Bring On 2012!

I already did my year in review by blog post per Mama Kat’s Almost World Famous Writer’s Workshop.  So this is more just a compilation of the year and our lives, not necessarily per favorite blog post.

The biggest thing I wanted to share is that I DID IT!  365 posts for the year.  I reached my goal.  I accomplished what I set out to do in January and that was to post on my blog every single day during 2011!  And it wasn’t easy.  Sometimes it took a lot of planning ahead knowing I wasn’t going to be where there was internet access.  Sometimes it meant setting my blog to post ahead two or three days at a time. Sometimes it meant a quick run to McDonalds, Borders, IHOP or Starbucks to use their free WIFI when necessary.

It’s not that I don’t have a lot to say because we all know I suffer from diarrhea of the mouth but the “obstacles” that kept creeping up made me think several times that I wasn’t going to make it.  But I made a commitment and I like to keep my commitments. Not doing so makes me feel like a liar somehow and I don’t like that feeling.  I know that hardly anyone else would have even noticed but I would have noticed.  I knew what I said I was going to do so I did everything in my power to keep to my word.

I have been blogging for not quite 2 years.  I believe the 12th of January will be two years and as of today I have 714 posts.  That means that the first year when I started on January 12 I still posted 349 times which means I missed less than a week that year.  Maybe I should change the name of my blog to “the run off at the mouth woman”?  Or “She Talks Too Much”.

It helped that I participated in the Weekly Photo Challenge most every week and I also participated in Wordless Wednesday almost every week so that most weeks I was only actually having to come up with actual WORD posts 5 or 6 times a week.  That gave me a break.  What’s in store this year?  I have NO clue.  I guess I’ll just wing it and see where it takes me.

This past year had some great moments and it had some horrible moments and it had some serendipitous moments. And it above all solidified my thinking that everything happens for a reason.

I still haven’t gotten a job.  Hubby says I’m “retired”.  I say I’m underemployed.  I have kind of quit actively looking for a job but if the right opportunity fell in my lap I can’t say I’d turn it down.  It hasn’t been easy with only him working but we’ve tried to kind of tighten out belt and ride it out.

The year found us buying a new car (well, new to us) that we hadn’t planned on but the opportunity arose and it was a deal we couldn’t pass up.  It’s a good thing that things fell into place because with my brother getting sick, I wouldn’t have been able to make the trip to Virginia and pretty much spend the better part of two months up there if we hadn’t gotten that car…see?  EVERYTHING HAPPENS FOR A REASON.

If I had been working I would not have been able to spend the better part of two months in Virginia trying to help out my brother and his family because I wouldn’t have been able to take that much time off of work.  Again… EVERYTHING HAPPENS FOR A REASON.

It was tight but we made it and I wouldn’t trade that time I got to spend with my brother for anything.  We ended up making several trips to Virginia this past year.  Like I said, I was there off and on for 2 months (from mid February to mid April) and spent a lot of time with my parents too and I got to go see my baby sister at her house not once but TWICE.  We also went up in May to participate with my family in Relay For Life for the American Cancer Society and we to be part of our family team that was called “Cousins For A Cure”.  There were about 25 of us walking.  It was lots of my cousins, hubby and #3, me, and all three of my sisters ended up walking at some point or another and Dirtman and T (brothers in law) too.  And my dad walked the survivors lap (as did one of my sisters) and my mom got to walk the caregivers lap (well, my sister walked for her) and we got to spend quality family time together.

Then we were back up in July for the Celebration of Life to honor my brother Monte.  Again, the outpouring of love and the quality time we got to spend with family was amazing.  Lots of food and family and of course a Budweiser toast for Uncle Monkey!  I ended up staying an extra few days to spend with my sister in law and then stayed a day or so with SuziCate and Dirtman which was awesome.

Then hubby and I went back up in October for another whirlwind trip.  We spent a couple of nights with my parents, stayed a night with my cousin and a couple of nights with SuziCate and Dirtman before heading back to Atlanta.

In between all those trips we also managed to make a trip or two to my beloved Savannah, and I got to make a day trip to Baltimore while I was in Virginia and we also managed to make it to Orlando for a couple of days and had a wonderful day at SeaWorld.  Not to mention our wonderful anniversary trip to the mountain cabin (even if the driveway was paved in hell!).

Our youngest moved back home and is going back and I started classes myself this past month!  I know…. 53 years old and a college student!  Go figure!

Two of our cats disappeared but we adopted a new puppy (Chorizo – technically our grandpuppy, but we will see how that ends up).  He is quite a handful and I never thought I’d ever want a dog again but I have to admit that even though at times he IS the Tasmanian Devil Dog… I am smitten and can’t imagine our lives without him.

So even though the year had some horrible moments and had its challenges, there were moments of beauty and joy.  I miss my brother terribly but at least I know he is no longer suffering and he WAS suffering.  We lost a few other family members and loved ones throughout the year and we also added a few to the mix.

