Stormy Weather

Storm

I wake to the sound of thunder rumbling

I pull the covers back over my head, grumbling

“Is it still going to rain all day today?”

NO, please no, let there be another way.

Forecast calls for occasional storming

And to watch out for tornadoes forming

It’s been raining and storming for over a week

My back yards a lake and my roof’s gonna leak

I have no problem with Mother Nature

Doing her job with occasional adventure

But day after day of continual rain

Is getting on my nerves, being a pain

The lightening crashes all around

It does look beautiful as it streaks to the ground

But then my internet and cable go out

That makes me angry and I want to shout

I shake my fists to the heavens and growl

Why do the winds have to blow and howl

I thought “light rains” were in the forecast

How long are these downpours going to last?

Day after day and hours upon hours

We endure these “occasional” thunder showers

Oh wait! Is the sun poking through clouds in the sky?

Nope, that’s just the street light opening it’s eye.

I’ve put up with this cold and wet without end

Mother Nature is definitely not being my friend

I guess I should shut up and let her put on her show

Or she could decide to turn this rain into snow.

This poem was brought to you by way of Mama Kat and her Pretty Much World Famous Writer’s Workshop and prompt #2.) Write a poem about inspired by the word: Storm.

About pegbur7

South of the Mason/Dixon Line
This entry was posted in Mama Kat's Writer's Workshop, Poetry, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Stormy Weather

  1. Angelia Sims says:

    This poem is my life too!! Rain,rain, and more rain. I’m ready for the sun. Great job on the prompt. Your poetry always amazes me. It’s so catchy. 🙂

    • pegbur7 says:

      Thank you. It’s about the only way I know how to do it. Susie is always telling me I should “try other styles” but I have a hard enough time as it is!

  2. Ron says:

    FLAWLESS poem, Peg!

    BRA-VA!!!!!!!

    “But then my internet and cable go out.”

    OMG…don’t you just hate that? I take anything but my Internet service being down. Drives me INSANE!

    Yup….we’re getting the same kinda weather here too. One day it’s nice and sunny, the next day it’s raining cats and dogs. Speaking of which…today looks like it’s going to be a cats and dogs day.

    UGH!

    Have a great day, dear friend!

    ((((( Peg )))))

    X

    • pegbur7 says:

      It stopped for about a day (maybe) and now we are supposed to have rain again for DAYS and it’s talking about flooding again because the ground is so saturated already! ARRRGGHHHH

  3. Katie says:

    That was excellent! Rain for days can be so depressing. So far not much snow, but Feb is coming!

  4. suzicate says:

    Nope, that’s just the street light opening it’s eye. -most excellent!
    Hope the weather clears soon for you!

  5. Melinda says:

    Love this…and I can totally relate!

  6. terrepruitt says:

    Ha, ha, ha! This is great.

  7. SUPAHMAMA says:

    Love how you ended with the threat of snow! I would LOVE some snow! I’m just about over the rain here too.

  8. Galit Breen says:

    Lovely, lovely words and the photos are a perfect compliment!

  9. eof737 says:

    It’s been raining here too… 😉

Leave a Reply

