Strawberries and Cream

Today hubby and I were doing dishes together.  I know… how sweet.  Or lame… depending on how you look at it.  But I was cooking lunch and he offered to wash the dishes since I cooked but I had dirtied them up and he was feeling bad so I felt bad making him do the dishes so I washed and he dried and put away.

Anyway, as he was putting the dishes away he commented on our “everyday” dishes.  I told him it was funny that he would mention them because I had just taken a picture of one of the plates the other day because I was intending on writing about it so I guess I will now.

Strawberries and Cream Stoneware Collection

When we first got married we lived in New Orleans.  We were poor newlyweds with no extra money to spare and an expanding family so we but corners in any way that we could.  The grocery store that we always shopped at was called Canal Villere.  I’m not sure if that is spelled correctly or if it even exists anymore.  There was one right down the street from our apartment and there was also one in the shopping center of the restaurant that hubby worked for.  Whenever they needed something on the spur of the moment they would run down to Canal Villere and pick up whatever it was between trucks. Hubby always brought his receipts home to me because they had those little contests where you could “earn” place settings for dishes for every so many dollars you’d spend. 

I’m not sure how much it was, maybe for every $100 you spent you’d get a free plate or get it for 99 cents. I’m not sure.  It’s been so long.  Seriously, it’s been almost thirty years!  But, the point was, that we collected enough “points” during the promotion for those dishes that we ended up getting place setting for 20!  Not twenty pieces total but we had 20 of everything and we ended up giving away enough points to people for them to get an 8 setting haul for themselves!  We had 20 plates, bowls, saucers and cups and I think we had bread plates too. 

Through the years I think we gave away 8 place settings when people moved or lost stuff and needed something to start out.  Slowly but surely it has whittled itself down to where we now only have 7 plates left!  Not a single cup or bowl or saucer but 7 plates and one of those is cracked and has a chip in it but I can’t bear to throw it away!  It’s like part of our past.  We’ve had those since we first got married!  Up until last year we had one bowl left and it eventually broke but those 7 plates are hanging in there.  The cups were so cute with the little strawberry design on one side and the little golden yellow rim around the top.  The saucers and bowls and bread plates were all plain with jus the little golden yellow rim around the outside edge.

The outer ede used to be golden yellow. Looks more like wheat now. See the chip. 😦

It’s like the end of an era.  I don’t know what I’ll do when we finally lose or break them all.  These have been our stand by every day plates for our whole marriage other than our fine china we use a lot (paper plates).  I know it’s silly but it makes me a little sad.  I guess I’ll have to see if the company even still exists.  It was made by a company called Sheffield and it was their “Stoneware Collection, Strawberries and Cream edition” and it said on the bottom “Oven to Table, Microwave safe” which I guess oven to table was pretty cutting edge for way back when!  I guess great minds think alike that we were both thinking about those dishes and the story behind them at the same time. 

Can't really read it for the top corner of the strawberry says Sheffield so I suppose that's the maker.

By the way, I made Shepard’s Pie for the first time and I must say it was pretty tasty even if I did make it myself!  I meant to get a picture of it before we dug into it but we were so hungry that I forgot.  At least I got a picture before it was all gone!  Aren’t yall proud of me?  I’m branching out!

About half of the Shepherd's pie after we tore into it!

About pegbur7

South of the Mason/Dixon Line
This entry was posted in Just Life, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Strawberries and Cream

  1. terrepruitt says:

    I remember things like that when you bought so many dollars worth of stuff you could get dishes for a great price. Do store still do that?

    I am glad to see this. Thank you. I have a set of dishes where one plate has a chip out of it and so does one bowl, but it was my first set of dishes. They have heart on them and blue . . . I always feel silly for keeping chipped dishes and for being “attached” to dishes. So thanks for letting me know I am not the only one.

    • pegbur7 says:

      After I posted this I went and googled Sheffield Strawberries and Cream and found where I can actually order replacements if I want to but that would take away from the specialness of them I think…. They are special because we had them when we first started out together and now they are old and decrepit and falling apart… just like us! LOL

  2. I had a ‘free’ set from Safeways when it was in my area of the UK. I’m not sure if they are still around. I believe I still have a few plates. I know what you mean about memories… mine were collected in the early days of marriage.

    • pegbur7 says:

      They used to have SafeWay stores in VA. Last one I saw recently got torn down. 😦 Our Kroger actually had one not too long ago but I wasn’t in the market for buying new dishes plus I use my point there for discounts on gas!

  3. NikNik says:

    You should look into Corelle for your next set of dishes. That’s what we have and they are break and chip resistant and they have lots of cute designs! Check ’em out here http://www.corelle.com/ How did the shepherd’s pie turn out? I was gonna make one last night too but ended just grilling chicken and corn.

    • pegbur7 says:

      The Shepherd’s Pie actually turned out really good. Eri and Dad both had seconds! I found the recipe in the Kroger coupon flyer that they mail out to preferred customers. I really liked making it too!

  4. I think my parents had that exact pattern plate!

  5. Ron says:

    What a wonderful story, Peg!

