Pumpkin Turkey Chili

Ok, so, show of hands please… How many of you guys “go Krogering”?  Ok, I see a few hands.  I guess some of you don’t have Krogers out where you live?  We used to have a plethora of grocery stores in our town and slowly but surely, I guess due to our ever downwardly spiraling economy they have all closed except for Kroger, Publix and the Walmart SuperCenter (and we all know how I feel about Wally World!).  Oh, we have a Food Depot too but most of the people I’ve seen roaming their parking lot look like meth heads or worse so I don’t go there. We also had an Aldi’s open in the last year or so but I wasn’t particularly enamored of it since I’m particular in what brands of foods I buy so that left us with the three aforementioned stores.  Well, really two since I really, really, really avoid Walmart like they were dispensing the plague for free.

Years ago we shopped at Winn Dixie and they all closed around here and for a while we did Cub Foods and then that one closed and then we shopped at Kroger for a while and then they built a Publix closer to where we used to live so we pretty much shopped at Publix all the time.  The Kroger that we went to where we used to live didn’t have a gas station with it and it wasn’t really as convenient so I let convenience overrule price and just went the easy route and shopped at Publix.

After we moved where we live now the closest grocery store was Kroger again (a different one) and this one has a gas station so I was really happy especially when gas shot out of sight since you get a discount and we usually buy enough groceries to keep our vehicles in the 10 cents off range or better.  Today I actually saved 70 cents a gallon!  That’s right… be jealous.  This is what I paid TODAY to fill up my car:

This is what I paid per gallon at Kroger today!

A couple years ago they built a Publix closer to us than the Kroger (in fact we have to drive right by the Publix to get to the Kroger) and we tried shopping there a few times but it just wasn’t the same.  Hubby knows the butcher’s at Kroger and spends an inordinate amount of time talking to them about whatever cuts and stuff they have (I just buy what we need and skip the small chit chat) and we’ve been shopping there for so long now that we almost feel like they are family! 

Plus I LOVE the fact that with your Kroger Plus card you save an additional amount of money and they send you coupons in the mail for stuff you buy frequently.  I know it’s kind of “big brother’s watchingish” but I appreciate that they personalize the coupons they send you in the mail.  I periodically get coupons for free bacon and 50 cents to a dollar off the cat foods I buy and with all our cats I buy a LOT of cat food!  I hate to admit that I haven’t even taken advantage of them all but as of today I have still saved an additional $558.71 this year so far with my Kroger Plus card! 

Not too shabby!

That $6.71 I saved today was with me only paying $37.86 and that included a crock pot!  In addition to sending you coupons in the mail, occasionally they will send recipes to try with the coupons.  Last week we got recipes for “gourmet mac and cheese” but hubby already makes the best so I admit I didn’t even look at it.  They also sent a recipe for pumpkin turkey chili.  #1 LOVES pumpkin (as does #3) so I emailed #1 the recipe and I have to admit I thought have about it every day.  It just sounded so intriguing. It’s been calling my name since I got the recipe!  I decided the other day that I couldn’t stand it anymore so I was going to attempt to make it today. 

According to the recipe card this is what the finished product should look like.

Yesterday I went to the store and got the ingredients.  I knew I pretty much had everything I needed except the pumpkin and the ground turkey so I picked those up.  This morning I had to take Poe and LaLa for their shots and remembered on the way that I had forgotten to get bell pepper for the chili so I stopped on the way back and picked it up.  I knew it called for green pepper but couldn’t remember if it also called for red or yellow so I grabbed a red pepper.  It also called for it to be cooked in a crock pot and ours disappeared years ago at one of the kids Fall Festivals so while I was at Kroger I went ahead and checked to see if they had one.  Lo and behold they had two different sizes!  The smaller of the two was priced at $30.99 and the larger was normally priced at $35.99 but they had it on sale for $29.88 so it cost less for the larger than it would have for the smaller plus it had a smaller little melting pot/dipper type fondue thingee FREE!  Woo Hoo!  PLUS… at check out I got an additional rebate coupon to send in to get an additional $5 off.  SCORE!

Before we go any further I’ll give you the recipe:

1 TBSP Veg oil

1 cup chopped onion

1/2 cup green bell pepper, chopped

1/2 cup yellow bell pepper, chopped

1 clove garlic minced

1 lb ground turkey

1 can (14.5 oz) diced tomatoes

2 cups pumpkin puree

1 1/2 TBSP chili powder

1/2 tsp ground black pepper

1 dash salt

1/2 cup shredded cheddar cheese

1/2 cup sour cream

Heat the oil in a large skillet over med heat and saute the onion, green and yellow bell pepper and minced garlic until tender. Stir in turkey and cook until evenly browned. Pour meat mixture into slow cooker. Mix in tomatoes and pumpkin. Season with chili powder, pepper and salt. Cover and set on low, and cook for 4 to 5 hours. Serve topped with cheese and sour cream. Refrigerate any leftovers (DUH!)

Serves 4 to 6.

