Electric Avenue

With the passing of Steve Jobs yesterday, the web is filled with remembrances of a pioneer and industry legend. It’s a sad day indeed. But it’s also a good day to look back and consider the history of innovation. And how all the inventions and creations of the last 100 years have impacted us.

As a specific topic to write about: How would you compare the importance of electricity with the invention of the internet? or the cell phone? Can this kind of comparison be made? If you had to lose one of these inventions, which would you keep? And why?

First I’d like to say I pass my sincere condolences to the friends and family of Steve Jobs.  He was indeed a pioneer and an innovator.  And cancer is a horrible disease and a horrible way to die.  I wish someone would “invent” or at least discover a cure for cancer of all kinds.

True, 30 short years ago who would have thought we’d have computers small enough to lift by one person, much less laptops that you could literally hold in your hand.  And wireless printers and WIFI and phones that would be cordless much less fit in your shirt or pants pocket?  Or that you could watch television IN COLOR from a telephone that you held in your hand with no wires or cords?  I don’t think any of us could have envisioned that….but Steve Jobs did….

That being said, my answer to the above question in no way belittles or minimizes the importance of the technological advances made by Steve Jobs or Apple.  There is no doubt that without their vision and foresight we would not have near the gadgets that we do at our disposal. BUT… let’s face it…without the invention of electricity we wouldn’t have any of it.

Without electricity we’d have no internet nor any cell phones.  Without the invention of the telephone by Alexander Graham Bell we would have no cell phones.  And without electricity we’d have no way of charging those pesky little creatures and they would still be of no use to us.  We may be armed with lap tops and cell phones that run on battery power but those batteries eventually have to be charged and what does that entail?  Hmmmnnnn, let’s see….that would be electricity

So I guess my answer to that last one would be that I know the one I could NOT do without would be electricity because it powers all those other things and without electricity they would all be rendered useless.

What’s your opinion on the matter?

About pegbur7

South of the Mason/Dixon Line
This entry was posted in Just Life, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Electric Avenue

  1. terrepruitt says:

    I would say electricity because I could live without a cell phone much easier than I could live without lights, stoves, refrigerators, fans, ya know basically everything that is powered.

    I was shocked Steve Jobs died. I knew he was sick, I just thought he would make it a little longer. So young. Such an important reminder that HEALTH really is everything.

    • pegbur7 says:

      It’s funny you say that about Steve Jobs. A little while back when he stepped down from Apple I told hubby “He’s really sick. It won’t be long.” He just had “that look” to me. Poor thing. He did survive longer than a lot that have pancreatic cancer.

      • terrepruitt says:

        I kept forgetting it was pancreatic cancer because I was concentrating on the liver transplant (or rumored transplant, I don’t know if it was real or not I just HEARD about one).

        Yeah, I was just holding onto hope.

      • pegbur7 says:

        Yeah, same as Randy Pausch. And Patrick Swayze. But Steve Jobs seemed to hold on for a while after his diagnosis.

  2. Ron says:

    “Without electricity we’d have no internet nor any cell phones.”

    Yes, I totally agree, Peg!

    And I know this because when I lived in Florida (with all the eletrical storms), I lost power A LOT and it’s no fun!!

    Isn’t it sad about Steve Jobs? I walked by the Apple store yesterday and felt so heavy. He was an AMAZING man!

    Have a great weekend, dear friend!

    X

    • pegbur7 says:

      I thought about that myself when I heard he had passed. How all the Apple employees would feel? Would it affect them personally or would they kind of be on a disconnect?

  3. I don’t think anyone can understand just how essential electricity has become to our lives until they’ve gone through a prolonged blackout. Makes me admire the Amish.

    • pegbur7 says:

      I know… right? I remember back in 1969 when Hurrican Camille blew through our county and we didn’t have running water or electricity for several weeks. I was young but didn’t think we’d survive it!

  4. Mama Kat says:

    I bet if we didn’t have electricity, Steven Jobs would have invented it and THEN given us the iphones. He was that brilliant!! (not that I would know)

Leave a Reply

