Sleeping Inn

We had decided after our QuikTrip encounter that we could try to make it at least to Charlotte (or the other side of Charlotte) to stop since Charlotte is a little over half way and we didn’t want to deal with the morning Charlotte traffic. We figured that staying on the north side would mean that we were on the other side of the traffic.

When we got to Charlotte we started looking for somewhere to stop.  There’s a fairly new kind of “metro” area a little north of Charlotte called Concord Mills and I saw there were several hotels so we decided to stop there.  We still had some money left on our Marriott card so we were looking for one of the Marriott hotels.  There wasn’t a Marriott but there was a Springhill Suites so we stopped there.

The manager was outside walking toward the front door when we pulled up. I don’t know if he was taking a smoke break or what. I followed him in and asked what their pet policy was and he said “none”.  I asked if that meant they didn’t have a policy and he replied “No…we have a policy. The policy is we don’t allow pets.”  At all? Not even a goldfish.

Then he told me that they had a “sister” hotel, the Residence Inn, right down the road and he thought they allowed pets.  I asked if he knew what their fee was and he said he didn’t know. I asked if he would mind calling to find out for me and he was like “It’s just right down the road about a half mile.”  Since it was after 1 in the morning and there were like 3 hotels within walking distance of where I stood I really didn’t feel like traipsing around Charlotte checking all the stats so I asked him again if he would call for me.  Geez, man, it’s 1 in the morning and it’s not like you have a line out the door waiting to get checked in!  He was what you’d call customer NO service. I guess since he figured we would not be staying with him he wasn’t interested in helping.

After sighing his displeasure he sullenly trudged over to the phone (and he dialed it off the top of his head so it wasn’t like he had to go look up a number or something) and called them.  He told me they had a room available for about $85 and they did allow pets.  I asked him what the pet fee was and he said “$75 per night.”  WTH?? You think I’m gonna pay $85 for a room and then an additional $75 a NIGHT for Chorizo?  For that price he best be getting his own room!

He then said “I know the Sleep Inn next door isn’t part of the Marriott group and I hate to send you off chain but I don’t think they charge for pets AT ALL”.  So, I got my happy little sleepy butt back in the car and drove next door.  Turns out they did charge $25 for pets but that was a lot better than $75 and the other hotel in that little cluster charged $100. I had no idea it cost so much to have your pets stay with you in your hotel! If I’d thought more in advance I should have mapped out every hotel off of I85 throughout South Carolina to find out what they all charged.  Next time I know better.

I also didn’t think about how he’d act in the hotel room.  Every little sound he heard he was making his little fake “ruff” barking noise at.  He was sniffing under the door and whining whenever anyone would walk by the next morning.  And we definitely didn’t think about how you’d have to practically get dressed to take him out the next morning!  He was the star of the hotel though. Everyone he met was oohing and aahing over him.

Hubby went down the next morning and got me coffee and himself juice (which Chorizo ended up sampling so hubby only got a sip beforehand) and then went back down to get us breakfast while I took my shower and got on my makeup.  It was funny because hubby brought back a couple of yogurts for himself and then said “I’m gonna drive Chorizo crazy with this.  Watch! I bet he’s gonna get it stuck on his nose and run around like that.”

Getting ready to attack

He put the container on the floor and Chorizo fairly pounced on it and when he realized his nose wouldn’t stick down in there the smart little booger stepped on both sides of the container and smushed it down so he could get to the yogurt at the bottom.  Smart!  Then when he couldn’t get it all out he flipped the container over and chewed the bottom off and licked it clean.  Sometimes I think pets are smarter than their owners!

Flipping it over for the kill

He was so good as far as the travelling went.  He didn’t have any accidents in the car.  He rode for a while on hubby’s lap and then he would crawl onto the top of the travel carrier and lay back there.

Sitting like a good boy on hubby's lap

He wiggled his way under the furry blanket we had back there and went to sleep.

Yep that's his nose poking out while he was hiding under the blanket

For a while all you could see was the tip of his little nose and then you could see his whole snout.

Slowly coming out of hibernation

Then I guess he got hot and pushed his whole head out.

About an hour later he's all out.

On the way home from Virginia Beach he climbed up in the back window and slept there most of the trip.

Chillin' like a villian in the back window

And back down again

Maybe I should start a travelling with pets site?  He could tell them about his Happy  Meals (that his mommy yelled at me for getting him) and how to bite holes in your travel water bowl so they don’t hold water?  He could be a weekly contributor and I could be his “ghost blogger”. Travelling with Chorizo!   I think I’m seeing a new venture here!

About pegbur7

South of the Mason/Dixon Line
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Sleeping Inn

  1. Ron says:

    “I asked him what the pet fee was and he said “$75 per night.” WTH?? You think I’m gonna pay $85 for a room and then an additional $75 a NIGHT for Chorizo? For that price he best be getting his own room!”

    OMG…how funny! And you’re right!

    This story reminded me of when I was a kid and my mother would SNEAK our HUGE German Shephard into a hotel room whenever we went on a trip. Luckily, the dog was very quiet, so she never barked or made a peep. It’s like she KNEW to be quiet.

    ADORABLE photos of Chorizo. He’s soooooooo cute!

    Have a great Monday, dear friend…..X

  2. NikNik says:

    Just for future reference most La Quinta hotels allow pets at little to no extra charge! Plus, you can always just sneak him in the side door 😉

    • pegbur7 says:

      He’s found his voice so I don’t know if there is any more sneaking him anywhere! Plus the manager was walking in the door and saw him in the car! But in future… it’s an idea!

  3. Genie says:

    That may be the cutest dog I’ve ever seen. Great name too!

  4. I think it would be great idea to help others traveling find hotels that are pet friendly an wallet friendly.

Leave a Reply

