Year in Review

Mama Kat’s time again.  Last one this year.  I chose prompt #1.) This year in blog posts…choose a favorite post from each month of 2011 and share.Bear with me.  Feel free to browse and read any of them you want but I won’t blame you if you don’t go read them all because that would take a long time. You can either click on the highlighted words or highlight and paste the URL in case the highlighted words don’t work.  So here goes nothing!
 
Starting in January of 2011, my favorite post from January (https://pegbur7.wordpress.com/2011/01/27/miracles-on-fb-street/) which also happened to also be one of Mama Kat’s Writer’s Workshop posts.  Looking back it is even more poignant because at the time I wrote the post about my brother reconnecting with his long lost daughter, none of us knew yet that he was sick nor that less than 3 months later we’d lose my brother.  It means even more to me now than it did when I wrote it.
 
My favorite post from February  (https://pegbur7.wordpress.com/2011/02/26/praying-for-monkeys/)  was also about my brother.  I titled it Praying For Monkeys because my kids all called my brother Uncle Monkey.  I bought him some pajama bottoms while he was in the hospital with those “monkey sock” faces and they became his favorite bottoms.  He wore them more than any others after he got sick. In fact, he was wearing them when he died.  Again, it means a lot more now looking back after the fact.
 
My favorite March blog post was title Inspiration (https://pegbur7.wordpress.com/2011/03/11/inspiration/)  where we were supposed to write about someone who inspired us.   I wrote about my brother’s daughter, Brenda, who has been battling breast cancer for the last 4 years.  She is still hanging in there even though the doctors have told her and her husband that they have done everything they can and have stopped all treatment and are pretty much just waiting to see what happens and keeping her comfortable. So if you can send up an extra prayer for her and her family, it would be greatly appreciated.
 
April was a very hard month for me.  My brother lost his battle with cancer and for a while I felt the bottom dropped out of my world. In case you couldn’t tell, a lot of my posts the first few months of the year revolved around my brother and his family. My favorite April post was a tribute to my brother and his life (https://pegbur7.wordpress.com/2011/04/23/a-fitting-tribute/)  Even if you don’t read the post, please take the time to watch the wonderful video tribute my brother in law Dirtman put together for my brother’s funeral.  Be warned… even if you never met him you may want to have a tissue handy. It’s very beautiful.
 
My favorite post for May was (https://pegbur7.wordpress.com/2011/05/31/bearly-waiting/) a Spin Cycle topic of waiting.  I wrote about our experience of waiting on the bear at my mom and dad’s when we went up to Virginia for Relay for Life.  IF you haven’t read it, I think you’ll enjoy it.
 
June’s post that I guess I’m most proud of was a very cathartic post which happened to be another Mama Kat’s (https://pegbur7.wordpress.com/2010/06/30/the-man-she-wished-shed-never-met/) in which we were to write a poem about an experience we wished we could forget.  As hard as it was for me to write, I think it helped me let go some.
 
My favorite July post was once again one of the Mama Kat’s workshop posts where we were supposed to write a post where both the first and last sentence of the post contained the word “Boss” (https://pegbur7.wordpress.com/2011/07/28/youre-not-the-boss/) and I wrote about how my little sister got me the beating of my life because she didn’t think I was her boss.  If you haven’t read it I think you might enjoy  it and I was writing about my lovely sister and fellow blogger SuziCate from The Water Witch’s Daughter.
August brought me to write a post about race relations  (https://pegbur7.wordpress.com/2011/08/25/same-as-us/) when I was growing up in the 60’s and 70’s and how our family handled it or rather didn’t.  It was again a Writer’s Workshop prompt in which we were supposed to begin and end our post with the same sentence.September I had two posts back to back that I had a hard time choosing between.  One was a prompt from (wait for it) Mama Kat’s (does that seem to be a theme) about a memorable fishing trip (https://pegbur7.wordpress.com/2011/09/29/gone-fishing/) and I wrote about one I took my brother on.   The other was written the same week in response to a Spin Cycle theme on family tradition (https://pegbur7.wordpress.com/2011/09/26/sundays-at-the-old-home-place/).October was when our hometown hero Lance Corporal Scott “Boots” Harper (https://pegbur7.wordpress.com/2011/10/22/these-boots/)  who was killed in Afghanistan  was brought home to Douglas County and I wrote about how such a tragedy seemed to bring our whole community together.   If you can’t read the whole thing, please at least watch the very moving video at the end.  Grab your tissues.  Once again, thank you Boots!  Your service to our country and community was unblemished and you gave your all literally and we are eternally grateful to you and your family for your sacrifice.November found me writing a lot about our crazy chiweenie Chorizo’s escapades but I think the most tiring but still most stirring was when he took off in Virginia and gave me a run for my money (https://pegbur7.wordpress.com/2011/11/04/the-long-and-winding-road/) whether I  wanted it or not!And this month?  It has to be my open letter  to my hubby (https://pegbur7.wordpress.com/2011/12/05/the-first-30/)on our 30th anniversary.  Thank you baby. You are the greatest!

