Urban Renewal

Sunday, New Years Day, we went to East Atlanta to eat with #2.  It was a beautiful day out.  The sun was shining and I think it was in the 60’s.  We decided while we were there to take her “son” and our grandpoopie, Rufus, for a walk/run.  She did the running and most of the walking.  I did walking and mostly taking pictures.  Hubby was just along for the walk.

Rufus ready for his run

Rufus absolutely LOVES to run. Good thing #2 is in great shape!

East Atlanta is what I would call a “quirky” area of Atlanta (to put it mildly).  The area is undergoing an urban gentrification of sorts.  But instead of pushing out all the lower class citizens and repopulating it with upper class and upper middle class you can go from old established neighborhoods, to “the hood” in about 5 feet.  Then you throw in the kind of Bohemian, yuppie, hippie vibe and you get a real melting pot of houses and yards, etc.  I actually really like what that area is becoming.

I’m going to divide this into two posts because I got a lot of pictures.  I think today I’m going to do mostly the decorations, Christmas and otherwise that I found around the neighborhood and then later I’ll do the vegetation.

One house still had pumpkins out. Not sure if it was for Halloween or Thanksgiving or what.

I thought these little wood (literal trees) reindeer were adorable.

These little stick trees weren't even a foot tall with the little lights...

A cherub to watch over their home

This yard had about everything imaginable!

I loved this peace sign on the side of the house

I'm not sure what this represents but I thought it was kind of cool

There were many bare trees outside decorated with balls

And another bare tree decorated

A little "garden" of flowers in the midst of winter!

A deer on one side and BIG Christmas balls on the other

Close up of the deer. Very majestic!

Not sure what this represented on the gate but I liked it!

I loved the shape of this "tree" and how the balls hung from it.

Another decorative tree.

I hope you enjoyed our walk through East Atlanta.  Later this week I’ll share all the stuff we found growing and blooming!

About pegbur7

South of the Mason/Dixon Line
This entry was posted in Just Life, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Urban Renewal

  1. That is one walk or run to remember. Love each of the photos. Simple Holiday trimmings yet beautiful and inspiring. Like the tree with balls near a car. Hope that this New Year will be as wonderful as the images of your walk on New Years day….Happy and blessed 2012!

  2. Carol says:

    I’d like to have the deer statue in my yard.

  3. Ron says:

    “Then you throw in the kind of Bohemian, yuppie, hippie vibe and you get a real melting pot of houses and yards, etc. I actually really like what that area is becoming.”

    It sounds WONDERFUL. And my kinda place – Bohemian!

    GREAT shots, Peg!

    LOVE the one of the reindeer. They’re ADORABLE!

    Thanks for sharing, dear friend!

    X

  4. terrepruitt says:

    Oh, I really love those HUGE ornaments that are on the ground. Those are so cool. What were they plastic? I love them. I have never seen those.

    I also like the big ornaments that hung on the tree that you liked the shape of. Cool.

    It is so cute that so many people decorated!

  5. jakesprinter says:

    Amazing shot i love all of it 🙂

  6. Katie says:

    I love the barren trees with decorations on it. I may try that next year.

    • pegbur7 says:

      I thought it really “spiffed up” the area! Don’t you? I’d never thought of that before. And those reindeer look like they’d be really easy to make (but looks CAN be deceiving, right?).

  7. Angelia Sims says:

    This was awesome! Love all the photos. I really like that rounded tree with the big ornaments. So pretty!

Leave a Reply