    Reminded me of when my mother would collect ‘green stamps’ from the grocery store, and when she had accumulated a certain amount she would get things on the list of gifts. And I think dishes were on the list too!

    Btw, that Shepherd’s pie looks sooooooo YUMMY! That’s one of my favorite things to eat!

    Have a great Monday, dear friend….X

  6. Modcake says:

    Hi! I found this blog after googling “strawberries n cream sheffield” trying to date a ramekin I bought at a thrift store a couple weeks ago. I enjoyed your story and agree buying replacements would take away from what makes these particular ones special. I would put one or two away as a keepsake or for a special occasion between you & your hubs. 🙂 about what year did u get these? I’m curious about my ramekin, I wonder if it’s a newer replacement thing or older one. I just got it cuz I thought it was cute & like things with strawberries on them. But after spending the past few days wandering though vintage & antique shops I thought I’d look up some of the little findings I already have here at home.

    • pegbur7 says:

      We probably started buying them (or rather redeeming them) in 1982. We lived in New Orleans from 1981 through 1985 and it was after we got married which was December 1981 so I’d say 1982 or 1983.

      Thanks for stopping by and leaving some bloggy love!

  7. Krystal says:

    When I was five or six, I saw a set of these at a flea market and fell in love with the pattern. My grandfather bought them and quietly put them away for the day I would marry- to start my hope chest with. He died in 1999- and as time went by, I forgot about the plates. When I married in 2009, my mom brought a box to my wedding- just an old cardboard box, carefully packed with newspaper. In it were the plates, and a set of cast iron cornbread pans that had belonged to my great-grandmother, which had been handed down to her oldest daughter (my mammaw) thence to my mother, and now to me.

  8. Hello. I love your story. I just happened upon this blog while trying to sell my set. I have a set of 4 plates and mugs, 2 ramekins, an augratin dish and even 3 big covered pots and 2 sauce pans. I know this is a stretch because you posted this a year ago, but I am selling these if you are interested. All pieces are in excellent shape!! If you’d like to see pictures, I have them listed on Craigslist at http://indianapolis.craigslist.org/hsh/3300756271.html
    I could work something out with you as far as shipping if you are interested in purchasing the items.
    Have a blessed day!!

    Lecia

  9. V says:

    I have serveral pieces that I a trying to sell was looking up what year they were produced. I am thinking late 70 early 80. Anyone know for sure

  10. WENDY JO says:

    THIS IS SO COOL! WHEN MY HUSBAND & I GOT TOGETHER HE HAD 1 PLATE. I IMMEDIATELY FELL IN LOVE W/ THE STRAWBERRIES & CREAM PATTERN. AFTER AWHILE WE WENT TO A CHRISTMAS GATHERING @ HIS GRANDMAS. COME TO FIND OUT SHE HAD COLLECTED THE SAME SET. THE 1 & ONLY PLATE ACTUALLY CAME FROM HERS. SHE DIDN’T HAVE MANY PIECES LEFT BUT DID HAVE THE ROASTING PAN (& A COUPLE OTHER PIECES) IN WHICH SHE MADE THE CHRISTMAS HAM IN! IT WAS A RUNNING JOKE THAT I WAS GONNA WALK OUT W/ HER PAN. LIKE I COULD TUCK THE HUGE PAN UNDER MY COAT! FUNNY! SHE KEPT ME WONDERING IF I WOULD EVER GET THE ROASTER YEARS LATER SHE HANDED IT DOWN TO MY MOM IN LAW. OK SO I STILL HAD A CHANCE. ONE CHRISTMAS WE WERE @ MOMS FOR ANOTHER CHRISTMAS…GUESS WHAT SHE HAD WRAPPED UP FOR ME THAT DARN ROASTER. SHE WAS WORRIED BECAUSE IT WAS A HAND ME DOWN. I TOLD HER “CRYING” THAT IT WAS THE BEST PRESENT EVER! SO EVER SINCE THAT 1ST PLATE I HAVE AN ENORMOUS COLLECTION OF STRAWBERRIES & CREAM DINNER & BAKE WARE. I HAVE THE PLATES(SM MED & LG) CUPS/MUGS SAUCEPANS(MANY SIZES) FRY PAN DIVIDED DISH SUGAR BOWL SOUFFLE DISHES TEAPOT & THE VERY HUGE ROASTING PAN! I HAVE FOUND THEM @ GOODWILLS/ THRIFT SHOPS/ RUMMAGE SALES. I ALSO COLLECT STRAWBERRY SHORTCAKE ITEMS. RED IS MY FAVORITE COLOR SO IM SURROUNDED BY IT! THANKS FOR SHARING YOUR STORY. & LETTING ME TELL MINE! WENDY JO FROM WISCONSIN!

  11. Brandy says:

    canal villerie or National Food stores no longer exist. I do have quite a bit of this set including tea pot, gravy bowl, sugar dish, salt/pepper shakers, plates, coffee mugs & tea cups. My dad worked for National tea company for many years until they closed and he collected these dishes & gave them to me. The bowls were the best. I guess they broke due to over usage! But these are great for thanksgiving & christmas dinners!

    I did find online if you look up sheffield strawberrie & cream that there I a place that sells replacements.

Leave a Reply

