Photo Faves

This week on Share Your World, instead of the usual 4 questions or so Cee gave us a different kind of challenge:   What are your 3 Favorites photographs?  Explain why they are your favorite. I’ll start with this one:

Wedded bliss

This is one of my favorite pictures because it’s from our wedding.  Wedded bliss and so in love we couldn’t stand it!  Not that we aren’t STILL in love, it’s just a whole lot more of a mature love that’s borne of being together over 30 years.  In this picture we hadn’t even been married 30 minutes!  I mean, look at us!  Still wearing the blush of “I do’s”.  We were young and unstoppable. 

Gosh we were young!

I love this picture because it’s a picture of some of the people from our Lamaze class from our first born child.  These other two couples were the ones we bonded with.  Unfortunately we all moved away from New Orleans and lost touch over the years but I did find the one couple. They have moved to Asheville, NC and the other couple I think live in Des Moines, Iowa.  I have “Friended” the couple that now lives in Asheville and I hope that one day soon we might be able to go to Asheville and see them while they are there.

Me with my parents and all my brothers and sisters (Again taken by my wonderful friend Margie Hatcher)


This last one is one of my favorites because it’s the last picture taken of our whole family (brothers, sisters, and parents) before my brother passed away.  Of course at the time this picture was taken, NONE of us knew he was sick.  He didn’t even know he was sick or if he might have suspected it, he never said anything to any of us.  We were together to celebrate my mom and dad’s 60th wedding anniversary.  It was a crazy day and one of very good friends that I went to high school with, and who happens to be a fantastic photographer,  had agreed to come and take pictures to commemorate the day.  We were all running like crazy because my husband was cooking and I was trying to help and trying to help make sure the food was not running out and trying to  corral all the relatives together with their respective families to have their pictures taken.  She had gotten my mom and dad in and taken several shots of them and I went back out to try to gather my siblings. Every time I’d find one, I’d lose another.  We finally got us all together and she snapped a few photos of us with our parents and then a couple of us (just the siblings) but unfortunately she said with that many people that in almost every picture at least one if not several people had their eyes closed! 

This picture means the world to me because we will never again have the chance to have a “family” portrait with all six siblings in it.  The loss of my brother profoundly affected us all and I am so grateful that we had a fairly recent picture of us all together.  This was about 6 months before we found out he was sick. Less than a year after this picture was taken (actually less than 8 months) we would lose him to cancer.  Thank you again Margie for our last portrait of our family intact.

About pegbur7

South of the Mason/Dixon Line
This entry was posted in Share Your World, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Photo Faves

  1. terrepruitt says:

    Nice. These pictures are the epitome of why we take pictures. Wonderful.

  2. suzicate says:

    Pictures, like memories on paper…so easy to share!
    Love your faves.

  3. Carol says:

    I can see why these are favorites!

  4. Ron says:

    Great photo share, Peg!

    Love them all!

    The one of you and hubby is so sweet because you can FEEL your love.

    Happy Monday, dear friend…..X

  5. Beautiful pictures and that Lamaze one is so cute!

  6. Gretchen says:

    I love these! And they’re great choices because they’re full of life and show the progression of the years. In a good way.

  7. Cee Neuner says:

    Such wonderful memories and stories. You touched my heart!!!

  8. Judee says:

    How wonderful that you were ablt to get the family together for that last portrait. I’m sorry for your loss, but glad you have this cherished photo.

Leave a Reply

