Whitner’s

One of the shows we love on television is Diners, Drive-ins and Dives.  We have been watching it for a few years and whenever we can we LOVE going to the restaurants that they feature.  I’ve written about going to Arnold’s in Nashville and Good Dog, Geno’s and Pat’s in Philly.  We did enjoy them.

A few weeks ago we were watching DDD and they had a segment on a barbeque place in Virginia Beach called Whitner’s.  I looked at hubby and said “Hey, since we’re going there we should go eat at Whitner’s.”  He got all kinds of excited.

We only had a couple of days in Virginia Beach and hubby wanted to cook one day and he and Dirtman were supposed to go to a ball game on Saturday so it didn’t look like we were going to get to go.  Unfortunately Dirtman hurt his back and they weren’t going to get to go to the game but that cleared up a meal so we decided to go eat at Whitner’s.

We (SuziCate, Dirtman, hubby and I) all piled in “the smokey oyster” and headed out.  It was pretty much right where Dirtman thought it was.  When we got here the line was out the door.  It’s one of those places where you place your order at the counter and then wait in line for your food and it only seats probably 30 or 40 people and all the tables were full.  We decided to go ahead nd get our food “to go” since there weren’t any seats but while we were waiting for our food a table opened up so Suzi and I went and commandeered the able while Dirtman and hubby waited in line for the food.   Actually I waited at the table while Suzi went and got back in line to get our drinks.

Do you think hubby was excited to eat here?

I think Suzi and Dirtman and I all ordered the same thing.  A Kansas City Burnt End sandwich.  I cut mine in half so hubby could have half too.  It was delicious. Hubby got what they called “thanksgiving on a sandwich”.  It was carved turkey with cranberry chutney, lettuce, tomato, spicy mayo and cornbread crumbs.  It was like Thanksgiving in a sandwich. It was delicious. You get two sides with your sandwich and I got green beans which looked like they were straight out of the can but sure didn’t taste like it. They were good.   I also had the potato salad.  It was pretty good but not as good as the green beans.

menu board

Hubby got collard greens of course.  I didn’t taste them but I’m sure they couldn’t have been as good as hubby’s although I’m sure they were good. Hubby ate them!  He nd Suzi both also got something called Black eye corn.  She had asked me in line if I knew what it was and since it was at the bottom of the chalkboard I seriously thought they had run out of room and it meant black eyed peas and then another selection, corn.  Nope… it was black eyed peas and  corn together!  I have never had that combination together as  one dish before.  It was actually much better  than I thought it would be.

Black eyed Corn

We  talked to several other patrons in line and at other tables and it turned out  they all had seen the same episode BUT apparently it had run again the night  before!  I guess Whitner’s knew the first time it aired and they were prepared for the onslaught of business but they hadn’t realized it was going to rerun the night before and they were running out of everything and it wasn’t even 1:30!  The guy behind the counter had told hubby their business had doubled  since the original airing of the episode.  From the looks of last Saturday I think it will double AGAIN!

My "plate"

Funny thing was later that afternoon hubby and Dirtman were channel surfing and found out it was airing AGAIN…. I can only imagine how busy they got Saturday evening!  So. I think all in all our take on Whitner’s would be 8 thumbs up!

Hubby's Thanksgiving on a bun....

If you live in the Virginia Beach area or are traveling there the info on Whitner’s is:

Whitner’s  Real Pit Barbeque

869  Lynnhaven Parkway, Suite 106

Virginia Beach, VA  23452

Phone (757) 689-8215‎

Their hours are: Sun -Wed 11:00 – 8:00

Thur – Sat 11.00 – 9:00

I really don’t think you will be disappointed.

About pegbur7

South of the Mason/Dixon Line
This entry was posted in Restaurants & Reviews, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Whitner’s

  1. suzicate says:

    That was fun and really tasty; glad you guys had seen the show and wanted to go there!

  2. Katie says:

    Sounds Yummy, Not knowing my BBQ, I had to look up a Kansas City Burnt End. I’m dying…so good!

  3. Ron says:

    Yummy! Yummy! Yummy!

    Peg, this food looks sooooooooooooo good!

    I bet that potato salad was beyond delish. I adore good potato salad!

    So glad you were able to eat at this restaurant AND meet up with Suzi and Dirt Man. I bet you guys had fun!

    Have a terrific Tuesday, dear friend!

    X

  4. NikNik says:

    And don’t forget Savorino’s Cucina! Yall have been there too!

Leave a Reply

