Do Better

resolutions

New Year’s resolutions…. It’s a tricky thing.  Do you make them and break them or do you NOT make them and just do your own thing?  That’s the prompt that I chose for this week’s Mama Kat’s Almost World Famous Writer’s Workshop.  I chose prompt #5.) Okay okay I have to ask…what are your New Year’s Resolutions for 2012 and/or how did 2011’s resolutions turn out?

I used to always pretty much make the same resolutions.  Lose weight and end the year skinny.   Well, I haven’t been skinny in ….well, EVER.  I don’t think there was any time in my entire life that I would have been what was considered skinny yet for some insane reason or lack of logic I always thought I could obtain that elusive goal.

Yes, I have lost significant amounts of weight in the past but I always seem to gain it back.  I am always so focused on a number that I lose sight of the goal.  So, this year, I decided I am NOT going to make a resolution, per se’.  Although by NOT making a resolution I am really, by nature, doing that very thing.  I am resolving NOT to make a resolution!  Confused yet?

I “decided” (not resolved) that this year I am simply going to try to do better.  Better than what you may ask?  Anything and everything.  I am going to try, and the operative word IS try, to be a better person.  I will TRY to eat better and maybe the end result will be weight loss but more importantly, hopefully, the end result will be better health.

I will try to exercise more.  I doubt seriously I will do it every day.  I won’t even make that promise to myself because I know I can’t keep it!  BUT… I can try to be better at it than I was last year, or the year before, or the year before that.  I will simply try to make a better effort at it than I have in the past.

I will try to eat better.  I am not going to make a promise that I will follow a specific diet or not eat certain things or that I WILL eat certain things.  I am simply going to try to eat better than I did last year.  I know my record for trying to follow specific diets.  It’s always a broken record.  I will simply try to make healthier choices and if I make unhealthy choices I will try to limit the damage and not make it as bad as it could be.  Like stop at a handful of chips instead of a whole bag!

I will try to kinder and more understanding and not be so judgmental.  That one is both easy and hard.  I don’t think it’s so hard to be kinder.  It’s not hard to smile more at people or be kind to strangers and do nice things whenever possible.  It is hard to be understanding when you don’t understand the why or what for.  It is even harder not to judge people.  Especially when your beliefs and thought processes have been ingrained from childhood, but, just because a thought or belief is ingrained doesn’t mean you can’t change it. It just takes a bit longer.

Being kinder, gentler, more understanding doesn’t cost us a thing.  Well, maybe a smile or two.  The point is that we all have it within our power to make this world a little bit better place.  It’s not something that’s going to change overnight and it’s not going to always be easy.  Change isn’t always in our nature so we may have to take it gradually. Don’t go full force and burn yourself out or fall off the wagon one day and then give up the next because you think you failed.  Simply take it one day at a time, one hour at a time, one minute at a time and do the best you can.  NO, just do BETTER.

About pegbur7

South of the Mason/Dixon Line
This entry was posted in Mama Kat's Writer's Workshop, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Do Better

  1. Angelia Sims says:

    That is a great goal! I know you will get where you want to be at better, but you are already a pretty incredible person. Just ask anyone in your family.

    My resolution was to exercise three times a week. I made something reasonable that (hopefully) I can stick to. 🙂

    • pegbur7 says:

      I’m very proud of you for the progress you have made. Exercising is hard when you haven’t been doing it and the fact that you’ve been sticking to it says a lot!

  2. terrepruitt says:

    I think there is always room for improvement. I have been saying “better” for awhile. I think we can all eat “better”, a more healthful diet. You just took it to many aspects of your life. YAY you!

    Here’s to a “BETTER” 2012! Tee hee!

  3. suzicate says:

    Just doing better…you’ve got it right. We can all do better without settingourselves up for failure like with resolutions.

  4. Galit Breen says:

    “Being Kinder, gentler, and more understanding” – perfection.

  5. I think you’ve got the right idea. Making better choices in everything you do is always the way to go, food or otherwise. I’m with you!

  6. Ron says:

    I ADORE this post, Peg!

    And your final sentence sums up my feelings too….

    ” Simply take it one day at a time, one hour at a time, one minute at a time and do the best you can. NO, just do BETTER.”

    BINGO!

    And you’re right..change isn’t always in our nature, so we have to take it gradually – moment to moment.

    Have a FAB day, dear friend!

    (((( Peg ))))

    X

  7. Katie says:

    “I will try to kinder and more understanding and not be so judgmental.” A truly noble goal that everyone should try. I am going to make that a goal.

  8. I am resolute in my vow not to make resolutions, too! I just don’t have the follow-through. I think in addition to being kinder, you should resolve to be kinder to yourself. It’s obvious you’re a pretty great person.

    • pegbur7 says:

      Thanks! I try! I always see your name on my sister’s blog (SuziCate) but this was the first time I noticed it on Mama Kat’s. Nice to finally “meet” you!

  9. Akelamalu says:

    Like you, my resolution is usually to lose weight and I have actually done that the past two years. Hopefully I will be successful again this year and attain my ideal weight and stay that way, otherwise 2013 will find me making the same resolution I guess LOL

  10. Gretchen says:

    I hear you on all of this. And I do believe that resolving to try, is the first step in making things happen. “Simply take it one day at a time, one hour at a time, one minute at a time and do the best you can.” – very well put.

  11. Better just kind of encompasses it all, right? Just trying to be better in everything works far better than simply stating I’m going to do “this.” We all strive toward betterment; it’s an ongoing challenge rather than a statement proclaimed in early January and lost by mid-March.

  12. eof737 says:

    Nope… don’t do them resolutions anymore either… 🙂

Leave a Reply

