Holiday Traditions

I hope everyone had a wonderful Christmas holiday.  We had a wonderfully low key day at our house.  We long ago started what we consider a tradition on the holidays of going to the movies.  So hubby and I went to see The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo.  We both thought it was a great movie.  Neither of us had read the book so I have no clue how closely it followed the book but I can tell you that if you haven’t read the book you can still make sense of the movie.

Here’s a link for a trailer to the movie (it goes to the movie’s website): http://www.dragontattoo.com/site/ When it loads click on the little icon in the middle of the top of the screen and choose trailer or you can also watch the teaser there too.

It was rather fast paced I thought because it is apparently almost 3 hours long and we had no idea how long it was and when we left the theatre it didn’t seem like we’d been in there for over three hours. It started at 11:10 and we didn’t get out until almost 2:30.  Nothing is worse than a long movie that DRAGS…. This one definitely didn’t drag.

Lots of action but also lots of nudity and sexual situations and violence and profanity so I definitely would NOT take a young teen or child to see it. I don’t even know what it is rated but I’m sure it’s probably R.

When our kids were little we would sometimes see two or three movies on Thanksgiving and Christmas.  If we saw 3 we’d let them decide on 2 and we’d pick one.  Funny thing but as they got older the opposite of what I thought would happen, happened.  I would think for the most part that when kids are little they have shorter attention spans but no, not ours.  As they got older their attention span got shorter. Or maybe just their penchant for spending all day in a movie theater with their parents waned. And as we got older it seemed harder and harder to sit through two movies as our backs would really start hurting by about 1/3 of the way through the second movie.

When they were really young we didn’t really have a good theater in our town so we had to pack up the kids and drive about 30 minutes to the nearest multiplex that had like 6 or 8 screens.  Now we have probably 4 or 5 10+ screen multiplexes within a half hours drive.

We had it down to a science of which  movie would let out about the time the next one we wanted to see started and we’d go from one theatre to the other.  And yes, we paid for each movie unlike some people we knew who would buy one ticket and then sneak into the other movies.  My conscience  wouldn’t let me do that.

Back then, the theater that we went to had free refills on soda and popcorn if you bought the large size so we’d definitely get out money’s worth in refills. You also didn’t have to take out a second mortgage to pay for the tickets and concessions.  And back then there were a lot more “matinee” hours.  Now you’re lucky if the theater has ONE showing that’s considered matinee.  Seriously the ticket prices are insane nowadays!  Hubby and I went to an IMAX 3D film a couple of months back and it was like $50 for 2 tickets and that wasn’t EVEN counting in popcorn and soda!

After our all day movie binges, if the kids weren’t filled up on soda and popcorn, we’d go to the only place that was usually open to eat…Waffle House…or as my friend calls it “The Benihana for poor people”.  Once or twice we actually found a Chinese restaurant open and ate there. It was a big tradition for us.

The theaters would mostly be empty.  You might see a couple more families or couples there but that was it. This Christmas?  We went to the very first showing (like 11:00 AM) and the parking lot had a TON of cars already and it’s an 18 screen multiplex and by the time the movie started our movie was about half full!  I guess other people decided that by lunch time they are sick of family time and wanted to go see a movie?  I’m not sure but I was shocked at how many people were there.

Afterwards we got to go to one our most favorite places to eat, Blue Agave’.  I had seen on Facebook that they were going to be open and we were surprised at how many people were there, too.  By the time our movie ended it was about 2:30 and the restaurant was probably about half full before we left. I did get to have a small margarita which I missed last week when I had to go spend the night in the hospital!  We were home by about 4 p.m. and I’m almost embarrassed to say we put on our pajamas and watched TV in bed almost the rest of the evening!  Hubby said we were turning into my parents!  I guess there are worse things that could happen!

About pegbur7

South of the Mason/Dixon Line
This entry was posted in Just Life, Restaurants & Reviews, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Holiday Traditions

  1. terrepruitt says:

    We watched a movie at home. It is a two hour movie and it took us about 4 to watch it. Ha! We stopped it a lot. Glad you had a nice day!

  2. Family traditions are very important. It helps us enjoy what Christmas is all about. You have a beautiful and generous family Christmas tradition. Just an inspiration to us all. For my family, my son opened his presents that Santa gave him and his parents of course. Then had a warm breakfast. Everyday we try to make new Christmas memories for as long as we can. Times to fast.
    Happy New Year. May blessings of love , joy and peace be with you and your family for always…

  3. Ron says:

    “We long ago started what we consider a tradition on the holidays of going to the movies. ”

    Peg, I think that’s an AWESOME tradition! And I bet it’s wonderful to sit in in a movie theater on Christmas day and have the whole theater to yourself!

    I’ve not seen The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo, but I heard from MANY people that it’s a GREAT film. I need to see if I can get a previously viewed copy at F.Y.E. and just buy it. I have off today, so I may just do that.

    My cordless phone just died, so I also need to shop for a new one today.

    Glad you had a great Christmas day, dear friend!

    X

    • pegbur7 says:

      I think that only the Swedish version (with subtitles) is available on DVD yet. The one in the theaters just came out like Christmas day. Besides…Daniel Craig makes it so worth seeing that version! 😉

      Have a wonderful day!

  4. Gretchen says:

    What a fun idea! My best friend and I used to go see several movies in a day when we were in high school. We used to try to plan them carefully – we’d do all the comedies in one day, then all the dramas. I particularly remember a day when we watched The Blues Brothers and Caddyshack back to back!

    • pegbur7 says:

      Those two sound cool together. We usually tried to mix it up and have maybe a kid’s movie, an action and comedy (before we got old and can’t sit that long anymore!)

  5. Angelia Sims says:

    That is a WONDERFUL tradition. It sounds much better than some of the crazy family gatherings. HA.

    Jason and I saw Mission Impossible:Ghost Protocol. I LOVED it. I was (literally) on the edge of my seat through most of it. My gosh! So intense!

    I would probably like the movie you saw too. I haven’t read the book either.

    And we also always go to IHOP Christmas Eve. LOL.

    I guess we are old too. 😀

    • pegbur7 says:

      It was a toss up for what to see because there were several we wanted to see. The timing ended up the bigget factor. I thought it was great but definitely NOT for kids!

  6. Sunshine says:

    The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo trilogy are great books! It was one you didn’t want it to end and wouldn’t you know it, the author passed away shortly after he completed the books. Arrgh!
    I saw the original movie with the English subtitles and it followed the book pretty well. Looking forward to this new one~
    enjoyed your story about your past…:)

    • pegbur7 says:

      I really enjoyed the movie. My daughter said I should skip reading the first book and then just read the next two but to me that almost feels like going to a party half dressed!

  7. Sunshine says:

    Oops, meant to thank you too for the Follow. I appreciate the gift!

  8. Katie says:

    When I was young we had double features. So we always saw 2 movies. I could not sit thru 2 back to back now. It sounds like a great family tradition.

  9. eof737 says:

    We go to the movies on special holidays too… This time we saw The Adventures of TinTin; a Steven Spielberg movie. It was quite entertaining and uplifting. 🙂

    • pegbur7 says:

      I have heard of that but there were so many this year we wanted to see and I knew our backs were not gonna last through two movies. We must be etting old! 😉

Leave a Reply

