Taco Ring

I have to share another recipe with you guys I tried today.  Super simple and pretty tasty to boot.  And #3 gave me one of the best compliments she’s ever given me.  She said “You have just been getting so crafty lately!”  I take that as a great compliment.

So, the other day I was on FaceBook and I saw that someone had posted something about the dinner she had fixed the night before.  She called it a “taco ring”.  Thankfully someone else asked her what it was and she was like “You’ve never had that before?  My mom used to make it all the time when I was a kid!”  So, being the “crafty” person that I’ve obviously become I just sat back and watched the conversation unfold until she explained how she did it.  She didn’t give a whole lot of explanation so I kind of filled in the blanks with my own version.

Here’s what I did.  You take a pound of ground beef and prepare it just like you would for tacos.  Of course I always add more spices. At the end I put some grated cheese in it to make it a little thicker.  Then you take a package of the refrigerated crescent rolls (Pillsbury or store brand, I used the generic store brand).  I made a double batch using two pounds of ground beef and 2 packages of 8 crescent rolls each and still had some meat mixture left over).  Separate the raw crescent rolls.  Take a spoon (regular teaspoon) of meat mixture and place on the wide end of the crescent roll and fold the edges over to cover the meat.  Repeat until you have used all the meat mixture or run out of crescent rolls.  Place in oven safe dish and bake according to crescent roll package directions.  I baked them about 15 minutes at 375.

Ready to go in the oven.

After they are golden brown remove them from baking dish and place on round or oval serving dish leaving center bare.  Fill the center with shredded lettuce and top with diced fresh tomatoes and shredded cheese.  I used Mexican style shredded cheese but you can use whatever kind you prefer.  Serve with additional garnishments such as salsa, sour cream and additional cheese as to your liking.  Enjoy!

Fresh out of the oven

All dished up and ready to eat!

Add a little salsa and sour cream and it's ready for my belly!

My family and I agreed that we all love crescent rolls and we love tacos so how can you go wrong by combining the two?  Hubby must have loved them because I think he ate about half a dozen of them! I have to admit these were yummy and it took less than an hour to prepare it from start to finish.  Now that’s my kind of dinner and I’m sure I’ll be making that again.

About pegbur7

South of the Mason/Dixon Line
This entry was posted in Just Life, Restaurants & Reviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Taco Ring

  1. terrepruitt says:

    Yeah, crescent rolls make things extra tasty. I hadn’t heard of this either. Pretty cool.

  2. suzicate says:

    Thanks for sharing. I can’t wait to try it.

  3. Ron says:

    HOLY COW….my mouth is watering just from seeing these delicious-looking photos!

    YUM-MY!

    And I like this recipe because it sounds easy. And for me (a non-cooker) EASY is good!

    Thanks for sharing, dear friend! Have a MARVI Monday!

    X

Leave a Reply

