that it was going to be super easy because I was just going to send White Trash to the first five to respond.

The kink in my plan was that one of the people that were the first five to respond was my sister in law who lives in Arizona.  Not a problem except right before Christmas I had already sent them a bowl of white trash in the mail so now I had to come up with another plan!  Dang!  What was I gonna do because I am NOT that crafty or original and I was busting my brain trying to figure out what the heck I could MAKE that didn’t LOOK like I made it and was still something someone would want and how was I going to do that FIVE times?

The person whose status I had commented on sent me a really nice crocheted scarf.  I love it. It’s warm and the jacket I wear most of the time is black and the scarf is black and white so it was perfect.  I couldn’t copy her idea because she was one of the people to respond to me so I couldn’t send her back the same type of thing she sent me.  Besides… my crocheting skills are sorely lacking.  It would probably fall apart from the shifting in the box!

My scarf from my friend in NC

Then I remembered that my sister and I had bought beads and stuff to make necklaces that we were going to sell at Relay for Life last year to raise money for our team. The problem was that neither of us had thought it out too thoroughly since we both need glasses to see those small beads and wires and both of us tend to suffer from arthritis in our fingers so by the time you make a couple of them your fingers are so cramped up you can’t grip your fork to eat!  Plus they take a while to make, at least for me they do anyway. But that was a plus for me because it gave me an idea and a jumping off point.

I headed to Michael’s and Hobby Lobby and bought some more beads and stuff and set out to work.  It took me several days of working on them mostly every day but I ended up making I think like 6 or 7 sets of bracelets and necklaces that I sent to my “winners”.  I love giving gifts to people so I think I added a couple of people in there.

The point of this post was to challenge you.  You don’t need to post this on your Facebook to participate or anything.  I just challenge you to “Pay it Forward 2012”.  You can do it all different kinds of ways. You can decide on a day you want to do it and pick the first 5 people who comment on your blog that day and send them a gift. It doesn’t have to be big or elaborate but the fact that it’s homemade and made by YOU makes it special.  Or you can just randomly pick 5 people that you want to do something nice for. Then if you don’t already have their address (I think that makes it part of the fun because receiving a surprise in the mail is always fun) ask them for their address and send it to them.  You’ll make someone’s day and I guarantee it will make YOUR day too.

I so enjoyed doing that. I might just randomly (occasionally) decide to send things to people just because it makes me feel good too.  Here are pics of the finished products:

My "tools" to start

My beads sorted out

About pegbur7

South of the Mason/Dixon Line
This entry was posted in Just Life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Pay It Forward 2012

  1. Maggie L R says:

    what a great idea and the jewelry looks wonderful. I wish I had been one of the first to comment on your facebook,

  2. Oh, what lucky FB friends you have. I have some friends who have posted that, but I’ve avoided it, because I know I’d drop the ball on sending the gifts!

  3. Be careful. This is also a method whereby the gift is computer virus.

  4. Ron says:

    Peg, these necklaces you made are faaaaaaaaaaabulous!

    I love the various beads you used because they look like natural rocks, stones and pebbles. The colors are so beautiful.

    Oh, and btw, I lovin’ my Miss Ronda bracelet you sent Barbie and I!

    *wink*

    Have a super Saturday, dear friend!

    X

  5. suzicate says:

    See, I told you that you are creative and talented! They are beautiful! I don’t like doing those FB things, but I do like making things for people just because and surprising them….I finally got the beads and made my chakra bracelets; so glad I didn’t just order them premade…much more fun doing them myself; even with swollen and hurting fingers!

  6. terrepruitt says:

    Wow! I would say you are very crafty. Those are beautiful pieces! I would have never thought I would have to make FIVE of the same thing. I would have sent different things to different people. Ha. I guess I would have done it wrong. Good thing I never participated.

    Lovely jewelry. (“Not that crafty.” – my foot!)

  7. Those are gorgeous! Great job!

Leave a Reply

