Checking My List

Another one bites the dust.  Another item on my bucket list, that is.  I had written the other day about how hubby and I went to Gwinnett and how freaking hot it was but what I didn’t tell you is WHY we went there in the first place.

Ever heard of Dralion?  Okay, I hadn’t either until the other day.  How about Cirque du Soleil?  Now you’re talking!  I have wanted to go to a Cirque du Soleil performance for as long as I’ve known Cirque du Soleil existed. I’m not sure how long that’s been but it seems like it’s been eons.

If you have never heard of them or been to one of their performances, at least go to their website and check out the videos.  The website is:  http://www.cirquedusoleil.com.   Go ahead…. I’ll wait.  Now, was that not amazing?  They are like a circus, the ballet, the opera and acrobatics all rolled into one!

They usually come to Atlanta at least once a year.  Most of the time they set up at Atlantic Station in big tents for a couple of weeks at a time.  This time they were at the Gwinnett Arena.  It usually ends up that either we are out of town, or at the time they are here I don’t have the extra money or something.  A couple of years ago hubby even went so far as to give the cash to someone else to put the tickets on their credit card to buy for me as a surprise and then that person’s card got declined…. A long story… but it was supposed to be a surprise for me.  I guess it turned out to be a surprise for HIM!  Long story a little shorter…I didn’t get the tickets. It was supposed to be my anniversary gift that year.

Anyway, year after year they come and they go and I never get to go.  I’ve alternately had I think each of the kids offer to go at one time or another but never hubby.  I take that back. Last year while we were in Florida we went to Downtown Disney and they have a permanent showing of one of their shows, La Nouba, there.  I can’t remember exactly why we didn’t go… I think it’s because I’m too cheap and I didn’t think we had that much extra money on us to go at that time.  Trust me, they are NOT cheap tickets!  At least not by my standards of cheap, BUT, they are worth EVERY single penny we paid for them.

It was actually almost by accident that we even got to go this time.  I guess the timing was right and everything in the universe lined up perfectly
for me to be able to go.  See, it turns out that we are getting to go to Orlando next week.  They rescheduled hubby’s conference for this coming week so I am flying down on Friday.  Due to other time constraints we are not going to be able to spend out customary 4 or 5 days extra there.  We have to come home on Sunday so I’ll only be there for 2 days.

Hubby was asking me what I wanted to do while we are there this time.  I’ve also never been to Seaworld so I was looking up ticket prices and comparing how much of a discount we can get from hubby’s company vs. AAA vs. AARP.  Turns out we weren’t having much luck looking
for discount tickets so hubby said “Hey!  You want to go to Circus Sole’? (He purposely calls it that to aggravate me) See what kind of discounts you can get on that.”  So I started researching the same discounts for La Nouba.  For some reason it kept taking me back to the Cirque du Soleil website and while I was navigating through that I saw that they just happened to have Dralion touring and they just happened to be in Atlanta this week and hubby just happened to be off Thursday and Friday!  Like I said… the universe lined up perfectly.

When I went to check on the ticket prices I almost had heart failure.  They were over $100 each and being the cheap person that I am I was balking at spending that kind of money.  Hubby just looked at me and said “Honey, it’s something you’ve been wanting to do for a LONG time.  Just DO it!  Get the best seats they have and enjoy!”  So, I did.  We ended up with floor seats, 3 rows back right on the corner of the stage.  It was fabulous!  I wish I had some pictures to include but you can’t take pictures inside and there is no flash whatsoever allowed inside.  Can’t have
someone distracting those performers when they are performing all those amazing feats!

Their website calls Dralion “A harmonious blend of Eastern and Western acrobatic prowess.”  Boy… was it!  Here is the URL to the video clip of Dralion:  http://www.cirquedusoleil.com/en/shows/dralion/media/official-video.aspx

What I really enjoyed the most was how much hubby enjoyed it!  I think he was all set to be bored and hate it.  He sat there with his mouth as open as wide as mine and acted as much like a little kid as I did.  We had an absolute BLAST.  He even had one of the clowns come out to the audience and interact with him. Funny thing is hubby was totally unaware at first.  He came by us and walked behind us. He had a bowling ball “stuck” on his hand.  I watched him the entire time as he walked up behind hubby and was just standing there with the ball dangling over hubby’s head. I think hubby was wondering at first why the spotlight was shining on him!  It was funny.

I loved it because it was so many things at one time. It was hard to keep up because there is so much going on.  You can be watching one thing while there are other performers doing things in the background or overhead.  It is funny, exciting, sensual, breathtaking, and dramatic all at the same time.  I had a friend tell me that once you’ve seen one you’ve seen them all but I think I’d still like to make a go of seeing a few more at least.

I heard Cavalia is much different because it involves horses and I think maybe it be the only one with live animals.  I would also like to see Alegria since that was one of the first times I ‘saw’ them when they were doing a special on tv.  Since they have 22 shows going on around the world at any given time I think it’s safe to say that I might be able to find one or two that I’d like to go see.  I know hubby would love to go see O that is
the resident show at the Bellagio in Las Vegas and I’d like to go see the ones they have for Michael Jackson (The Immortal) which will be here in Atlanta next summer and the Beatles (Love) which is the resident show at the Mirage in Las Vegas.  Now I just need to start saving my money so we can go again!

About pegbur7

South of the Mason/Dixon Line
This entry was posted in Just Life, Restaurants & Reviews, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Checking My List

  1. SuziCate says:

    I’m jealous, yay you! We saw a (knock off version) in Vegas that performed at the convention…I was in total awe and they were not even the real thing!

  2. Ron says:

    ” “Honey, it’s something you’ve been wanting to do for a LONG time. Just DO it! Get the best seats they have and enjoy!” So, I did.”

    Yaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay! OMG, I’m so glad you’re going to go because in all the years I lived in Orlando I have NEVER seen Cirque du Soleil – can you believe that?

    I’ve seen photos and videos of some the acts and it looks AMAZING! The one in Las Vegas is performed underwater. I think it’s called “O.”

    Can’t wait to see you photos and hear all about your experience, Peg!

    Have a Monday and a Happy Labor Day, dear friend!

    X

  3. terrepruitt says:

    Love them. I do not believe that if you have seen one you have seen them all. But some of them are similar. But as you said, there is soooooo much going on that while you are looking at one thing in one direction you are missing another thing in another direction, so . . . if you are seeing the same thing again look the other way :-), right?

    They are very amazing. Once we sat close enough to see their sweat, hear the grunting and their little noises of communication. I hadn’t realized all that went on because usually we are so far away so I was fascinated when we sat close to see it all.

    O in Las Vegas is amazing. To me all of their shows I have seen are amazing.

    For some reason Cavalia, makes me very emotional. Seeing the horses and the way those HUGE animals and the people work together is really amazing. I think that Cirque De Soleil and the way the performers move is amazing, but for some reason the relationship between the horses and the performers choke me up. The last time they were in our area I wanted to go, but my husband’s schedule was difficult and he doesn’t enjoy it like I do so I didn’t “make” him take me and I wish I would have. I really, really, really love it.

    I am sooooooooooooooooooo happy for you! I know how it was when I wanted to see Cirque De Soleil and I finally got to. YAY you! Kiss that man of yours for me because he is smart for taking you!

Leave a Reply