So I start pulling out the ingredients to chop my onions and pepper and realize I had bought red instead of yellow.  I thought “Screw it! It can’t make THAT big a difference!” So I used the red pepper instead of the yellow.  I chopped and diced and minced and sautéed and went out to the other fridge in our garage to get the ground turkey and got all the way back inside and as I was cutting open the package I saw it said “ground CHICKEN”.  CRAP! Oh well, too bad… I was already on a roll so I used the ground chicken anyway.  Since I personally think it has less flavor than the ground turkey I happened to have some ground beef on hand for another recipe I plan to try Sunday so I threw in about half a pound for good measure!  (See … this is why I don’t cook a lot because I always screw stuff up! Did I ever tell you I have a problem following directions?)

Then when I started mixing in the tomatoes and pumpkin I realized that since I had added the ground beef that my veggie vs. meat ratio was off so I added a second can of tomatoes (this time I used “Mexican style” with herbs and spicy peppers in it) and then I realized the recipe didn’t call for beans but we like beans in our chili so I also added a can of light red kidney beans.  See?  This is what happens.  I can’t follow directions for crap!  I just get too distracted and start thinking “Ohhhh this sounds like it would taste yummy in there” so I add it.  So, I’ve already screwed up the basic printed recipe by using chicken instead of turkey AND adding ground beef and now I’ve added extra tomatoes (spicy at that) and kidney beans.   So, now I’m thinking “Hell, I’ve already screwed this up so I may as well experiment some more”!  It tasted a little bland so I added some more chili powder and some cumin, garlic and onion powder.  Oh, and then it seemed a little too thick so I added a can of tomato sauce.  Yeah, I don’t know when to quit!

My finished product still in the crock.

All in all, after stewing in the crock pot for about 4 or 5 hours it turned out pretty good!  Hubby loved it or at least he said he did anyway. He ate two bowls so he either did really like it, or he was REALLY hungry or he was just being really nice cause he loves me!  Whatever!  He ate it and that’s all that matters.  I thought it was pretty tasty too.  We added some raw onions, cheese and sour cream and ate it with some Charlie bread and had a pretty awesome dinner if I do say so myself!

In the bowl with extra onion, cheese and sour cream

 

Add some Charlie Bread

 

Crumble it on top and VOILA!

About pegbur7

South of the Mason/Dixon Line
This entry was posted in Just Life, Restaurants & Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Pumpkin Turkey Chili

  1. Ron says:

    “Today I actually saved 70 cents a gallon! That’s right… be jealous. This is what I paid TODAY to fill up my car:”

    OMG….that’s AMAZING!!!! Kroger’s sounds like such a great store!

    When I lived in Florida, Winn Dixie and Publix were the main grocery stores. Also, Albertsons (which I never liked). Here in Philly, I shop at Super Fresh and Trader Joe’s.

    Holy cow….that Pumpkin Turkey Chili looks beyond delicious! Yummy! Yummy!

    Hey, can you email me some? HA!

    Have a super Saturday, dear friend!

    X

  2. suzicate says:

    That following (or failure to follow) direction thing must run in the family! I do the same thing, but you know what sometimes it turns out BETTER than the recipe…I call it creativity…so we should just say creativity runs in the family!

  3. terrepruitt says:

    Pumpkin chili must be the in thing because I keep hearing about it. The recipes I have heard have no beans. And the people that I have heard actually make it, add the beans.

    I think that taking a recipe and making it your own is AWESOME. Some people are too afraid to create. It sounds like when you “screw stuff up” (your words) you do it right and make it good, so you succeed. I like to try the recipe as written (usually omitting anything that makes it hot), then after that I adjust from there. You are much more bold than I am!

    • pegbur7 says:

      I do usually tone down hot stuff too because it kills my stomach although I do tend to add a little more spice to things that sound bland. I figure even if I screw it up someone will eat it! If not, there’s always the dog or the garbage disposal!

  4. Cheryl says:

    You are so funny! I used ground chicken by accident, too, but otherwise kept the recipe as-is. served it with some crusty bread. I doubled the recipe, though, thinking we’d have leftovers, but the men polished most of it off. There was about 1 serving left — that I refrigerated (duh). I was worried I wouldn’t like it because I had just recently made pasta with World Market’s pumpkin sauce and it was horrible. But I liked this so much — I’d be afraid to try it with turkey next time! I hate spicy-hot stuff, so I think I used a little less of the chili powder, but I think I could have used all of it and it would have been fine.

    • pegbur7 says:

      Thanks so much for stopping by. I don’t like spicy stuff either (ulcers and stuff) but my family LOVES spicy so I have to walk that fine line between pleasing them and being able to eat it myself. We don’t have any World Markets near us so I just shop mainly at Kroger (plus I get discounts on my gas there!).

  5. Jeanne says:

    Have to say that we have Ralph’s Grocery in California & I also received the recipe in the mail for the Pumpkin Turkey Chili WOWSA!!! Absolutely delightful so yummy followed recipe exactly. Kept it mild for because of children. Next time I made it adding: beans, cumin, 1 fresh serrano chili pepper, Ralph’s canned green chili peppers. Heavenly. However, the recipe is good as is, but, being of Mexican American heritage I just had to kick it up a notch. The pumpkin gives the chili thickness and isn’t detectible.This is a healthy yummy recipe. Served it with cornbread and a green salad. I did double the recipe since it didn’t appear to be enough for my guests. Good job Ralph’s/Krogers

Leave a Reply