Hope you guys get a chance to peruse back through some of them if you haven’t read them.  I enjoyed writing them all and I so appreciate the friendship and love I feel from each of you.  Without you, there’d really be no reason for me to continue writing.

About pegbur7

South of the Mason/Dixon Line
This entry was posted in Mama Kat's Writer's Workshop, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Year in Review

  1. Angelia Sims says:

    It’s funny that most of your posts were from MamaKat’s and this is a Mamakat’s top! 🙂

    A lot of mine were from the wordpress weekly photo challenges. It makes me realize, I need to make sure and participate in those. Seems to spark some creativity for me.

    You are fabulous! So glad to be part of your blogging family. 🙂

    • pegbur7 says:

      I know after about the 3rd Mama Kat’s I started seeing the pattern. I enjoy it because it pushes me past my comfort zone sometimes and like you said…it seems to spark my creativity. Thanks for letting ME be part of your blogging family!

  2. terrepruitt says:

    Angelia said the WordPress challenges seems to sparkk some creativity in her and it seems as if the Mama Kat helps you write about things that you might not write about on your own. These tools are awesome.

    I like the idea of “year-in-review”. Angelia did it in pictures and you in posts. Hmmmm? What will I do?

    Nice to have read the original posts of the favorites you have chose. Happy New Year to you, Peg. Here’s to another year!

  3. eof737 says:

    Thanks for the reminder! I will go look at my email from Mamakat and choose a post for this week. 🙂

  4. Katie says:

    Feel free to link up to my 2011 Year-in-Review party here: http://theterpblog.blogspot.com/2011/12/2011-looking-back.html

    Thanks!

  5. Such tragedy and yet your hope is contagious and your posts are inspirational. Here’s to a wonderful new year!

  6. Jen says:

    The first post I read was about the bear,ya gotta love it! I sympathize since I too live in rural Virginia!

    I’d also like to mention too how sorry I am about your brother, what a terrible loss for you and your whole family.

    Your June post was SO very moving it had the hair on my arms and neck standing on end. WOW!

    • pegbur7 says:

      Thank you so much Jen! What part of Virginia do you live in? I live outside Atlanta now which is a whole nother kind of zoo! You have a whole different set of wildlife to deal with. LOL

  7. I remember most if not all of these posts just by the summary alone, and I also remember how I cried and laughed through them. Thanks for the memories and I’m hoping for a wonderful new year for you and your family!

  8. Ron says:

    What a GREAT year in review, Peg!

    And yes, I enjoyed reading every SINGLE one of them this year!

    “I so appreciate the friendship and love I feel from each of you. Without you, there’d really be no reason for me to continue writing.”

    Amen!

    And thank YOU for being in my life. It’s been a total joy and pleasure meeting you IN PERSON!

    I look forward to sharing the next year with you, both online and off.

    X ya, dear friend!

    ((((( Peg )))))

    Cheers to a Happy New Year!

  9. Katie says:

    I have been following you for almost a year, I did go back and read some of the early months, when I found you. So I have read you most all of 2011. Here is to 2012.

  10. Lisa says:

    What a challenging prompt! I really would make you seriously look at your year and I can’t imaging the time involved in selecting each month’s post. I remember many of these. 🙂 Wonderfully done.

    • pegbur7 says:

      Thanks Lisa. I know.. I picked that prompt because I thought it would be easy! HA!!! It was very time intensive but going back through each month made me think about a lot of stuff!

  11. Sounds like a great year for you 🙂 Happy New Year!

    • pegbur7 says:

      It had it’s good moments and it had it’s awful moments but we survive and just keep putting one foot in front of the other! Happy new year to you too! Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

