Oh, Black Kitty

Poor black kitty

With the one good eye

You sit by my back door

And you cry and you cry

I tried to be friendly

I fed you each day

But you bit the hand that fed you

And I ended up with a hospital stay

But still I continue

To feed you each day

I keep thinking you’ll leave

And be on your way

You meet me at the back door

You purr and you rub

But I don’t trust you now

I with hold the love

I do feel sorry for you

You cough and you sneeze

And if I wasn’t afraid you’d bite me again

I’d hold you as you plead

I’d love to pick you up

Give you hugs and a good rub

But for now you must be happy

With a quick pat and some grub

About pegbur7

South of the Mason/Dixon Line
This entry was posted in Just Life, Poetry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Oh, Black Kitty

  1. frizztext says:

    thank you for your poem and photos – heart touching!

    • pegbur7 says:

      Thanks. The little kitty breaks my heart. All it wants is someone to love it and it wants to come inside so badly but with 4 other cats that have all had their shots and with him being aggressive I just can’t chance it. I don’t need to end up in the hospital again and I can’t afford to have my cats beat up!

  2. suzicate says:

    Such a pretty cat, so sad. Maybe eventually you’ll both win over each other’s trust.

    • pegbur7 says:

      It’s funny because D-Kitty has alternately been telling me I HAVE to name him and then IF I name him I HAVE to keep him. He’s kind of confusing me as to what he really wants me to do. I do know that it thrilled him that the kitty rubbed against his leg yesterday. For now he’s just black kitty and I just feel badly that its been so cold at night and he has to stay outside in the freezing weather.

  3. Ron says:

    FLAWLESS poem, Peg!

    And I think it’s so wonderful that you still continue to feed and care for this kitty.

    ((((( You )))))

    You’re the BEST!

    Happy Sunday, dear friend!

    X

    • pegbur7 says:

      Thanks Ron. I just feel so badly for it. It just wants to be loved! If it wasn’t so aggressive to my cats I might consider letting him come in to warm up!

  4. jakesprinter says:

    I love your poem and photography great 🙂

  5. Jen says:

    Poor thing. Isn’t it funny how they know where to go? Animals have a sense of people who won’t hurt them and who’ll take care of them. I hope eventually you become friends enough to get him some shots and a check up poor baby.
    Your a good soul Peg.

    • pegbur7 says:

      I’m going to try to get him to this mobile vet thing they have that does low cost spay/neuter but they only come out our way about once a month so I’m also going to look into our vet maybe agreeing to do it on the cheap since it is a stray. I can hardly afford my own cats shots but he really needs to go to the vet. He’s been wheezing and I feel so badly for him. I just don’t trust him enough to try to pick him up again!

  6. Katie says:

    The humane society or some such organization will lend you a cat trap so you could catch him safely.

  7. terrepruitt says:

    Cute little poem.

    They say cats will stay (or keep coming back) as long as you feed them. Maybe eventually he will trust you and you will trust him again. Maybe even when you two trust each other, you can wear gloves. 🙂

    • pegbur7 says:

      That’s an idea. It kind of scares me though because my neighbor told me today he caught the cat on his back porch and SHOT at it but missed it. Hope my cats don’t get his gander up!

  8. Angelia Sims says:

    Awhh…..poor fing! I know he didn’t mean to hurt you. Poor little guy has just had a rough life. I know he appreciates the grub.

    • pegbur7 says:

      I feel so badly for him. He is sitting out back on my glider as I type this. He just sits and waits. I fed him about an hour ago and he ate and then jumped up on the glider and took a nap!

Leave a Reply

