Cheaha – Part Two

Isn't that a beautiful old building? It looks like it should have been a church!

I promised yesterday to continue on our photo journey through Cheaha State Park and Talledega National Forest.  I left off just as we arrived at Bunker Tower, the tallest point in all of Alabama! Some of the pictures aren’t as clear as I’d like because the windows were really dirty and hard to see through and not all of them would open.

View from the top of the observation tower

Love the mountains!

I just thought this was cool to take coming down the stairs. Of course I didn't think of it til I was almost halfway down and I wasn't climbing back up there again.

When we were leaving the tower hubby and Chorizo were way in front of me because I stayed at the top taking pictures for a little while.  When hubby got to the bottom there was a   gentleman coming out of the building next door to the tower.  Hubby noticed he was walking to a truck with out of state tags (Missouri I think he said) and asked out of curiosity what he was doing in the building.  I’m surprised he didn’t tell hubby it was none of his business! Anyway, it was a very windy day and I guess since that is the highest point in Alabama the National weather service actually owns that little building next to the tower and he said he drives around the southeast gathering data from the observation stations.

The little observation or information building next door to the tower

I had noticed that there were an awful lot of wires and satellite dishes coming from that building and from the top of the tower to that building.  Now I know why!  And he said he was headed to Georgia (so were we!) because apparently they have a similar observation tower atop Stone Mountain?  I think that would be a pretty job driving to all those elevations gathering information although if it was any more windy or stormy it might not seem so fun!

Even in black and white the view is stunning!

On the way back down a mama deer and her baby loped across the road.  They actually stopped for a moment and looked at us and I was able to get a couple of pics but not as good as I’d have liked to.  When we got almost back to the lodge there was another road coming from our right and a man was walking down. I asked if he had seen the deer and he said he’d seen LOTS of deer.  If it hadn’t already been starting to get dark I would have wanted to go back around again to see if I could see more.

The mama and baby deer getting ready to cross the road

The mama

the baby - He's so cute I just wanted to grab him and hug him!

We decided that we are definitely going to go back and spend the night either in the lodge or one of the cabins.  It is absolutely gorgeous.  Maybe next year in mid to late October would be a good time of year.

View from right beside the lodge

As we were leaving I spotted this colorful foilage on the side of the road.

We also stopped on the way back down the mountain at a scenic overlook to take some pictures.  I’m glad we had decided to eat at McAllisters because that was where we had originally planned to stop and picnic and if we had waited that long to eat I think I would have bitten hubby’s head off before then…. Or eaten Chorizo!

From the scenic overlook on the way back down the mountain

Also from the overlook

All in all it was a gorgeous albeit a tad chilly.  By the time we got home we were both exhausted.  I think it was probably only about 8 p.m. or so but after all the riding and walking and picture taking I felt like it was at least midnight.  Maybe we’re just getting old. I can’t possibly put all the pictures I took on this blog but if you are my friend on Facebook you can go to my page and then pictures/albums and I have two recently added ones called Alabama Parks (duh) which have these plus most of the rest I took that day.  I also have one called Fall 2011 with the pictures I took around Douglasville and Sweetwater Creek State Park the week before.  If you aren’t my friend on Facebook and would like to see the pics, feel free to “friend me”.  Just look for Peggy Burke in Douglasville GA.  I hope you enjoy the pictures!

About pegbur7

South of the Mason/Dixon Line
This entry was posted in Just Life, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Cheaha – Part Two

  1. Angelia Sims says:

    I love all your pictures! Looks like you have that camera figured out. I just want to go there. Your pictures bring it alive. Sooo beautiful. Great, great job with the camera.

  2. Ron says:

    Peg, AMAZING images! You GO, girl!

    Love both the color AND black and white.

    Beautiful view from the right side of the lodge – WOW WHEE!

    The mama and baby dear are so PRECIOUS. I adore deer. It’s incredible that they allowed you to get that close to take their picture!

    Thank so much for sharing your day, dear friend! Thoroughly enjoyed it!

    Have a FAB Tuesday….X

  3. Katie says:

    What beautiful pictures, We were here in Missouri when leaves started changing in Missouri and arrived last week after they had all fallen. I look forward to next year, we want to go east and travel during the fall.

    • pegbur7 says:

      The Blue Ridge Parkway and Skyline Drive are beautiful areas to be at peak season but we usually miss it. I love fall. It’s my favorite season. Thanks for stopping by Katie!

Leave a Reply

