Letter To My Secret Love

Dearest Faithful Companion,

I know I haven’t known you all that long.  At least not long enough to feel about you the way I do.  I mean it’s been less than a year since I made your acquaintance but I can’t seem to give you up. I heart you. In fact, as days go by, I seem to want you more and more.  The pleasure you give me and the feelings you elicit from me seem almost illicit.  Our relationship can seem so coy and innocent one moment and so tawdry the next.

I long to see your countenance brighten and I savor the times we can spend alone. Any time I get to spend with you brings me great joy.  I hate that lately we seem to have to sneak around and find a few minutes alone time at the doctor’s office or in my car or even the few stolen moments when whoever I am with has to make a call or use the bathroom.  I always try to take advantage of those precious stolen moments.  In fact, I’m surprised we haven’t gotten caught yet.  Surely someday soon someone is going to walk in at an inopportune time and catch us together.

But I promise you this, even if we do get caught, I won’t give you up.  I will try to be discreet and not wear out your welcome.  I will try to make it so others aren’t jealous of our special relationship.  But I can’t help it. No one can make me use my imagination like you can in so many ways. No one keeps me more on edge or feeling so vital as you.  You have the ability to make me laugh like a fool or cry like a baby and send shivers down my spine with a few short words.

Sure  your predecessor had his points and he made me happy and still makes me happy at times, but, you have so many advantages over him.  Your size astounds me.  You may be compact but you pack a whallop.  Your strength and capacity make me wonder how you do it. Your spark ignites me.  You light
up my world even on the darkest nights.  It makes me wonder how I got along without you.  I don’t think I ever can again.

How did I settle for your predecessor for so long?  I guess I didn’t know what I missing.  Now that I do, I will continue to feed you as  you feed the depths of my soul with your comforting words.

I  love you.  Please never leave me.

Sincerely,

Me

This post was brought to you by Mama Kat’s Writer’s Workshop and prompt #5.) Write a love letter to an inanimate object.

So, did you guess who my secret  companion is?  Here’s a recent picture:

About pegbur7

South of the Mason/Dixon Line
This entry was posted in Mama Kat's Writer's Workshop, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Letter To My Secret Love

  1. suzicate says:

    Ha, I knew what it was…I have that secret relationship, too; actually mine is quite open!

  2. I love this. Tawdry, indeed!

  3. Ron says:

    Peg, this post was BRILLIANT!

    The whole time I was reading it I kept thinking, “OMG…she’s having an AFFAIR!!!!”

    HA!

    No, actually, I thought you were going to say that you got a new computer!

    Which, btw, I have to get a new one VERY soon because my desktop is getting ready to crash (I can feel it). – UGH!

    GREAT post! Wishing you a loving and longlasting relationship with your faithful companion!

    Have a faaaaaabulous day, dear friend!

    X

  4. Angelia Sims says:

    LOL! Too funny…. All my blessings to you and your “love”. 🙂

  5. I have similar feelings towards my wireless router, which went missing in storage for three months after I moved a while back.

  6. Jerri says:

    I was thinking maybe an I-pad. Modern technology is so cool! We can take it everywhere.

    • pegbur7 says:

      It makes me wonder what we did before we had it! I’m afraid to leave the house without my cell phone and we used to drive all over creation without on and by myself!

    • pegbur7 says:

      It makes me wonder what we did before we had it! I’m afraid to leave the house without my cell phone and we used to drive all over creation without on and by myself!

  7. terrepruitt says:

    Yes, I knew right away because you loved it the second you got it.

    I had forgotten how cool the reader on the iPad is until I was using it on the plane recently. The electronic readers are pretty interesting. I love that I can hightlight and make notes whereas I don’t tend to do that in an actual book.

    Here’s to your not-so-secret love affair.

Leave a Reply

