Big Hubby is Watching

I had written this about a week ago and didn’t post it so even though it says “yesterday” it was really over a week ago.  I will be out of town in Virginia for the next week with very spotty internet service so if I don’t respond to your comments right away it’s because I am technologically in the dark!  I will be cak to my regular checking next week.

I’ve always heard the expression that “big brother is watching”, but, how about “big hubby is watching you too?”  Before anyone gets the wrong idea, let me ‘splain.  I’m not talking about MY hubby.  Yesterday morning I was not really watching TV but it was on and every once in a while I caught a glimpse or sound bite that captured my attention.  One such glimpse was I think on The View.  They were talking about how this man caught his wife cheating on him through a GPS tracking device on her phone called a “Find Your Friends” APP.

Now immediately my first thought is “That was pretty stupid of her! Why in the heck would she enable that device on her phone if she was planning on going somewhere that she didn’t want anyone to know where she was?  Dumb B**ch… serves her right!”

Well, as usual, I didn’t have the whole story and they didn’t go into a whole lot of detail on The View other than, as usual, Barbara and Sherry and stupid blond girl whose name I can never remember and who thinks her opinions are more important than everyone else’s, started arguing over some other inconsequential detail and got sidetracked and completely off the topic and then it went to commercial and I lost interest.

Thankfully, this morning when I was checking my emails I saw a little article on Yahoo which kind of explained and went more into detail on the whole situation.  You can read the article here: http://gma.yahoo.com/cheating-heart-iphone-app-finds-wife-another-man-140300843.html

So, anyway, apparently this man (according to a chat forum called MacRumors.com) bought his wife a new phone operating system called iOS5 and had this “Find Your Friends” APP installed on the phone without her knowledge because he suspected her of cheating already.  Sure enough, he apparently gave her just enough rope to hang herself.

I don’t claim to have any idea how this works but I assume that there is something that shows up on your own phone screen telling you where your friends are and apparently according to stats this GPS system is accurate within a few feet.  Of course it wasn’t meant to catch cheating spouses (although who knows what was in the back of the mind of the inventor at the time) but was supposed to be a fun and useful APP to use say if you’re at a concert or nightclub or some other really crowded place and are trying to meet up with friends, then you can track each other that way.  OR… say you want to make sure your kids are safe and where they are supposed to be (where was thing when my girls were teenagers and out and about?) by tracking where they are vs. where they SAY they are.

Of course teenagers would probably know how to disable that APP in about 2 seconds flat.  I guess it’s a little harder to disable an APP that you don’t even know is installed to begin with!  I would think it would give you some kind of indication its working but I guess not.  It’s all a little too “big brotherish” to me.

Of course, like The View, I have gotten completely off the point of the topic.  So, this woman, tells her husband she is going to meet some friends on one side of the city (New York) say around 12th street (she mentioned not being able to catch a cab in the meat packing district via text to her hubby) and the GPS showed she was actually on 65th Street.  Apparently throughout the evening she kept texting him that she was in different places than what her phone said she was.

Apparently no one has been able to actually find this man to verify the information is legit.   I just thought it was both cool and creepy that something like this could happen.  What’s you guy’s take on this?  Do you think society has gone too far with stuff like this?  Do you think it’s a necessary device?

About pegbur7

South of the Mason/Dixon Line
This entry was posted in Just Life, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Big Hubby is Watching

  1. Angelia Sims says:

    We have this app. Me, Jason, Sydney and her boyfriend. It’s actually pretty fun. Sydney was watching me drive home last night. She text me, you are six miles from home!! All excited. Jason was at Walgreens. I guess it all depends on how you use it. We use it for fun, but I can see where people could take advantage of “spying”. It is cool and kinda creepy. Lol.

  2. Ron says:

    Ironic you mentioned this story because I just read another story about a woman who was mugged on the street and her cell phone was stolen.

    Come to find out, she had that app. on her phone, so she when she reported her stolen phone to the police, they were able to track the mugger down (using the GPS) DIRECTLY to his home, and he arrested!!!!

    Hope you’re having a great time on your trip, dear friend!

    X

  3. NikNik says:

    I have heard stories of people catching cheating spouses by the GPS in the car but never by phone. I guess some people have to resort to that kinda thing- creepy!

Leave a Reply

