Mad About Men

Does anyone else get fixated on TV shows or is it just me?  Up until about a week ago I had never seen the first episode of Mad Men.  In the last week we have seen 2 and ¾ seasons.  That’s 33 episodes ….almost 33 hours!  Yes, I am obsessed.

from file

My new obsession

Last summer someone gave hubby the first season of Mad Men as a birthday gift.  We hadn’t gotten around to watching a single episode.  Everyone kept telling us how good it was and I saw how at awards show time they were racking up on awards but I had just never gotten into it.

Truth be known, I didn’t want to get sucked into another television series.  I mean geez… our DVR is already almost full all the time with stuff we’ve got saved on there and I just really don’t have time or the extra brain cells to devote to getting all emotionally involved with another whole cast of fictional characters! But I think a few of my favorite (or used to be favorite) shows have either recently come to an end or are going to in the next few months so it looks like my television viewing time may have opened up a little.

I have been watching Desperate Housewives since its inception.  I agree that it may have gone downhill in the last few years as it’s been winding down but I’ve been watching it so long I figured I may as well see it through to the bitter end.  I also heard that Grey’s Anatomy may be ending and Brothers and Sisters ended last season and there are a couple more, so what the heck!

I admit that I wasn’t expecting to get sucked in the way I did (don’t blame me… I think it’s hubby’s fault or I’m gonna blame him anyway!) but I tell you, it’s addictive!  And it brings back a lot of memories of when I was younger and how I always imagined well to do families must have lived.  We definitely were NOT well off but I knew people who were and it was pretty much how I imagined it must have been. I think the acting is smart and so is the writing.

And Don Draper (played by Jon Hamm) is pretty easy on the eyes too!

Like I said, someone gave hubby the first season and we watched almost all of it while we were in the mountains all snuggled and cozy in front of the fire.  Then on the way home from the mountains I remembered that I had gone into Blockbuster the week before looking for season 1 of The Walking Dead and that they had several sets of television series (used) really cheap so I suggested we stop by.  We stopped and I was figuring I could probably get each season for about $15 or so.  They had each season on sale for $14.99 or 3 for $20…. Yes, you read that right… any three SEASONS of television shows (pre-viewed) for $20!  They didn’t have season 4 (I wasn’t even sure what season they were in now) but I found seasons 2 and 3 and since I was going to get 3 for $20 I picked up the first season of GLEE (another of my guilty pleasures… I’ve turned all my kids into Gleeks too!).

Then I found out there WAS a season 4 so we started looking around and found it at Best Buy for $25 and I had a “rewards” coupon for $5 which brought it down to $20 and then hubby ran into a guy we know that works there while he was picking it up so the guy gave him his employee discount which knocked it down another $8 or so.  We ended up getting all four seasons for less than what you’d buy one season for at regular price!  SCORE!  I always love getting a bargain. It makes watching it that much sweeter!

On the other side of the coin, we are only 15 hours away from being caught up and don’t know when the new season starts so we’ll be having MAD withdrawals!  Hope we don’t go into detox with all the drinking they do on that show it may drive me to the bottle waiting for the new season to start!

About pegbur7

South of the Mason/Dixon Line
This entry was posted in Just Life, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Mad About Men

  1. suzicate says:

    Ha, your obsession is like mine with How I Met Your Mother! I am now up to Season Five, Episode 10. Netflix has six seasons, so I have I guess about forty shows to go! I’m just making up for lost time since I usually do not watch hardly any television.

  2. NikNik says:

    I cannot wait for the next season of Madmen! I have been watching Raising Hope the past few week and I love it!

    • pegbur7 says:

      I love that show too. Dad and I are getting ready to start Season 4 of Madmen and then we will be all caught up and ready for the new season. Oh, and I just ordered the first season of the Walking Dead. Are they in Season 3 now?

  3. We did the same as you! We rented all 4 seasons from the local library and just watched them start to finish over a couple of weeks. Once we finished it was like something was missing. We are currently loving Bones being back and are waiting for Hawaii 5.0. 🙂 xx

    • pegbur7 says:

      We are through season 3 so we have one more to go to catch up. I have no clue when season 5 starts though! I’ve seen Bones a few times and I tried to watch Hawaii 5-0 but just couldn’t get into it.

  4. Angelia Sims says:

    We ordered HBO so I could watch Game of Thrones series. I watched them all on demand after we ordered it. I read all the books and they did a great job on HBO. Next series starts in April. My tv guilty pleasure right now is Hawaii Five-O. I think Alex O’Loughlin is gorgeous!!

Leave a Reply

