Pepperoni Pizza Rolls

We have a restaurant here in town called Fabiano’s.  Love it but we don’t go there a whole lot.  It’s right downtown but parking is not plentiful unless you want to park in the small public parking lot a couple
of blocks away but even those fill up kind of fast.

On Wednesday’s they have a “family special” where you get a large 2 topping pizza, either an appetizer or large family salad and 4 drinks for $20.  Yeah you can’t hardly cook for that.  And since we can’t usually eat the whole pizza plus the appetizer or salad we have left overs for lunch the next day or a snack later.  If you have more than 4 people they let you get two specials which we did once so we got an appetizer with one pizza and salad with the other ended up with almost a whole pizza left!

They also have inexpensive lunch specials.  You can’t really beat it for the price and what you get.

My favorite appetizer that they have is called “pepperoni rolls”.  I think that’s what they call them.  Whatever they are called, they are my favorite appetizer that they have.  It’s sort of like a cinnamon rolls (for the way it’s rolled) married a pepperoni pizza and got married.  That would be their baby.

I haven’t been there in a while and I got a hankering for them the other day so I decided to try to make them myself.  I think it will probably take a couple more times to perfect it but for the first time I think I did okay.  At least they were edible if not great.  Maybe next time they will be great.

Here’s what I did.  I took one of those pre-made thin crust pizza doughs that you can buy in the dairy aisle of the grocery store (next time I will probably try with a regular crust one).  I spread it out on a cutting board.  You might want to try lightly flouring it which I didn’t because the dough is kind of sticky.  Take a marinara or pizza sauce and spread VERY THINLY across the dough covering it. Cover the whole dough with a layer of pepperoni slices (I suppose you could use whatever meat and maybe even mushrooms if you like. I plan to experiment some.), then cover with a layer of pizza cheese or mozzarella.  I sprinkled on a little garlic and onion powder and some parsley and oregano.  Then the tricky part is to roll the entire thing up until you have a big log.  This is where I think I should have
used regular crust because the sauce was trying to seep through the thin crust.

Then I used kitchen shears to snip the roll into rounds.  You could probably use a sharp knife but I was afraid it would squish it too much and all the insides would slide out.  Here’s where I made my next
mistake.  I put them in an oven proof casserole dish with sides almost touching.  I should have laid them out on a cookie sheet with room to expand and not touch.  The fact that they didn’t have room to really expand made them a little doughy.  I cooked them according to the pizza dough package directions but it ended up still doughy so I just kept adding 2 or 3 minutes at a time until they were brown.
I also added a little more mozzarella on top when they were almost done and put them back in to melt.

My finished product.

Like I said, trial and error.  They were kind or more doughy than I would have liked so next time I
know dipping.  Makes a great appetizer or  snack.  We kind of had them for  lunch!  I did take some pictures and I  think they look pretty good but you can’t tell by pictures consistency!  I’ll give you an update when I try them again!

About pegbur7

South of the Mason/Dixon Line
This entry was posted in Restaurants & Reviews, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Pepperoni Pizza Rolls

  1. terrepruitt says:

    Sometimes things might not look like you would like but they are still yummy. And this looks yummy to me.

  2. Ron says:

    OMG…this looks FAAAAAAAAAAAABULOUS, Peg!

    I adore both pizza and pepperoni, so this is something I would gobble up in two seconds.

    With a nice glass of red wine!

    Have a maaaavalous Monday, dear friend!

    X

  3. Angelia Sims says:

    Looks good to me! A cinnamon pizza roll? Yes! I tried to make Olive Garden spaghetti last night. It was a bit too sweet, but close. I’ll get it perfect next time and I’m sure you will too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

