Lovin’ LaMars

A couple of weeks ago hubby bought me my anniversary present early.  He said he had the money and it was burning a hole in his pocket and he knew I wanted to take some fall pictures so we went to Best Buy and he got me the same camera that my sister has that I have been coveting these last few weeks.  It’s a Canon Powershot S230.  Now I just need to borrow my brother in law, Dirtman, for a few weekends so he can teach me how to use it properly!  I wish that we lived closer so I could learn a thing or two from him. Had I known when we were up there that hubby was planning to buy me that camera I would have paid more attention while I was there!

Anyway, we spent one day going to a few places around town here and then last week hubby had to go to Oxford, Alabama because one of the ladies who used to be his assistant manager retired from work and he wanted to take her a retirement gift.  He said “Well, I figured if we were going to Oxford we can go through the Cheaha State Park and you can practice some more with your camera”.  SCORE!

Of course I was all for that but when he mentioned going to Oxford I had something much more pressing on my mind.  That more pressing thing was LaMar’s!  What is Lamar’s you ask?  I’m glad you asked! LaMar’s is an awesome bakery in Oxford that makes the most mouth watering doughnuts I have ever put in my mouth.  Well, any kind of pastry really but their doughnuts will make your tongue slap your brain!

They are actually called LaMar’s Donuts because that is the majority of what they sell.  The one we went to is located at1781 Hamric Drive East, Oxford, AL   36203 and their phone number is 245-832-4353.  And their hours are: Hours: 5:30am – 6:00pm Mon-Fri; 6:00am – 6:00pm Sat; and 7:00am – 3:00pm Sun.  You can even fax your order in and then go pick it up.  Their website is www.lamars.com.

They are a little pricier than Dunkin’ Donuts or Krispy Kreme but I am telling you there is NO comparison. I don’t think I have ever eaten a better donut anywhere.  And their selection is insane.  And they have some that I have never seen anywhere else.  I apologize in advance because I’m going to post some pictures of the ones we bought and I know it’s going to make you hungry.

Yeah, we kept cutting off pieces to sample each one!

We got chocolate glazed and lemon filled but then we got some that were un-freakin-real.  Red Velvet donuts!  Yes, just like it sounds.  It’s a red velvet cake donut with a crème cheese icing and they fill the hole with the icing. Yep, call the cops cause it should be a crime to make something that sinful!

Red velvet indulgence

Look at all that cream cheese icing!

Then we got German Chocolate donuts which are a chocolate cake donut with German Chocolate frosting topped with chocolate drizzle!

German Chocolate donut

And last but not least we got something else called a Snicker John?  It’s a regular type glazed donut that is drizzled with chocolate, caramel and chopped nuts like a snickerdoodle cookie or a Snicker’s Bar.  OMG….you’ll think you died and went to donut heaven!

Snicker John!

They have 27 locations but only one in the south.  BOO!  They have one in Arizona and the majority seem to be in Colorado and Nebraska and Kansas.    They do have franchises so maybe when hubby and I retire we should look into opening a LaMar’s Donuts!

About pegbur7

South of the Mason/Dixon Line
This entry was posted in Restaurants & Reviews and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Lovin’ LaMars

  1. Angelia Sims says:

    None in Texas?? Oh no! After this post, I’m dying to go. Yum!! Great pics!

  2. terrepruitt says:

    So these pictures were taken with your new camera? Do you love it? I know from SC’s posts it has some pretty cool settings. Can’t wait to see your shots of the park.

    • pegbur7 says:

      I do SO love that new camera. I know you’re my friend on Facebook and I posted a BUNCH of pics I took with the camera. I still have learned the settings on the camera and I took almost all of them with the flash on so a lot of them were too light but I edited them in Picasa so I think they were ok. Oh, there are two albums on my FB. One is Fall 2011 I think and the other is Alabama Parks.

  3. I’m glad there are none in Florida or I would be in a lot of trouble..
    Missed you last week!

    • pegbur7 says:

      Ummm…. was that the last one for November. I completely missed it. My computer has been acting weird and freezing up and stuff. I’ll go check it out and maybe still write it! LOL

  4. Ron says:

    “It’s a Canon Powershot S230.”

    OMG, I guy I work with bought one of those last year and LOVES it!

    AWESOME photos, Peg! Love the clarity and crispness.

    And HOLY COW….these donuts look AMAZING!

    I’ll take THREE of the German Chocolate ones. YUM-MY!

    Happy Monday, dear friend! Have a great week!

    X

    • pegbur7 says:

      Thanks Ron! When you get a chance go to my FB page and check out the other shots I took at the parks last week. I am SO loving this camera but I have SO much to learn about it!

Leave a Reply

