Chew Toys

First off, Happy New Year to everyone!  Okay, I might be a day late on that but still…I wish each of you a wondrous and joyful year of 2012 and many thereafter.

I decided to do a little post today on Chorizo’s 2011.  He came to us in the beginning of June of 2011 and I don’t know how I’ve lived without that little booger as aggravating as he can be.

Last night was “one of those nights”.  Apparently when you live out in the country, as we do, it’s customary to ring in the new year with gunfire?  No, it wasn’t firecrackers or fireworks although we heard plenty of that too.

I think I posted previously about how Chorizo hated the wound of the wind howling across the mountain when we were in Blue Ridge?  Well, I guess he hates fireworks and guns too because again he barked ALL NIGHT.  Every few minutes he was jumping up and running to the back door and barking or just running around in circles like a whirling dervish barking his fool head off.  I can only imagine it was the sounds of all the people celebrating the new year.

He has started barking while we are watching television and it’s always when there is a dog barking on whatever show we are watching or if there is a baby crying.  I don’t know why he barks at crying babies but he does.  He’ll run around in circles like he can’t figure out where the noise is coming from and bark.

And he has managed to thoroughly gross me out several times.  Like yesterday evening when Lala came in from being outside several hours and gobbled down a belly full of dried cat food and then promptly threw it up.  Of course before I could grab something to get it up with he was over there gobbling it up!  I can almost understand that because it hadn’t had time to digest because she’d just eaten it. It was just like she’d warmed up his meal for him!  I know… GROSS, but that’s animal’s right?

It’s not as bad as when he grabs the cat’s turds out of the cat box to munch on if I don’t see it first.  Or when he eats his OWN poop.  When you take him outside you have to make sure as soon as he goes you have to jerk his leash so that he doesn’t turn around and eat it.  He has also figured out how to contort his little body while he pees and can almost urinate into his own mouth!  Pretty gross but you have to give him props… it’s also pretty impressive!

The absolute worst was the other day I brought him in from outside and had just settled down to my computer and started writing when I hear him gagging and heaving in the hallway where it was kind of dark.  I grabbed a paper towel and ran in there to clean it up and he’s in there eating it.  I can see that it’s dark and can’t figure out what it is… at first.  Then I realize that he’s previously eaten his poop, thrown it up and then is eating it again!  Yes, I was THOROUGHLY disgusted.

I think even worse than that was when he ate a dryer sheet and a day or so later I saw him on the sofa chewing on what looked like a brown piece of cloth so I grabbed it with my hand to throw it away so he wouldn’t eat it.  It wasn’t until it was in my hand that I realized it was the dryer sheet that he had previously eaten…pretty much still intact but just a little worse for the wear from its journey through his digestive system and out of his butt, which he was then trying to eat again!  And I was so appalled that I actually was holding it in my hand but couldn’t drop it because he’d eat it again.  I think I’m gonna have to just start wearing latex gloves around all the time!

The other day I found him on the sofa chewing what looked like bits of rubber and I couldn’t for the life of me figure out what he had or where he’d gotten it.  Can you figure out what it is?  This is what it looked like:

What the heck WAS that?

Yeah, it USED to be his tennis ball.

I’ve gotten several suggestions on what to do to make it smell bad enough that he won’t eat it but honestly?  I think the worse something smells, the more determined he is to eat it!

I wanted to leave you with a few photos of his chewing treasures because he will chew on and or eat anything he can get his little mouth on.  It’s not like he doesn’t get toys. We buy him toys all the time. He just likes OUR stuff as his toys.   Enjoy his path of destruction!

I guess Chorizo likes zombies too. Case to The Walking Dead - same day we got it in the mail!

This used to be a pants hanger complete with the hook things on the ends. It no longer even has ends! or the hook to hang on the pole.

Remember my Monkey sock slippers?

Well, now it's Monkey Sock Slipper...singular... he completely chewed the other one up.

I guess he just likes horror suspense type media? He also chewed #3's Chuck Palianuk book.

This used to be another slipper. That WAS the bottom. He ate it off.

This is a habit he really needs to kick!

This used to be his nerf football. Yes, that's the stuffing that he pulled out of it.

He chewed up his wooden "toy basket" so I got him a plastic one... bad move!

He's branching out. He apparently likes GLEE too. I guess I turned him into a Gleek too!

Even boxes don't stand a chance!

But how are you gonna stay mad at THAT?

About pegbur7

South of the Mason/Dixon Line
This entry was posted in Just Life, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Chew Toys

  1. Angelia Sims says:

    How in the world does that little thing cause so much damage? My gosh! What a Tasmanian Devil! I guess you can’t stay mad at those precious puppy eyes. But still, oh gee, how gross!! :-/

  2. Don’t train it to be your household chef.

  3. Carol says:

    Good thing he’s not very tall. Maybe he’ll grow out of it? One can hope. In the meantime, I wish you buckets of patience.

    • pegbur7 says:

      Thanks Carol! Buckets of patience is what I need! Unfortunately, he’s not very tall but he’s LONG so when he stands on his hind legs it’s amazing what he can reach!

  4. Katie says:

    This was my first year with our Corgi Gwennie, She did get better,once she got too heavy to jump up on furniture, to get all the goodies. Nothing can be left on the floor. She is now in the habit of snatching kleenix out of the tranh and chewing it to bits. Ugh!

  5. suzicate says:

    I don’t know…all that grossness and destruction…remind me to Chorizo-proof the house (hide my books ect…) when you come and not to let him lick me!!!!

    • pegbur7 says:

      I know. He was so distracted by Wylie that I think it helped! I wonder if I got another dog if he’d start behaving? My luck I’d end up with two gross destroyers!

  6. Ron says:

    Oh no!!!!! Not the monkey sock slippers?!?!?!?!?!

    HA!

    Btw, I still have he pair you sent me last year, and I can’t wait until it gets cold enough for me to wear them!

    “It’s not as bad as when he grabs the cat’s turds out of the cat box to munch on if I don’t see it first. Or when he eats his OWN poop.”

    Bwhahahahahhahahaha! HILARIOUS!!!!

    Great photos!

    And you’re right…..how can you stay made at that CUTE little face!

    Happy Monday, dear friend! Enjoy your week!

    X

    • pegbur7 says:

      Yes…he got the monkey sock slippers and three other pairs. I only have one pair of slippers left and I have hidden them so well that I can’t find them!

  7. Reminds me of a Bill Engvall skit where he had to get something from the vet to make the dog’s “turds taste bad”. I’m just as puzzled as he was about to how much sense that makes.

  8. Northern Narratives says:

    Wow, maybe he needs some really big chew toys to keep him away from your stuff 🙂 He is so cute. I love him.

    • pegbur7 says:

      I actually got him those huge rawhide bones that are almost as big as him and he’s been chewing on it for a long time but he still chews our stuff too.

Leave a Reply

