Dream Date

Dream Date

This week’s Spin Cycle topic is Dream Date.  I honestly was kind of stumped.  I have no clue what to write about.   I was thinking about what my “dream date” would be but since hubby and I have been married forever and I haven’t been out in the dating world since the stone ages I wouldn’t have a clue what a good dream date would be!

When the girls were still at home we would try to have a “date night” once a week or so and pretty much as dreamy as those got was if we went to a movie and were so tired we fell asleep during the movie!  Nowadays out romantic date nights still usually consist of dinner and a movie and that’s fine for us.  We’re pretty simple people and we don’t ask a lot out of life.  In fact, when hubby was talking to his financial advisor through work last year he accused us of being a very boring couple.  But, that’s okay, boring isn’t all that bad! 

I prefer to think of it as being easily amused or just plain happy.  We’re simple (not simple as in stupid) people and it doesn’t take a lot to make us happy.  A good meal and a good movie do make us happy.  I know we’ve been together forever but just being in each other’s company makes us happy.  I can say US because he always tells me I make him happy and I know he makes me happy so there you go.  We don’t need big fancy 5 star restaurants or movie premieres or glitzy parties or yachts or island vacations.  Heck, most times we are happy just sitting home in the evenings in front of the TV watching our favorite shows.

I did ask hubby what his dream date would be and I guess he thought of it in a totally different sense than I did.  His answer was “Paul”.  Ummmmnnnn, pardon me?  WTH??  Who the heck is PAUL?  And more importantly your dream date would be with a DUDE??? Am I missing something here?  Is there something you’d like to tell me?  I was getting a little worried there when he explained (thank goodness!).  He said he’d love to sit down and have meal with the Apostle Paul.  When I asked why he said he thought it would be neat to pick the mind of the man who wrote the most books of the bible.  Fair enough.  I can respect that.

I guess I was going a little more modern.  If we were going that way, non romatically so to speak, then I guess I’d have to go for someone like Jack Nicholson, Meryl Streep, Johnny Depp or Robert Downey, Jr.  Although Johnny and Robert wouldn’t be too hard on the eyes either, the reason for picking any of them would be that I think all 4 of them are fantastic actors and I guess I’d like to see how they can so totally embody a character that is not them and make it believable.  I mean, Meryl Streep can do all those frigging accents and make them believable!  I’ve seen them all do dramatic roles and comedy roles and romantic roles and they all make each performance phenomenal.  So I guess I’d like to talk to them and find out how they do it.

Granny Annie

One other person that I would love to sit down and share a meal with and talk to would be my great grandmother Annie.  Back in a time when women were supposed to mind the home and raise their children she was out roaming the country side helping other women bring their own babies into the world and helping heal the sick and setting broken bones and the like with no formal medical school training.  According to stories I have read and heard about her the local doctor used her to treat patients he couldn’t get to.  Pretty much he’d divvy up his patients with her but since she was not a doctor, she didn’t get “paid”.  People would give her food or chickens or whatever “for her trouble” but that was about it and the fact that she did all that fascinates me.  I would have loved to have the opportunity to meet her and talk to her and see if she really knew just how special she was, especially in her day and age.

About pegbur7

South of the Mason/Dixon Line
This entry was posted in Spin Cycle, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Dream Date

  1. terrepruitt says:

    Well, it is called the Spin Cycle, right? Your hubby had a different spin on it.
    🙂

  2. I enjoyed this. It’s so good to hear of a couple who are truly content with each other. Granny Annie sounds like she was a remarkable and competent person and a comfort to have around.

  3. Terre had it right and so did Hubby! I would LOVE to have dinner with Meryl Streep. Although it would probably turn into an ABBA singalong since my favorite Meryl Streep movie is Mamma Mia. (I just love how she gets into the role.)
    Awesome Spin, so much fun!
    You’re linked!

  4. suzicate says:

    Annie certainly left an interesting legacy…and she actually did get her medical license though it was many years after she had been practicing without one. Big Mama had some interesting opinions about her in laws.

  5. Katie says:

    That was a good spin on a dream date. I would like to have dinner with your great Annie too.

  6. Ron says:

    “One other person that I would love to sit down and share a meal with and talk to would be my great grandmother Annie.”

    I’m with you, Peg. There is something so wonderful about being able to sit down with someone who has lived through a different time; asking questions and listening to their stories. That’s why I love hanging out with the elderly.

    However, you’re other choices aren’t bad either….”Jack Nicholson, Meryl Streep, Johnny Depp or Robert Downey, Jr.”

    I totally agree!

    Have a great day, dear friend…..X

    • pegbur7 says:

      Actors in general fascinate me but those really do maek me curious.

      BTW… I have left you comments on your last three posts and I think they all got eaten by your site! 😦

  7. vandylj says:

    A dream date is a dream date. No mater what the dream is. Your great grandmother sounds like a fascinating woman.

  8. gretchen says:

    I think I’d like to sit down to a meal with Granny Annie too! The apostle Paul? Wow. Clearly, the man had been thinking about this. Which is really interesting in itself.

  9. CaJoh says:

    I sometimes think my wife and I are simple as well. But whenever we tell people what we did over the weekend, we typically get the “You’re both so interesting”.

Leave a Reply

