Ode to Ragweed

‘Twas a crisp fall eve way deep in the south

When my love and I opted for a walk

When what do my tired eyes espy?

Fields of yellow that made me balk.

At first glance I thought how pretty

These dainty yellow flowers ablooming

Then from the recesses of my mind

I remembered bronchitis looming

IT reels you in with its cute little blooms

The beauty makes you oooh and sigh

But next morning when you awaken

All your eyes do is cry and cry

They disguise your voice

Make you sound like a man

Who has been smoking 5o years

Or dipping snuff from a can

They make your lungs fill

They make your nose clog

They make you toss and turn

No longer sleeping like a log

They make Nyquil and Mucinex makers

Fill up their coffers

But for the rest of us

Well, they have other offers

Offers that we can’t seem to refuse

Restless, sleepless, sneezy nights

Sleep walking days, filled with haze

Others pitying our plight

Our throats are scratchy

Our eyes are itchy

Our noses are sniffly

Therefore I’m just bitchy!

About pegbur7

South of the Mason/Dixon Line
This entry was posted in Just Life, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Ode to Ragweed

  1. terrepruitt says:

    Allergies are so exhausting!

    Cute poem!

  2. planaquarium says:

    very funny!

  3. suzicate says:

    Dang, you look like somebody poked you in the eye!

    • pegbur7 says:

      I know! I woke up like that yesterday morning! Don’t know if it’s from rubbing my eyes because they itch or what. Doesn’t hurt like I hit it but it does make it hard to look at myself in the mirror!

  4. Katie says:

    Oh that is terrible, I suffer slightly from allergies since I started taking a daily Claritin during allergy season, during the fall and spring.

  5. Ron says:

    *thunderous applause*

    AWESOME poem, Peg! VERY clever!

    “Our eyes are itchy

    Our noses are sniffly

    Therefore I’m just bitchy!”

    HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA! LOVE it!

    That’s how I get when Spring arrives with my allergies. OMG…it’s horrible!

    Have a great weekend, dear friend!

    X

Leave a Reply

