Thanks For Flying With Us!

Airplane Etiquette

It’s Thursday and once more time for Mama Kat’s Pretty Much World Famous Writer’s Workshop. Since I will be flying to Orlando next week I decided to choose prompt #5.) The 10 Dos and Don’ts of Airplane Etiquette.

  1. Please keep your hands and feet inside the moving vehicle at all times. We don’t want anyone dragging body parts outside the plane as it could result in worse mileage if they have to drag you along.  Plus the noise would make for an unpleasant ride for everyone else.
  2. Please don’t take up the whole overhead bin by yourself.  Two personal carry-on items does not include full size luggage or purses the size of a suit bag.
  3. Please occupy only YOUR seat. No leaning over in your neighbor’s seat or into the aisle.  If you lean on me then it’s only fair that I get to prop my feet in your lap.
  4. If you have a window seat, please use the bathroom BEFORE you take your seat so that you don’t have to climb over your neighbors during the flight.  If you have to climb over me don’t complain if you get goosed.
  5. If you are traveling with a small child please do your best to keep the noise level to a minimum and bring something to occupy them. If you have a “lap companion” please make sure they stay in YOUR lap, not everyone else’s.  If a small child crawls in my lap during a flight then I get to choose whether or not to keep them.
  6. The flight attendant is not your maid or slave.  Please treat them with respect.  They are just doing their job. Unless they are just bitchy then it would be okay to open a can of Whoop Ass on them.
  7. Please do not position your fan to high and then aim it at someone other than yourself.  Each passenger has their own.  Don’t steal their peanuts or pretzels either unless they are your travelling companion and then you can act accordingly. You take-a my pretzels and I break-a your face.
  8. When the attendant asks you to turn off your electronic devices please finish your phone conversation ASAP and turn your phone off or to airplane mode.  Don’t pretend not to be talking when the attendant walks by and then continue your conversation.  You are NOT any more important than the other 100 or 200 passengers on the plane. Get over yourself. If you MUST continue to talk on the phone please go out on the wing so the rest of us can’t hear you.
  9. When the attendant asks you to turn off your electronic devices it does not mean that since you aren’t TALKING on your cell phone that you can continue to text.  Off means OFF.  If I’m sitting next to you don’t be surprised if I turn it off FOR you…or set it on the wing for you to retrieve.
  10. If your seat mate acts like they are asleep it probably means they do NOT want to talk.  Take the hint and silence yourself as well as your phone.  Otherwise you are just annoying.

Hope everyone has a safe and wonderful flight.  Remember to return your seats to their upright position and securely lock your tray table in place.

About pegbur7

South of the Mason/Dixon Line
This entry was posted in Mama Kat's Writer's Workshop and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Thanks For Flying With Us!

  1. SuziCate says:

    I so dislike flying and those aren’t even the reason why!

  2. #10 is my biggest pet peeve! Just leave me alone! It’s a lot of work to ignore you, so just do me the favor and shut it!

  3. Ron says:

    Faaaaaaaaaaaaabulous post, Peg!

    LOVED your list!

    Especially….”3.Please occupy only YOUR seat. No leaning over in your neighbor’s seat or into the aisle. If you lean on me then it’s only fair that I get to prop my feet in your lap.”

    THANK YOU!

    Do you remember when flying was a wonderful experience?

    Now, I’d rather take a BUS! HA!

    Have a great day, dear friend!

    X

  4. Jessica says:

    The last time we flew, I was in a window seat AND knocked up.

    And I’d like a gold star for staying in my seat the WHOLE flight.

  5. terrepruitt says:

    Ha. #4, I always request and try to get an aisle seat but sometimes they are not available and even if I use the bathroom 10 times before the flight if it is longer than an hour, I am going to have to use the bathroom. And if you are in the middle seat or the aisle seat then you kind of agree to let people out. Or I could just go in my seat and hope they are very absorbent and it doesn’t leak onto you! 🙂 If I am on the aisle I always let the people know that they are more than welcome to disburb me whenever they have to get up. I would hate for someone to have to use the restroom and suffer for it beause they were afraid to bother me. And I never make people climb over me. I get up for them so they have room. Besides I don’t like butt in my face. Sorry, I would be the one climbing over you if you didn’t get up.

    Don’t a lot of airlines allow you to use your phone now?

    • pegbur7 says:

      I try to get a window and NOT get up. I know you have to turn them off for take off I think and lots of people try not to even do it for that short of a period of time.

      • terrepruitt says:

        I have to get up. Drives me batty sitting that long in pretty much one position.

        I haven’t flown in so long, they didn’t have flights where you could use your cell phones at all when I was flying frequently, so I didn’t know you have to turn them off for take off on the flights when you can leave them on. Doesn’t really matter because I used to see people use them no matter what. Apparently they knew something I didn’t. I always thought it would interfere with the airplanes controlls or communications.

        Wahoo! Vacation for you!

  6. terrepruitt says:

    And for Ron, I do remember when flying was an “experience”. It was fun and it was an adventure. Now . . . not so much. It used to be (or seem like it) that everyone was on vacation and now some people actually use flying as their commute so they are not so happy and in vacation mood. They are just like people driving their cars in traffic to and from work.

Leave a Reply

