Walking on Sunshine

This is what my mom calls pneumonia weather.  In fact, just this morning I was talking to her on the phone and we were talking about all the people we know who are sick and she said “Yep, this is pneumonia weather”.  That’s the kind of weather we have been having lately.

This morning I woke up to the weatherman saying it was 19 degrees.  19!!! Monday it was in the 60’s!!!  WTH??? What is going on with our weather?  Is this the result of global warming?  Literally Sunday when we were in East Atlanta at #2’s and we took Rufus for his walk/run you didn’t even need a jacket!  I wore one but about halfway through the walk I wanted to take it off and tie it around my waist.

Not only was it warm, flowers were blooming!  I first noticed the daffodils were budding and then a few feet later there were daffodils that were blooming!  Beautiful, gorgeous sunny yellow daffodils that I’m not used to seeing until the very earliest March!  It was JANUARY 1st!!!

Anyway, that wasn’t the only vegetation we found growing like crazy.  There were pansies and some sort of black eyed Susans (I’m not sure what their actual name was), and cabbage and chard.  Our walk was abundant and teeming with life. Vegetable and critter.  From the squirrels skittering in the trees overhead, to the flowers, and the Rottweilers that were trying to claw their way out of their yard to get to Rufus.

I thought there was only one Rottweiler until I got home and looked at the pictures.

Please enjoy our walk!

There were many towering and impressive pecan trees laden with nuts

Close up of one of the many pecans we picked up. Some we ate along the route.

Something pretty and purple blooming. Not sure what it is but it's pretty!

More pretty purple!

Lovely little daffodils (or as I always called them "buttercups") are blooming already!

Close up of the daffodil (sorry it's blurry)

Not sure what this is but it's sure looking pretty!

Isn't that pink just as pretty as can be?

Some pretty irises

Some beautiful pansies

A flowering purple cabbage?

This little fellow was having a great time

This sign was on the fence surrounding the garden with the cabbage and chard (and the little squirrel)

This cactus was huge!

Gorgeous little pops of lilac

An array of flowers and colors

Isn't he just the cutest little thing?

I think this was chard planted around the base of this birdbath

I'm not sure if this was kale or cabbage or what it was but they had a lot of it.

About pegbur7

South of the Mason/Dixon Line
This entry was posted in Just Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Walking on Sunshine

  1. Angelia Sims says:

    I can’t believe those daffodils. Poor things are confused! Looks like a beautiful day. So glad you are enjoying your camera and taking lots of pics. LOVE THEM!

  2. suzicate says:

    The cacti made me think of Big Mama’s yard. I think everyone of us must have fallen into that thing at one time or another!

  3. Jen says:

    Just the tips of our daffodils are peeking out of the soil at our house, unheard of here in January!.And my pansies are laboring to stay alive during the cold Virginia nights. Everything else is dead as a door-nail as it should be. Crazy isn’t it?

    It’s nuts for January Peg, where like you last week it was sixties and last night it was in the twenties.

  4. NikNik says:

    This weather is killing me! The high on Monday/Tuesday was 34 and it’s been close to 60 yesterday and today! My allergies can’t take this!

  5. Ron says:

    “This morning I woke up to the weatherman saying it was 19 degrees. 19!!! Monday it was in the 60’s!!! WTH??? What is going on with our weather?”

    You said it, Peg! Same here. One day it’s 70….the next day it’s 20. WTH?

    Faaaaabulous photos! Being a squirrel lover, I smiled broadly at those photographs.

    ((((( Squirrels )))))

    Have a glorious SPRING weekend, dear friend. HA!

    X ya!

    • pegbur7 says:

      I knew you’d like the squirrel! BTW your blog didn’t allow me to leave a comment! I especially loved the second one… of the fire escapes? Bellisimo!

  6. terrepruitt says:

    It is difficult to know what to wear because everyday it is different. It is all about the layers.

    Such a gorgeous walk you were on.

    Sunday my hubby and I went for a walk and I thought about you so I took my camera. There were a few flowers I would have like to take a pictures of, but I felt funny leaning over the bushes in people’s yards. 🙂

    I took a few of some decorations.

    I enjoyed your walk!

    • pegbur7 says:

      Thanks Terre!v I understand how you feel. I was waiting for someone to come out and yell at me!

      As for the layer thing? I left the house this morning wearing a short sleeve shirt, a jacket and a coat to top it off because it was so cold. A few hours later I came back wearing just the short sleeves! Go figure…

  7. Katie says:

    We won’t have color like that until maybe April. that is why I like it out here in California, so green after the brown of Missouri.

  8. Look like a beautiful spring day to me. I still have four months to go before it show up here. 😀

  9. eof737 says:

    Perfect name for it… Yep. It is that erratic weather temps that get us all sick… I’m still on the mend. 🙂

Leave a Reply

