Chicken Broccoli Alfredo

Once again I didn’t go exactly by the recipe. You know I have to put my own “twist” to it.  Surprisingly it still turned out  (I thought) pretty good.  I’ll give you the recipe (as called for in the magazine) and then I’ll tell you what I did differently (cause you know I did it different).  It’s for Chicken and Broccoli Alfredo.  It says it serves 4 but with what I added it would probably feed 6 and it took about  20 minutes to prep and start cooking but then I stuck it in the crock pot to finish off so it would stay warm until hubby got home because I wasn’t sure what time he was getting off.  Besides, I have to make good use of that crock pot I just bought, right?

Chicken Broccoli Alfredo

Picture on recipe. This is what it's supposed to look like.

½ of a 1 lb package of linguine

1 cup fresh or frozen broccoli florets

2 Tbsp of buter

1 ¼ lb of skinless boneless chicken breast halves cut into 1 ½ inch pieces

1 can of Cream of Mushroom Soup

½ cup of milk

½ cup of grated Parmesan Cheese

¼ tsp of black pepper

Prepare linguine according to package directions in 3 qt saucepan.  Add broccoli during last 4 minutes of cooking time. Drain linguine mixture.

My drained broccoli and linguine

Heat butter in skillet over medium high heat. Add chicken and cook until brown and cooked through, stirring often.

Cooking my chicken

Stir soup, milk, cheese, and black pepper together and add it with the linguine mixture to the skillet and cook until mixture is hot, stirring occasionally.  Serve with additional parmesan cheese.

My finished product

Of course I changed it up a bit.  I had almost two pound of chicken so I cooked it all and I had frozen broccoli and it was a 12 oz package so I threw the whole thing in.  Since I had more chicken and broccoli I added some angel hair pasta too since linguine is a little thick for me to digest sometimes.  And since I had all those extra “solids” I also added some more milk (didn’t measure, just poured until it looked right).  I also, as usual, thought it sounded too bland so I added some garlic and onion powder, basil and parseley.  I also had some roasted garlic and red pepper “grill” spices that I sprinkled on the chicken when I cooked it.  And then for good measure I threw in a little white wine.  I guess I could have just added it to me but I didn’t want to have all the fun!  Oh, and I used shredded parmesan cheese instead of grated and I also had some romano cheese so I added some of that too.

Add a little garlic toast on the side...

I threw the whole mess in the crock pot and turned it on low.  If it looked too dry I’d add some more milk or fat free half and half or wine.  Whatever I felt like adding at the time.  I let it warm until hubby came home.  I made some garlic toast and it was delicious.  Another quick and super easy recipe that turned out edible and for me, that’s an accomplishment!

Ta-dah!

About pegbur7

South of the Mason/Dixon Line
This entry was posted in Restaurants & Reviews and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Chicken Broccoli Alfredo

  1. Ron says:

    OMG, Peg…this sounds and looks DELICIOUS!!!!

    That photo of the chicken cooking in the skillet made my mouth water!

    I love the combination of chicken, broccoli, with an alfredo sauce. BEYOND heaven.

    And garlic bread? To DIE for!

    Thanks for sharing, dear friend. Hope you have a super weekend!

    X

  2. You can come and make me dinner anytime…;)

  3. Angelia Sims says:

    I love lots of garlic in my food too. Looks delicious!!!

  4. Lisa says:

    Oh my! All of a sudden I need to go home and make pasta for dinner!

Leave a Reply

