The First 30

First dance as husband and wife

Today is our 30th anniversary and I wanted to take the time to write a letter to my wonderful husband.  I just wanted everyone else to know just how wonderful he is!

Dear Hubby,

I just wanted to take the time to publicly acknowledge to you and everyone else just how much I love you.  Today we have been married 30 years.  30 YEARS!!!! Never in my wildest dreams did I ever think I could find someone I could love enough that I would WANT to spend 30 years with.  Much less someone who would put up with ME for 30 years!!

You are my love and my life and my world.  Yes, we’ve had our ups and downs but the ups far outweigh the downs.  You have no clue just how much you mean to me. When I say you are my life, I truly mean that.   I know that no matter what happens or what life throws at us, as long as we stick together and continue to support one another we can weather any storm.

I know sometimes I have disappointed you and I have said and done things that I shouldn’t have but that doesn’t meant that I love you any less and I am so grateful that you put up with me and continue to put up my moodiness and all my shenanigans.  I love the fact that you have continued to not only put up with my family and all their drama but to embrace them and love them as your own.  I know when I hurt, you hurt and you have stood right by my side no matter what.  My joys have been your joys and my sorrows, your sorrows.  You have helped me through things I know I couldn’t have survived by myself.  You are my rock and my strength, my refuge from the storms of life.

You have given me more riches than I deserve.  I don’t mean monetarily although you have been a wonderful provider.  You have given me the three most wonderful beautiful young women in the world for us to raise together, through thick and thin.  I feel so proud every time I look at them.  They have turned out to be such wonderful people, each in their own right.  They are kind, loving, thoughtful, considerate, hardworking and just beautiful people inside and out and you and I together created those masterpieces.  And masterpieces they are.  They are truly good people and I know we couldn’t have asked for anything more than what we were lovingly handed.  I feel so blessed that we were chosen to be their parents.   I know the reason they turned out so well was because you are their father.

You are such a loving and kind and wonderful man that you couldn’t help but rub off on them.  You give so much more than you ask in return.  You are the kindest and most gentle man that I have ever met and I am so blessed that you saw fit to have me as your wife.  That humbles me beyond belief.  I still remember that one of the very first things your father ever said to me was that we’d never have a thing because you’d give it all away!  He was pretty true in his prediction but that’s not a bad thing.  It truly is better to give than to receive and I surely don’t mind reeling you in some times.  And at times I know you have given until it hurts, but you still continue to give of yourself so unselfishly that sometimes I feel my heart will burst with pride just watching you.

You challenge me to be a better person.  You inspire me to want to do better things and be a better person than I really am.  You honor me with your love and dedication.  I truly don’t deserve you but I am so thankful that you continue to put up with me and love me despite my many faults.

I just wanted to take this time to wish you a happy 30th anniversary and to thank you for being there for me every one of those days despite me being me.  I know I got the better end of that bargain.  Thank you for everything. Thank you for being you and thank you for loving me.  I don’t know what I did to deserve you and your love but whatever it was, I am so grateful for you.

I love you more than you could possibly know.  You are beyond a shadow of a doubt the very best husband I could ever hope for.  From the moment I laid eyes on you and fell head over heels in love with you I have wanted to be by your side.  I knew you were meant for me and I still cherish you and our love.

Your loving wife,

Peg

Definitely brings a smile to my face.

About pegbur7

South of the Mason/Dixon Line
This entry was posted in Just Life, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to The First 30

  1. suzicate says:

    Happy Anniversary. Love you guys! Hope your mini vacay was incredible.

  2. Angelia Sims says:

    So sweet! Happy Anniversary! I hope you have 30 more just like them. 🙂

  3. Ron says:

    HAPPY ANNIVERSARY, Peg!!!!!!!!

    OMG…this was such a TOUCHING letter!

    “You have given me more riches than I deserve. I don’t mean monetarily although you have been a wonderful provider. You have given me the three most wonderful beautiful young women in the world for us to raise together, through thick and thin. I feel so proud every time I look at them.”

    Simply, beautiful!

    Wishing you both another 30 years of LOVE!

    (((((( Peg + Hubby ))))))

    X

  4. I love it! Happy anniversary, you two!

  5. terrepruitt says:

    I am so behind on reading blogs. But I do believe on FB I did wish you a Happy Anniversary in a more timely manner. 🙂

    This is so fabulous. I know how you feel and I love that you wrote it!

    I always get so happy to see people still happy and married. Yay you two!!!!!!

    I’m chair dancing!

  6. Pingback: Year in Review « Square Peg in a Round Hole

Leave a Reply

