Where Are You Going?

poem

Where are you going?

When will you be back?

I don’t know!

Can’t you cut me some slack?

But where are you going?

Who will you see?

I told you I don’t know!

Can’t you just let me be?

But what if something happens?

What if we need you?

Then call me on my phone.

I’ll answer if I want to.

Can’t you tell me anymore?

Like how long you’ll be gone?

I’m really not sure.

But probably not long.

Are you leaving right now?

No time for a hug or kiss?

Yes, I’m leaving right this moment

Or our appointment we will miss.

So out the door, no hug or kiss

Just the sound of the screen door as it slams

Just whams then bams

No thank you ma’ams.

This poem was brought to you by Mama Kat’s Almost World Famous Writer’s Workshop and prompt # 1) Write a poem inspired by the last conversation you had with your child.

About pegbur7

South of the Mason/Dixon Line
This entry was posted in Mama Kat's Writer's Workshop, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Where Are You Going?

  1. Elastamom says:

    Awesome!!!! That pretty much sounds like my last conversation too. 🙂

  2. This has a Dr. Suess feel to it! (And is probably something that will happen in my home in ten years. 🙂

  3. Angelia Sims says:

    This definitely could be a childrens book. Well done! And by the way….where did you go???? 😀

  4. Stacey says:

    I’m glad I am still in the phase where I can insist on knowing where my children are going!

  5. Galit Breen says:

    Oh so well done!

    {Although makes me cringe for what I know is coming!}

  6. Ron says:

    AWESOME poem, Peg!

    LOVED IT!

    And I was actually going to share the same thing as spritekeeper – this has a Dr. Suess feel to it!

    And I ADORE Dr. Suess!

    Have a super Cat in the Hat day – HA!

    X

  7. Katie says:

    This is good Peg. I have a child living at home still. I love it when she tries to parent me!

    • pegbur7 says:

      Isn’t that the best? I know when we get OLD (as in senile) they are supposed to “help out” but I didn’t realize I needed her parenting YET… 🙂

  8. This is so well written! I could totally hear someone saying your words.

  9. christina says:

    oh boy, not looking forward to these convos. 🙂

  10. Gretchen says:

    Love it. And hate it, because I know it’s in my future!

  11. NikNik says:

    I remember those days!

  12. eof737 says:

    So funny and so true! 😉

Leave a Reply

