Garibaldi

While we were in Orlando we decided to  go to our favorite Mexican restaurant down there, Garibaldi Mexican  Restaurant.  We usually go to the one  closest to the hotel we usually stay at but since we stayed at a different  hotel we decided to go the closer location.  It was near the Florida Mall and it only took about 10 minutes to get  there.

We were pleasantly surprised when we  pulled up that it seemed to be much bigger than the one we have gone to  previously.  It also seemed like a newer  location although our server told us later that it was actually there before the other one. I guess the building was just newer so it seemed more modern and
up to date.

Such a cheery lively looking place!

View from our table right before they sat that large party.

It was quite busy inside.  Our server told us they had 3 or 4 different  large gatherings going on all at the same time.  In fact one large party of about 15 or 16 were right beside us  celebrating someone’s birthday.  It was  kind of cute.  They brought a huge  sombrero to the table of the birthday person and had their mariachi band come  sing them Cumpleanos Feliz while they served them warm and yummy smelling
sopapillas. And surprisingly they were very quick to get the food out even to the large parties.

The guy behind us wearing the sombrero while they sang him Happy Birthday (in Spanish)

The view from my seat right after they sat my jumbo sangria margarita down! yum yum

I got to get my long awaited Sangria Margarita.  After a long day at Sea World I was ready!  It was just as delicious as I remember although I didn’t finish it.

I loved all the little "bells and whistles" (not sure what they are called) on the mariachi bands outfits.

The mariachi band came over after we had finished eating and after checking for the name of the song with my sister in law I requested that if they knew the song could they please play Amor Eterno.  It’s the Spanish song they played at my  brother Monte’s service.  It is such a beautiful song (even if I don’t understand all the words at the time since it’s sung in Spanish) and it made me cry at my brother’s service and it made me cry again then.  The singer sang it with such  emotion that I just broke down.  I really didn’t feel much like finishing my drink after that.

Here is a video of Rocio Durcal singing  Amor Eterno.  It’s the same version (or at least same singer) as the one played at my brother’s service.  You can cut and past the URL in your browser.  Her voice is so emotional that to me it’s just breathtaking.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7QuXKirNX3I&feature=player_embedded#

If for some reason that one doesn’t play, here is another video of the same singer singing the same song:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=glvChxd24ZU

For your convenience I found an English translation of the lyrics although I’m sure it wouldn’t sound as beautiful sung in English.  Here they are:

Love Eternal

You are the sadness in my eyes

That weep in silence for you love

I look at myself in the mirror and see my face

The time I’ve suffered because of your goodbye

I force my thought to forget you

Because I’m always thinking of yesterday

I’d rather be sleeping than awake

Because of how much it hurts that you are not here

How I wish, ay*, that you lived

That your little eyes never had closed

And to be looking at them

Love eternal and unforgettable

Sooner or later I will be with you

To continue loving each other

I have suffered so much due to your absence

Since that day up to today, I’m not happy

And even though tranquil is my conscience

I know that I could have done more for you

Dark solitude I am living,

The same solitude of your grave

You are the love of which I have

The saddest memory in Acapulco

How I wish, ay*, that you lived

That your little eyes never had closed

And to be looking at them

Love eternal and unforgettable

Sooner or later I will be with you

To continue loving each other

And now that I have completely bummed you out, dry your eyes and go tell your significant other and your kids and your parents and your friends and everybody else how much you love them!

About pegbur7

South of the Mason/Dixon Line
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Garibaldi

  1. Enjoyed the video. She puts a lot of emotion into her singing. Hmmm I feel sad now.

    • pegbur7 says:

      She does and so did the guy from the mariachi band. I’m sorry I made you feel sad. I’ve been feeling that way for a few days now. Really been missing my brother a LOT the last week or so.

  2. Ron says:

    Peg, can you believe in all the time I lived in Orlando, I’ve never been to a Garibaldi? Shame on me!

    Great atmosphere. And that margarita looks BEYOND yummy! 🙂

    I watched the video first in Spanish and then came back to read the English translation. Beautiful song! Thanks for sharing.

    Have a terrific Tuesday, dear friend!

    X

  3. Cam says:

    wow… what a song. beautiful. thanks for sharing. 🙂

  4. Going out for Mexican for my birthday next month. Reading this is making me look forward to it. Yum!

Leave a Reply

