Hot AND Brown!

recipe

The Spin Cycle this week is to share a recipe and the story behind it.  I guess mine would be not so much as a recipe as what I do with the left over turnkey from Thanksgiving and Christmas. I think I shared before about my “Hot Browns” I make.  Now how and where they came about.

When I lived in Greenville, North Carolina years and years ago, before I met my husband I used to go with my friends to this restaurant called Sweet Carolines.  I think it was supposed to be sort of chic and French and I guess it was for back in the day in a college town like Greenville.

They had an item on the menu called Hot Browns and I used to love it.  I didn’t really know how they made it or what the recipe was so over the years I kept having that dish pop up in my head and I kept thinking how great it would be to have one of those hot browns again.  Since I now live in Georgia (and as far as I know Sweet Carolines closed down many years ago) I FINALLY decided that I would “make up” my own version of hot browns to the best of my recollection.

Since the only time we ever really cook a whole turkey is Thanksgiving or Christmas that is the only time I make it since it takes leftover turkey. I supposed I could buy some of that carving board turkey at the deli but I don’t think it would be the same. My family loves it and this past Thanksgiving my son in law told me oldest that he refused to leave until he got his hot browns. I suppose if I’d been thinking I should have put off making them for a few days to force them to stay!

I take the leftover turkey and chop it up into bite sized pieces or cubes.  I buy a good roll from the bread department but you can use hamburger buns or even hotdog buns if you like. It just needs to be something a little more substantial than sliced bread.  I cook a whole pound of bacon (I never said this was good for you or that it wouldn’t shoot your cholesterol through the roof!), let it cool and then crumble it up.

I lightly toast the buns then layer on top of it turkey and crumbled bacon.  Then I make a cheese sauce.  I take a simple white sauce and add about a cup of shredded cheddar to it.  I pour that on top of the buns and meat and then throw a little more cheddar on the top just for good measure.  I toss the whole thing in the oven and let it bake for about 15 or 20 minutes until it’s bubbly and starts browning.  Voila!  Hot Browns!

Yum Yum!

About pegbur7

South of the Mason/Dixon Line
This entry was posted in Spin Cycle and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Hot AND Brown!

  1. Is that a new USPS commemorative stamp from a new series for housewives?

  2. Katie says:

    I would use Bacon Salt, a not bad bacon flavor, with surprisingly low 135 mgs of actual sodium. I love bacon and I love anything with white sauce on it. Sounds yummy.

    • pegbur7 says:

      I’ve never heard of bacon salt! And it’s actually a cheese sauce. I take the white sauce and convert it to a cheese sauce so I’m sure my cholesterol rises from just smelling it!

  3. Angelia Sims says:

    That looks and sounds delicious!!

  4. Oy, the imaginary heartburn is just revving up by looking at the picture!

  5. Carol says:

    That sounds wonderfully evil! You now have me drooling, and of course it’s not turkey season in our house. Evil!

  6. Ron says:

    Peg, the photo of these luscious-looking hot browns is making my mouth water!

    This recipe is PERFECT for this time of the year too. Warm and cozy food.

    Thanks for sharing, dear friend…..X

  7. Look so good, it just made me hungry 😀

  8. Gretchen says:

    Yum! Hard to beat anything with turkey, bacon AND cheese sauce! And I love that you only make it on the holidays. Much more special!

    You’re linked!

  9. [slurp]

    My wife likes to do similar things with leftover turkey after Thanksgiving. Usually the results are very tasty. But this one looks really good.

  10. Ginny Marie says:

    Ooo, that sounds so easy to make! I just learned how to make a cheese sauce a couple years ago, and Costco sells a precooked turkey breast that is very reasonable. I’ll bet this recipe will be a winner at my house!

  11. eof737 says:

    It looks delicious even as I calculate the calories in my head! 😆

Leave a Reply