Love prevails and life goes on.  All we can do is be the best we can be and live life to the fullest and be kind and gentle to one another because we have to remember that everyone is going through something.  It doesn’t hurt to smile and toss a few kind words someone’s way.  It won’t cost you a penny but the riches it brings to the other person’s life could be beyond measure.

Here’s hoping 2012 is kind and gentle to us all.  Happy New Year!

About pegbur7

South of the Mason/Dixon Line
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Bring On 2012!

  1. Angelia Sims says:

    You did it! Knew you would. I am so proud of you. You have had a very difficult journey, but you still kept your commitment. So glad we met in this blog world. You are a treasure and in sending hugs across the miles. What a year! Happy 2012. 🙂

  2. Dianna says:

    Congrats on making the 365. I’m not sure when I started posting everyday – at first it was just occasionally, and then Monday-Friday.
    I’m wishing you a Happy 2012 – glad we “met” this year!

  3. Jen says:

    Wow 365 posts that is some commitment! I post a lot but that is an amazing accomplishment.

    Something I could never do.

    Can’t wait to see what you have in store for us to read in 2012.
    Happy New Year!

  4. Carol says:

    You have honored your commitment well – congratulations! I wish you a new year filled with enough.

  5. Ron says:

    Yaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay! You did it, Peg!

    Woot! Woot! Woot!

    A HUGE CONGRATS!!!!!!!!!

    ” 365 posts for the year.” WOW! I honestly don’t think I could have done that.

    I loved how you said this…..

    “This past year had some great moments and it had some horrible moments and it had some serendipitous moments. And it above all solidified my thinking that everything happens for a reason.”

    Everything happens for a reason.

    I agree!

    And I also love how you said this……

    “It doesn’t hurt to smile and toss a few kind words someone’s way. It won’t cost you a penny but the riches it brings to the other person’s life could be beyond measure.”

    Thank you for your presence here in blogland. You make a sweeter place!

    HAPPY NEW YEAR, DEAR FRIEND! I look forward to sharing 2012 with you!

    ((((( Peg )))))

    Cheers and much X!

    P.S. It was soooooooo GREAT talking to you last night! And thanks again!

  6. suzicate says:

    AWESOME AWESOME AWESOME!!!!!!! I knew you could do it!
    Here’s to a year of wonderful new beginings! Love you!

  7. 365 days? It is a huge accomplishment, Peg! You should be incredibly proud.

    And as for that “underemployed” thing, um… yes indeed. (Who says we’ve hit a recovery???)

    Oh, but we can always find joys, can’t we? And lessons learned and new friendships begun.

    Wishing you and yours a safe, satisfying, happy and healthy 2012.

    • pegbur7 says:

      Thanks BLW…I feel the same way about the “recovery” thing. I guess it’s a matter of perspective and what they are talking about recovering cause I sure don’t see the economy bouncing back they way they say it is!

  8. terrepruitt says:

    Yay you! Whenever I have a difficult time posting – I only post three times a week – I think about people that post every day and I just can’t imagine. Congrats to you. I know it was not easy so that makes the accomplishment that much sweeter!

    I am thinking about my first post of the year and even though it will be on the third day I think it will be about what I wanted to compliment you on here. I think it is awesome that you say that there were bad moments in the year. You don’t blame the entire year on being a “BAD” year. That is so awesome. Yay you.

    Congrats on meeting your blogging everyday goal. Congrats on your 30 years of marriage. Congrats on your wonderful daughters. Congrats on the Relay you participated in. Congrats on all the little trips you were able to take. Congrats on focusing on the good while still acknowledging sad parts!

    Here’s to your 2012!

    • pegbur7 says:

      Awww…. thanks Terre. I try to focus on the good parts. I know there were bad and sad parts but all in all…. I’m still here and that’s GREAT! I have a wonderful family and friends and for the most part, my health. I have a roof over my head and food on the table and a husband who loves me so I really can’t complain. It wouldn’t seem fair to anyway with all the more unfortunate people around! I have to take joy in the little things and great. And your friendship is one of the many things I can be grateful for. Thank you Terre for being there and being my loyal friend.

      • terrepruitt says:

        Exactly. But you would be surprised. It is as I think you once posted about, and I might have commented about, or posted about . . . . or . . . it all kind of gets blurred together . . . but anyway . . . there are sad/bad moments, but that does not mean the WHOLE day or year was bad. I have to many blessings to “condemn” a day much less a year.

        Thank you too, for being my friend! Happy New Year!

      • terrepruitt says:

        I meant you would be surprised by how some people complain.

        But maybe not because you have probably heard people like that.

        🙂

      • pegbur7 says:

        Yes, I know my share of “negative nellies”.

  9. Northern Narratives says:

    Happy New Year!!!

  10. eof737 says:

    ♥HAPPY NEW YEAR :-)! You did an awesome job. Kudos!

Leave a Reply

